This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Onguma Bush Camp
Onguma Bush Camp
Onguma Bush Camp
Onguma Bush Camp
Onguma Bush Camp

Reviews of Onguma Bush Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

74 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Onguma Bush Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 9 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Onguma Bush Camp.
Lion

56% success

Leopard

13% success

Cheetah

14% success

Oryx

88% success

Sable antelope

75% success

Zebra

75% success

Giraffe

63% success

Wildebeest

63% success

Eland

50% success

Elephant

50% success

Black Rhino

29% success

Brown Hyena

17% success

Roan antelope

14% success

White Rhino

14% success

Spotted Hyena

13% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 61-70 of 74
Duration
Arrival date
T Family
Auckland

"The Fort at Fischer Pan"

3 nights Arrived 23 Jun 2011
"Fortunately for us - they decided to time the renovation of Onguma Bush Camp to coincide with our visit so we 'had to' be moved to The Fort at Fischer Pan.

WOW ... we felt like we had stepped into Abu Dhabi - we were met at the entrance by staff dressed in Arabian style clothes, offered rose water to wash our hands and then led through the 'gate' to an amazing view out over the plain.

Everything about this lodge was first class - our 'bungalow' was equipped with our own fire place (which, at your request , they will light for you in the evenings), the canvas screens lift so we have an uninterrupted view of the plains from our bed , or should we have decided to move outside, we could relax on the balcony or have an outdoor shower and watch the animals.

All meals are served in the main building where we over look the watering hole and the staff await attentively. Dinner is available from 7pm and whilst we were there each table had one staff member allocated so we were ensured continuous service. The chef comes out and introduces himself and explains the menu - and then you are treated to a 5 star gourmet 4 course meal ... and we were here for 3 nights !!!!

We had chosen to take our own morning game drive but as there were not many people at the lodge - we were asked if we would mind only having a limited breakfast as they did not want to have to bring all the food out just for us ... luckily we were still full from last night ! Having said that - the beautiful marinated figs with yoghurt and muesli was more than adequate at 5.30am

Everything about this location was amazing - the staff were exemplary in the attentiveness and professionalism.

The only :( is there are mice in the rooms !!! We weren't warned to keep any food etc packed away in the fridge so spent the entire night awake as we listened to the mice nibliing & rustling away. The Manager of housekeeping did come and try to catch it - but to no avail. The next night bait was set out but still to no avail - the mice proceeded to nibble through my husbands shaving gel and a box of juice in one of the bags that I didn't even know was there.
" See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia; 5n in Mozambique; 4n in Zimbabwe; 2n in South Africa; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Leeds

"Onguma Bush Camp"

1 night Arrived 10 Nov 2010
"A welcome restover after a long day in Etosha. Another very good establishment which does exactly what it says on the tin." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
The T family
UK

"Onguma Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 16 Sep 2010
"It may have been the time in our holiday when we arrived here, but Onguma was like heaven on earth. A warm welcome, shown to our rooms and how to operate everything. A wonderful swimming pool and loungers and someone to come and serve drinks. The food and service were excellent. Wished we could have stayed another day.

There were a wide variety of wilds birds flying around the grounds, and there is a small waterhole just outside the fenced area where we saw many impala and zebra as we ate breakfast.

We had a family room for the 2 of us. A private lounge area, a large bedroom, and a bathroom with a bath. Just wonderful." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Surrey

"Onguma Bush Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 20 May 2010
"We were in Rondavel No 3 which was lovely.

There was no game at the water hole other than impala.

We cannot comment on the activities as we drove ourselves around Etosha.

The food was excellent apart from the desserts at dinner, which could have come out of a packet from Iceland.
We thought this accommodation was very good value." See all these reviews: 26n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs R
Warks

"Onguma Bush Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 20 Apr 2010
"Another great lodge in a great location just outside the eastern entrance gate to Etosha. Wonderful food and staff.

Went on a night bush drive through their own game reserve with a great guide called Charles who had a great sense of humour and was a brilliant spotter seeing a small 3" owlet from 50 yards in the beam of his torch as we were driving. He was really disappointed that we saw no cats or rhino but he was entertaining, informative and found a number of smaller mammals for us including a bushbaby which was delightful.

He also gave us good advise on where the best places in Etosha were to see elephants and Lions and also what time of the day to visit these locations. We saw both elephant and lion at the places and times he suggested." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Kent

"Onguma Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Nov 2009
"not many quests. they worked very hard to ensure that we felt welcome and enjoyed our visit.the food was expertl;y prepared but there was no choice for the evening meal..interestly not much sign of management and the staff seemed to cope." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 7n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs R
Hereford

"Good choice for East Etosha"

2 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2009
"Room simple but very adequate,nice grounds and buildings and good food.Staff friendly and attentive.

Game drives a bit limited which may improve if,and when more land becomes available. A good base from which to explore East Etosha. Would recommend" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr P&C & Mrs P&R
UK

"Very good base to visit Etosha"

1 night Arrived 23 Aug 2009
"Very comfortable, welcoming place in an excellent location on the edge of Etosha. The accommodation must have been upgraded since the Bradt Guide Book description was written, and it exceeded our expectations. Very good food.

Did not participate in any activities as we were only there for one night" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs C
Lancashire

"Onguma Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Jun 2009
"Good camp for a short stay, excellent staff very helpful, owners not." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Berkshire

"Onguma Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Nov 2008
"Our rondel was very cosy, but in need of some refurbishment - particularly the bathroom.

The bar and lounge area more than made up for this, as did the resurant and the food. The staff were very friendly. Also the pool and garden area were attractive, unfortuately we didn't see any game at the waterhole as the rains had just started." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 61-70 of 74
93%
74 reviews of Onguma Bush Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
52
18
4
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Camp is a large, well-equipped restcamp, with a productive floodlit waterhole.


83% (639 reviews)
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

Halali is a large, government-run restcamp in a convenient central location inside Etosha National Park.


79% (319 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (237 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (144 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


93% (79 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (35 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (21 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lode. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa