This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp

Reviews of Mowani Mountain Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

138 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mowani Mountain Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 21 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mowani Mountain Camp.
Lion

7% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

76% success

Giraffe

54% success

Oryx

40% success

Zebra

14% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 131-138 of 138
Duration
Arrival date
M & L
Vancouver, BC

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Oct 2007
"Along with Etendeka, this was our favourite lodge. Just a really beautiful setting. We were lucky enough to have been given the honeymoon tent with its lovely outdoor bathroom set amid the rocks!!

There was a problem with our booking as they only had us booked for one night. However the manager (Vincent?) handled it well and was able to tell us later that a cancellation meant that we could stay in the same tent for the second night. Although it didn't end up as a problem for us, Expert Africa might want to look into why the booking was incorrect to avoid future problems.

The serving staff were exceptionally nice people - obviously well trained, but happy to talk about themselves. We enjoyed finding out about their families, their lives and their plans.

The guide (Frederick) for the game drive for very good - friendly and informative." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr P
Penny

"Magical Mowani"

3 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2007
"Not just by contrast with Kulala, Mowani was an experience of considerable style and elegance. Much of the excellence of this visit derived from the careful and courteous leadership of Vincent, general manager. Accommodation, cuisine, service all perfect; one regret that given the quality of the cooking, neither of us were sufficiently recovered to take advantage of what was on offer - and paid for in advance. Staffing was first class - not only friendly but everyone know what to do, when and how. The search for the desert elephants managed with huge expertise - wonderful! A great stay; if Mowani can do it ...

One minor concern; the house rule, a sensible one, was that tipping was centralised; guests' material appreciation of good service would be distributed equally throughout the whole staff; we very much approved since it was a whole effort and not one restricted to high profile employees. The young man assigned to us as 'our' waiter quite clearly disapproved, asking directly for his reward; when I explained my understanding of the principle of the communal tip his reponse was that 'everyone' would then have a share of my generosity. Exactly so. Persist with that, Vincent, we say; it's a principle that informs the much wider organisation and philosophy of Mowani - and it shows." See all these reviews: 26n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr H
Bucks

"Luxury on the rocks at Mowani"

2 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2007
"Loved the luxury tented accommodation here. Service was very good. have to be prepared to walk through uneven paths to get to tents." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr DS
Surrey

"Great camp"

2 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2007
"This lodge was absolutely great, everything you could expect, the best we stayed at! Just looking over the balcony of our 'tent' at the valley and the mountains, and feeling that we were the only ones there.

The 'sundowner' with drinks and nibbles, watching the sun go down, sharing the view with a small group of Hyraxes - that was great. Service was very, very good, bird-life was fantastic, particularly around the restaurant.

We found our trip in search of the desert-adapted elephants rather too long and a bit disappointing - we found them in the end, back at the water-tank in the village, more or less where we started. And we found that three stops for food, drinks and 'comfort' during the course of the morning were rather unnecessary. But our guide tried very hard - he was determined that we were going to see these elephants! And they were, of course, well worth seeing." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr AT
UK

"Mowani Mountain Camp"

2 nights Arrived 16 Aug 2007
"Beautiful view from our tent. The tent with a view." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Andover

"Watch out for football mad waiters!!"

2 nights Arrived 14 Aug 2007
"We received a very warm welcome at Mowani, after a rather tiresome trip - the road from Khoriaxas was probably the worst of the holiday. The camp was well camoflagued amongst the boulders but very tastefully decorated and with a lovely views, we got an upgrade to the excellent luxury villa which was great.

Some how we got onto the subject of football with our waiter Hennie, who kept us abreast of the latest football news via the satelitte TV in the staff accommodation and we had some good hearted banter with him and his fellow waiters about the merits of various teams and players, at the same time as they provided us with excellent food and service.

The viewpoint for the sunset was great with the bar and nibbles, it was also a lovely location for watching the stars.

We had a good trip tracking the desert elephants, which also gave us the opportunity to see more of the Damaraland landscapes with the wonderful pink mountains - elephant tracks and poo were everywhere but we finally found a large group of females and youngsters, including a 4 week old baby, at the waterhole, having first found a lone male having a sun bathe, we watched and followed the group for ages which was great. Frederick was an excellent driver and knowledgable guide who made the trip very enjoyable.

It would have been nice to stay longer - but we went on our way with a packed lunch which again contained excellent food and even included a minature bottle of vodka - we resisted drinking it - you need to be in control on Nambian roads !! and have kept it as a momento of Mowani Camp.

The trip and road to Swakomund was much better and less daunting than we had anticipated and we were able to visit the Cape Cross seals and enjoy our packed lunch whilst watching their antics." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M
Lancaster

"Stunning location"

2 nights Arrived 21 Jul 2007
"Tented accomodation excellent and food/wine outstanding

The desert adapted elephant tour was taken by excellent and knowledgable guides and well worth the money.

Views and sunsets to die for! We stayed there for two nights and felt that was ideal." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr J & Mrs S B
UK

"High quality camp in superb setting"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jul 2007
"Luxurious place to stay - even in a "standard" room. Wish we could have afforded the honeymoon suite!!

The setting is absolutely fantastic; each tent is gives a sense of being quite secluded nestled in it's own space in between the rocks. There is a wonderful view from the lookout point which should not be missed.

My wife was unfortunately unwell when we arrived, but the waiters (Matthew and one other at least, whose name(s) we can't remember) were lovely and looked after her in a really kind way - we can't thank them enough.

The elephant watching trip was successful and highly enjoyable with two good sized groups of elephants seen." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 131-138 of 138
94%
138 reviews of Mowani Mountain Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
108
22
3
4
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

Comfortable rooms and a convenient location make the community run Doro Nawas a great base for exploring Damaraland.


93% (446 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (117 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (112 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (112 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With unusual, igloo-like rooms, open-air bathrooms and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe is well placed for nature and cultural excursions.


95% (110 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


91% (93 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


82% (52 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


82% (34 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in an area of scenic grandeur with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


94% (31 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (24 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


85% (20 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


83% (7 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


80% (6 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


93% (3 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


93% (3 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (2 reviews)
Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge is a luxurious, low-impact bush camp offering top-notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (2 reviews)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa