This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp

Reviews of Mowani Mountain Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

153 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mowani Mountain Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 31 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mowani Mountain Camp.
Lion

5% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

77% success

Giraffe

57% success

Oryx

30% success

Zebra

13% success

Wildebeest

5% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 141-150 of 153
Duration
Arrival date
Ms F
War

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Dec 2007
"We stayed at a veiw tent overlooking with 180 degree of the vast horizon; spectacular. The tent was well equiped and in good condition. The service was friendly and attentive. The food excellent.

Mowani put a lot of attention to the detail - sundowner drinks on the rocks overlooking the vast countryside, a log fire to relax after dinner and chat to the other guess before bed. On our last morning they laid a private table at the viewpoint on the rocks for our breakfast, a wonderful surprise. We felt really pampered.

We took the trip to see the desert elephants which was a long and dusty ride of over 5 hours but our guide was tenacious and found two seperarte herds, to our delight and satisfaction." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Miss F & Mr H
York

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Nov 2007
"The guide was exceptional (Reinhold) went out of his way to ensure we saw the Desert Elephants.

The Suite is something special!!" See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr F & Mrs V
Kent

"Hot days at Mowani"

2 nights Arrived 12 Nov 2007
"Another excellent stay in Damaraland. Set among the rocks the tented accomodation fulfilled expectations (though some zips could do with some replacing}. and the otdoor shower and bath were appreciated.

The open style lounge and dining room overlooking the desert/scrub were comfortable as you would expect and on our first day the misting machine was appreciated. However the nest day it was exceptionally hot but too windy so the luxury of the mister was absent Meals were in general very good and staff attentive.

It is worth pointing out that in the heat on day two nobody moved about much so no trips were taken - something to bear in mind in the summer months.!

Also the tents retain the heat so for comfort maybe freestanding fans should be introduced." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mrs E
Broom

"Beautiful setting"

1 night Arrived 10 Nov 2007
"Mowani was in a beautiful setting. The rooms and communal areas were exceptional. A highlight was the sundowner.

One night was the right length of time here as we felt there wasn't a huge amount to do although it was very nice relaxing by the pool." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Miss Alma Square
UK

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Nov 2007
"This was a great location and the only disappointment and suprise was the size of the extra's bill. We had not known and were not told that water was not free and that every bottle requested would be charged for - something the other camps did not do and a bit cheeky we thought given the heat and that we were staying on a full board basis." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
M & L
Vancouver, BC

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Oct 2007
"Along with Etendeka, this was our favourite lodge. Just a really beautiful setting. We were lucky enough to have been given the honeymoon tent with its lovely outdoor bathroom set amid the rocks!!

There was a problem with our booking as they only had us booked for one night. However the manager (Vincent?) handled it well and was able to tell us later that a cancellation meant that we could stay in the same tent for the second night. Although it didn't end up as a problem for us, Expert Africa might want to look into why the booking was incorrect to avoid future problems.

The serving staff were exceptionally nice people - obviously well trained, but happy to talk about themselves. We enjoyed finding out about their families, their lives and their plans.

The guide (Frederick) for the game drive for very good - friendly and informative." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr P
Penny

"Magical Mowani"

3 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2007
"Not just by contrast with Kulala, Mowani was an experience of considerable style and elegance. Much of the excellence of this visit derived from the careful and courteous leadership of Vincent, general manager. Accommodation, cuisine, service all perfect; one regret that given the quality of the cooking, neither of us were sufficiently recovered to take advantage of what was on offer - and paid for in advance. Staffing was first class - not only friendly but everyone know what to do, when and how. The search for the desert elephants managed with huge expertise - wonderful! A great stay; if Mowani can do it ...

One minor concern; the house rule, a sensible one, was that tipping was centralised; guests' material appreciation of good service would be distributed equally throughout the whole staff; we very much approved since it was a whole effort and not one restricted to high profile employees. The young man assigned to us as 'our' waiter quite clearly disapproved, asking directly for his reward; when I explained my understanding of the principle of the communal tip his reponse was that 'everyone' would then have a share of my generosity. Exactly so. Persist with that, Vincent, we say; it's a principle that informs the much wider organisation and philosophy of Mowani - and it shows." See all these reviews: 25n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr H
Bucks

"Luxury on the rocks at Mowani"

2 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2007
"Loved the luxury tented accommodation here. Service was very good. have to be prepared to walk through uneven paths to get to tents." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr DS
Surrey

"Great camp"

2 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2007
"This lodge was absolutely great, everything you could expect, the best we stayed at! Just looking over the balcony of our 'tent' at the valley and the mountains, and feeling that we were the only ones there.

The 'sundowner' with drinks and nibbles, watching the sun go down, sharing the view with a small group of Hyraxes - that was great. Service was very, very good, bird-life was fantastic, particularly around the restaurant.

We found our trip in search of the desert-adapted elephants rather too long and a bit disappointing - we found them in the end, back at the water-tank in the village, more or less where we started. And we found that three stops for food, drinks and 'comfort' during the course of the morning were rather unnecessary. But our guide tried very hard - he was determined that we were going to see these elephants! And they were, of course, well worth seeing." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr AT
UK

"Mowani Mountain Camp"

2 nights Arrived 16 Aug 2007
"Beautiful view from our tent. The tent with a view." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 141-150 of 153
94%
153 reviews of Mowani Mountain Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
119
25
4
4
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

Comfortable rooms and a convenient location make the community run Doro Nawas a great base for exploring Damaraland.


94% (479 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (123 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (116 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With unusual, igloo-like rooms, open-air bathrooms and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe is well placed for nature and cultural excursions.


96% (117 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (116 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


92% (98 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


83% (54 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in an area of scenic grandeur with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


93% (43 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


81% (36 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (24 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


86% (21 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


82% (9 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


85% (8 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


97% (6 reviews)
Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge is a luxurious, low-impact luxury camp offering top-notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


93% (6 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

The simple Ozondjou Trails gives a unique perspective on living with Damaraland’s desert-adapted elephants and how tourism is key to protecting them and the livelihood of the people.


93% (3 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (2 reviews)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Camp Doros

Camp Doros

Small, intimate and with excellent eco-credentials, Camp Doros is set above an ephemeral river within a remote community concession of Damaraland.


No reviews yet
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa