This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp

Reviews of Mowani Mountain Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

139 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mowani Mountain Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 22 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mowani Mountain Camp.
Lion

7% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

77% success

Giraffe

57% success

Oryx

38% success

Zebra

13% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 101-110 of 139
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs & Dr S
Essex

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jun 2009
"Three nights at Mowani Mountain Camp was ideal. The silence was palpable, and made us realise how rarely places are truly silent. We were so relaxed by the end we almost didn't want to face the next set of gravel roads to Etosha (although we're delighted we did). The settings of the view-tents are spectacular and we spent a lot of time just watching the panorama change with the light, reading and snoozing. They offer trips to the desert-adapted elephant but having read a lot about them we skipped this in favour of chilling out; we did take their trip to the rock art and despite our guide's slightly careless attitude (the only one we found in Namibia who wasn't 100%) we found it a fascinating place. The tents are fine, not huge and getting wet in the shower takes some determination, but they give one a sense of being part of the awe-inspiring scenery. The general service was friendly and helpful and the small water hole by the lounge a constant source of beautiful birds. The highlight of each day for us was drinks on the viewpoint at sunset - worth the trip to Namibia alone...." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms S & Mr L
UK

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 22 May 2009
"stunning view from our tent - no need to go anywhere with a view like that!

We took the early morning trip to find the desert adapted elephants & were lucky enough to find them. Our guide was excellent & was a good story teller.

The food, as usual in most of the lodges, was very good & the staff very attentive.

well worth a return visit" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
T Wells

"'Out of Africa' views"

2 nights Arrived 22 May 2009
"Set in an area with unusual smooth-edged red rocks camp is in a high point with stunning views across the rocky plains below and into the distance - fully taken advantage of each evening with their sundowner activity with on-the-spot service, bar and small eats . The buildings and high class tented accommodation are brilliant in character.

The abundant hyraxes around the rocky camp pathways were amusing. After a good search we found and spent some time with a troupe of desert-adapted elephants. Despite its attraction two nights is enough as having done the elephant trip and taken in the amazing scenery there's not a great deal else to do. Safari walk from the camp interesting but not as dramatic as one imagined these things to be.

Morning drive - With the drive needing to be stretched out to fill its allotted time I had the slight suspicion that we could have found the elephants rather more quickly than we did. With plenty of trees around the area was not particularly desert-like but the elephant herd, about a dozen, was worth tracking down and included Oscar, a young male which has given trouble in the past though we were not told what actually happened. We spent a pleasant half hour with them whilst they browsed on a few clumps of the trees. Our guide was very knowledgeable and entertaining." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr A & Ms G
Ireland

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 13 May 2009
"We returned from Desert Rhino to 2 nights in Mowani. We had one night in the luxury room and then one night in the suite. the Luxury room was beautiful with your own private deck. we had dinner on the deck which was lovely. We asked that Eugene be our waiter again.

Food was excellent.

The next day we were moving to the Suite so we went out on an activity to see the desert Elephants. our guide was Frederik and we had 9 people in the jeep. of all the places that we had been so far we had a max of 4 in a jeep. We felt that this was ridiculous and felt that it was more like a disney park rather than a Namibian activity to search for the Desert Elephants. Frederik's driving was not great and was far too quick in the conditions, causing many of us to be swinging out of the side of the jeep.

We saw plenty of elephants but the first lot that we saw the guide didn't just sit still to see them and for us to enjoy them, he would move the jeep every few minutes. We felt that this was more disruptive to them and we were not able to just sit and admire them. We then went off and his off road driving was not the best and as a result of this we got stuck in the sand. this was a combination of having too many in the jeep and his driving.

We had to radio for help from the lodge. we were lucky that another camp came and helped us out. It involved us all getting out of the jeep and getting into the other jeep as the elephants were walking straight down the river bed where we were stuck. This was in actual fact the highlight of the trip. It was a little touchy for a while as there were lots of baby elephants and matriarchs, but the experience and the heart beating fast was an amazing experience. If we had not gotten stuck in the sand it would have been a very disappointing acitvity,

We then returned to the lodge and went to the suite. It was such a stunning room, outdoor shower and bath and 2 outdoor decks. lounge, bedroom, and bathroom. we again had dinner in the room on the deck. THis was a real luxury and was a real treat." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Honeymooners
Surrey

"What a location!!"

2 nights Arrived 12 May 2009
"Watching the sunset with a gin and tonic at the view point was a real highlight.

The staff made a real effort to make our honeymoon special with a surprise private dinner under the stars and a private breakfast at the viewpoint - lovely.

The excursion to see the desert elephants was fabulous, we didn't expect to get so close to them.

It's a really little thing but it felt like the staff have been told to say "I hope you enjoy it" after everything - it got a bit repeatative." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr A & Ms G
Ireland

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

1 night Arrived 10 May 2009
"for our first night's stay in Mowani we had a tented room, which was wonderful. Sun downer spot at Mowani is very special and a great place to see some amazing sunsets with a G&T or two.

Staff were very friendly and professional. we had a great waiter called Eugene who looked after us very well.

As we were on honeymoon we had our dinner by the fire pit which was really romantic. the food was excellent with a very good selection of South African wine! Rooms were very comfortable and we had champagne and a fruit basket in our room!" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs O
Jersey

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Apr 2009
"Stunningly beautiful accommodation with views to die for.

Sun downer drinks from their viewpoint were unbelievable." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr H & Ms W
London

"Relaxing mountain camp with great views"

2 nights Arrived 11 Apr 2009
"We stayed at Mowani for 2 nights as the second stop of our holiday and had booked tent 9, the honeymoon tent. Although not strictly a view tent, I think most of the tents have great vistas over the boulder landscape that surrounds Mowani and #9 definitely did. We had an outside bathroom which was great and definitely different, but this also means you have to be comfortable with the insect life that comes with an outdoor space.

The tents themselves were perhaps the most basic accommodation of our trip, but the bed was very comfortable and not too hot either when the side "windows" were left open. The tents could perhaps do with a little fridge to keep water/drinks cold and also insects would tent to make their way into the tent as they can never be 100% sealed off, so it is good to be aware of this.

We had a great waiter, Eugene, who would serve us breakfast, lunch and dinner and he was a very affable character and we enjoyed the banter we would have with him at meal times. He was both efficient and friendly, and we received great service from him. The food at Mowani was good and portions large, but somethings such as pastries, break etc. were not as good as in some of the other lodges. The sundowners on a big rock provided great views, but when there are a lot of people at the camp it can become quite busy and private sun-downers may also be an option. We felt that there was at times some underlying tension between the camp management and staff as well, which did not always make the sun-downers the most relaxing experience.

In terms of activities, Mowani focused on the rock painting excurions and desert-elephant tracking. We went on the elephant-tracking excursion one morning, but did not find them despite our guide's best efforts. Interestingly, a couple we met later on our travels had stayed at Damaraland Camp at the same time and had sighted three herds of elephants so maybe that may be a more reliable lodge to go in April as the elephants will often travel around depending on where they think they can find water.

The scenery around Mowani is amazing and the plentiful rains in Namibia in 2009 meant that the ground was covered in knee/waist-high grass which made the surroundings very picturesque and interesting to photograph. Overall, Mowani was an enjoyable place to stay and experience something different, though if visiting Damaraland again, we may be tempted to try another lodge (e.g. Damaraland Camp or Doro Nawas) to experience something different as well." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
D & S on Honeymoon
UK

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Feb 2009
"What a simply stunning place! Our view tent here was our favourite room of our whole trip, the view over the surrounding landscape was incredible.

The food was excellent, and service in general was of a very high standard. Sun-downer drinks from the viewpoint, complete with a bar and nibbles was really special. We were on our honeymoon and they went to amazing extra lengths to make it feel special for us - a table for two by the camp fire under the stars for dinner one night, followed by breakfast for two on top of the viewpoint the next morning.

Vincent the manager even helped us change our flat tyre! Unfortunately due to the rains there was very little wildlife, but it was an amazing place just to sit and enjoy the sun and scenery." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs B & friend
Bodmin

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Nov 2008
"Mowani is yet another five star camp. The staff were wonderfully friendly and their smiles will be with us for months to come.

It is a fun place to stay with every comfort, and finding the desert elephants and spending time with them was very special.

We have lots of photos of the singing, the sunsets, the staff and warm memories of out stay." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 101-110 of 139
94%
139 reviews of Mowani Mountain Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
108
23
3
4
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

Comfortable rooms and a convenient location make the community run Doro Nawas a great base for exploring Damaraland.


93% (448 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (118 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (112 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (112 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With unusual, igloo-like rooms, open-air bathrooms and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe is well placed for nature and cultural excursions.


95% (111 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


91% (94 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


82% (52 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


82% (35 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in an area of scenic grandeur with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


94% (32 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (24 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


86% (21 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


83% (7 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


80% (6 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


93% (3 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


93% (3 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (2 reviews)
Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge is a luxurious, low-impact bush camp offering top-notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (2 reviews)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa