This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein Country Lodge


20°34’15.1"S 14°22’10.2"E

Reviews of Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

Wildlife sightings and reviews

49 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Twyfelfontein C'try Lod. and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Nov-2018, 2 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Twyfelfontein C'try Lod..
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

50% success

Giraffe

50% success

Oryx

50% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Zebra

0% success

Showing 41-49 of 49
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs K
Nottingham

"Twyfelfontein Country Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Aug 2011
"Another unique location. 'Huts' very clean and comfortable. Much bigger lodge than any we'd experienced so far but still fine.

Meals were self-service with staff 'waiting' mainly to bring drinks and clear away empty plates etc. The lady looking after us wasn't as enthusiastic in her attentions as we were becoming used to but it didn't spoil anything for us. From our observations of other members of staff she seemed to be a bit of an exception. (We're not complaining here just making an observation - it just shows how good the service was that we received for the vast majority of the time).

Quality of the food was fine but the self-service gave it a 'school meals' atmosphere. Again, not a moan really, just a bit different to other places. One comment re breakfast - to make sure the eggs were cooked as fresh as fresh could be there was just one chef cooking fried/scrambled eggs/omelettes to order - good quality but such a waste of valuable time when you're itching to get outside and see wonderful things!

The weather had warmed up considerably by now as we'd moved up north so we actually took advantage of the pool at this lodge and didn't need to use the blankets at night!!

Adverse comments not meant as complaints - just meant to point out that this lodge had a different feel to it, mainly due to its size - good practice for Okaukuejo!" See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
T Family
Auckland

"Twyfelfontein Country Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Jun 2011
"Having experienced some truly wonderful acccomdation we were disappointed at how basic the rooms were in Twyfelfontein. The 3 single beds just fit into the room and the linen was very basic.

Having said that - the lodge was very much in touch with the environment and it was clean. Our hot water gas bottle had run out but they were quick to fix it and the setting was spectacular.

The buffet breakfast and dinner was plentiful and the performance by the staff was a lovely cultural touch.

" See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia; 5n in Mozambique; 4n in Zimbabwe; 2n in South Africa; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Mrs S
NL

"Twyfelfontein Country Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 16 Aug 2010
"The children really enjoyed this lodge, although it was large the staff made it very enjoyable" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms J x 2
Birmingham

"Twyfelfontein Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 8 May 2009
"This was the place we liked the least of all on our trip - we felt it was a bit like a package holiday hotel. On arrival, in the heat of the afternoon and after a hellish drive on the worst roads we experienced in Namibia, we did not feel welcomed or well-treated - what we really wanted was to be shown to our rooms so that we could shower and change and relax.

Instead we were just numbers on a list, told to go to the bar upstairs - we didn't and asked for our room key and what to do with car, staff at reception just not concerned or helpful. When we got to our room we were very disappointed - small hot dark box. Needed something to eat but had missed lunch and had to work to persuade chef to make sandwich.

Overall, food OK but canteen rather than dining room so eating dinner was not a pleasant experience - very crowded and noisy.

Trip to Rock engravings was OK.

Great swimming pool but only 4 sun loungers - for a hotel with 56 bedrooms!
" See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Water dikkops
Calgary

"well worth a stop"

1 night Arrived 20 Jul 2008
"Fantastic lodge location! Built right into the rocks. COOL To be honest, the san art right in the rocks at the entrance were as good as any we saw at the world heritage site!

Food very good. Singing cooks a nice touch!

Rooms need to be improved! They need to but some of our tourist coin back into up keep!! Looked run down,felt a bit like a cheap motel room to be honest. Fan didn't work etc.

" See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Excellent
Mr O
US

"Twyfelfontein Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 13 Nov 2007
"The main lodge was nice, however, the rooms were extremely run down, small, not air conditioned as advertised and dirty. The service was also sub-par. We ordered two drinks from the bar and the bartender charged us for a double - he argued with us and insisted that we ordered doubles... he finally backed down after we declined to pay for the double drinks.

On the morning of our departure, one of the cooks asked us for a ride into the next next town while we were ordering our eggs. We had never met this cook before and felt that his request to guests was inappropriated. We suggest that Twyfeltfontein ask their staff not to make such requests to their guests." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Average
Mr B
Suffolk

"It Rocks!"

1 night Arrived 1 Oct 2007
"Excellent base to tour the local attractions with good , well designed facilities and enjoyable food. For a buffet, dinner is excellent. and service is friendly and efficient.

The rooms, though spacious, seem out of keeping wiht the attractiveness of the main lodge building and as we thought a few years ago could do with a facelift as could the bathrooms where the towels were a bit raggy and felt damp on arrival.

" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs A
Swindon

"Crocodile for dinner"

2 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2007
"Less personal than other accommodation due to size and government ownership but perfectly acceptable for a stop-off in the area. Good size rooms in blocks of 8, 4 back to back with the front 4 overlooking the valley and the back 4 facing the rock the Lodge is built into.

On request, staff moved us to quieter room as pathways link all rooms leading to Reception. Despite its size, from a distance the main reception building and blocks of rooms blend in very well to the surroundings. Rooms facing rock are quite dark and shower facilities are basic and could do with refurbishment but everything was clean.

Wonderful raised open air bar area with adjacent dining room giving spectacular views over the landscape. Breakfast and dinner served buffet style with plenty of choice of roast meats - incuding crocodile (which tastes like gamey chicken!). Fuel at nearby airstrip very useful. Hired bikes to go exploring but gravel roads don't make for a very comfortable cycle ride.

As we left the next morning (9.30am), saw 3 mature desert elephants eating from a branch snapped off a tree in a dry river bed next to the Abu Habib campsite." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Devon Pollard
UK

"A scenic hideaway"

1 night Arrived 21 Aug 2007
"The approach to the Lodge is by way of a 'D' class road which we felt, in hindsight, would have been better tackled in a 4 x 4 vehicle. However, after a bumpy drive, the Lodge doesn't disappoint. Our chalet was hot, although a ceiling fan kept the air circulating. We did not need the woollen blankets provided! The room was comfortable and clean with a fantastic view, particularly at sunrise.

The evening meal, a buffet, was good, but did not cater for younger tastebuds. A highlight was the after-dinner entertainment, when many of the staff, still in uniform, performed local songs. Breakfast was good, with plenty of choice.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

(Would recommend other travellers are booked on at least a half board basis since there is nowhere else in the vicinity to take an evening meal)." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Showing 41-49 of 49
82%
49 reviews of Twyfelfontein C'try Lod. by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
17
21
9
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

Comfortable rooms and a convenient location make the community run Doro Nawas a great base for exploring Damaraland.


93% (434 reviews)
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


93% (126 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (111 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (110 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (108 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With comfortable rooms, open-air bathrooms, good food and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe offers a variety of nature and cultural excursions.


95% (101 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


92% (88 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


81% (32 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (23 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in a beautiful area with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


95% (22 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


85% (20 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


76% (5 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


84% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


90% (2 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (1 review)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


100% (1 review)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa