This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
Olive Grove

Reviews of Olive Grove

Wildlife sightings and reviews

337 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Olive Grove and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 121-130 of 337
Duration
Arrival date
Mr B & Mrs E
Surrey

"Good enough for a Prince"

1 night Arrived 4 Oct 2015
"We had room 6 for a single night, apparently Prince Harry had room 8 in July. Good enough recommendation for anyone??

Our second visit (7 years on) was just as enjoyable as the first time. Friendly efficient service, great food and comfortable rooms.

The staff were extremely helpful, including assisting with our hire car delivery problems (see above), being very concerned about service levels they expect for their guests! Thanks to all" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Hampshire

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 3 Oct 2015
"A charming, quirky, small hotel full of character.

We arrived hoping to watch the England - Australia World Cup rugby match so were delighted to find a big TV and cable in the room. Unfortunately it was not working but the young manager spent a large part of the afternoon chasing the cable company and fiddling with the TV in an attempt to get it to work. In the end he booked us a table at a nearby bar/restaurant where we were able to watch the match with locals, and the atmosphere was much better than watching it in the room anyway!

The room itself was huge - in face calling it a suite is probably more accurate, and some lovely touches such as port and chocolates left in our room for us to come back to after the restaurant. A good central location, ideal for a last night in Namibia before flying home." See all these reviews: 24n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr T & Mrs M
Newmarke

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 2 Oct 2015
"Strange to be back in the city after 3 weeks in the bush, but the guest house was very well-appointed, and the staff were friendly and helpful." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 5n in Zambia; 2n in Zimbabwe; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs P
W Midlands

"Great overnight stop and excellent dinner"

1 night Arrived 14 Sep 2015
"Room 10 was spacious with a large and unusual 'concrete' bathroom. It was on the ground floor and quiet, even though it opened onto the bar terrace. Very comfortable and well-equipped room, helpful staff and good location.

Decided to have dinner in, as menu looked good and we were feeling too lazy to go out. Excellent food, well presented and served. Breakfast was also good, though the buffet was a bit chaotic. Perfect stop for one night or even 2." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 5n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr P M & family
UK

"A great place for a first night"

1 night Arrived 6 Sep 2015
"Olive Grove is a very convenient place to spend an initial night in Namibia.

The accommodation was very comfortable, the staff very friendly and helpful and the breakfast we had there was very good." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Scots on the wing
UK

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 5 Sep 2015
"We were amused that we were in the same room that Prince Harry had been in on his visit to Windhoek in July!" See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 4n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Ms FJ
SW London

"Good first night at Olive Grove"

1 night Arrived 20 Aug 2015
"Nice place to stay for first night, good directions, food was good." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr J & Mrs S
Streatha

"Olive Grove Review"

1 night Arrived 29 Jul 2015
"Helpful staff and convenient (15mins walk from the centre of Windhoek). Pleasant food and eating in the restaurant is a good option if like us you've had a long journey to get there.

It had a bit of a transitory feel as everyone seems to just stay for one night, passing through." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs M
Aberdeen

"See previous comment"

1 night Arrived 11 Jul 2015
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Mr & Mrs M
Aberdeen

"Classy city hotel"

1 night Arrived 25 Jun 2015
"We stayed here at both the start and end of our trip, for 1 night each time. We enjoyed both of our stays. The breakfasts were very good, We also had our evening meals here and although not the cheapest place to eat, the dinners were very good indeed, really good food. The Namibian date and brandy cake/pudding was particularly tasty! The port and chocolate for bedtime was a nice and unusual touch.

On both stays our rooms were very comfortable. Our room on the second visit was booked as Standard, whilst on our first visit it was booked as Luxury. However, we'd be hard pressed to say what was superior about the room we stayed in the first time: indeed by comparison, the standard room was a bit brighter and didn't open out onto the road, so was quieter. Based on our experience I would recommend simply booking a standard room.

Another thought - it might be good to request/check that you don't have a room opening out directly onto the reception/dining area (I think this was rooms 1, 2 and 3) - those rooms might feel a lack of privacy and risk a bit noise." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Showing 121-130 of 337
88%
337 reviews of Olive Grove by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
168
148
14
5
2
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Windhoek

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Galton House

Galton House

Galton House is a cool stylish sanctuary in a quiet suburb of Windhoek with a pool and restaurant.


90% (147 reviews)
Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

The Elegant Guesthouse is a friendly, comfortable establishment with a lovely, tranquil garden, and is a good choice for an overnight stay in Windhoek.


86% (124 reviews)
River Crossing

River Crossing

On a game reserve between Windhoek and the airport, River Crossing is a convenient yet relaxing place to start or end a trip.


82% (115 reviews)
Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck was one of Windhoek's best pensions just a few minutes' drive away from the city centre, however it has now closed.


86% (102 reviews)
Villa Violet

Villa Violet

Villa Violet is a friendly, owner-run guesthouse in a residential area of Windhoek, just a few minutes' drive from the city centre and numerous restaurants.


90% (100 reviews)
Hilltop Guesthouse

Hilltop Guesthouse

A long-standing favourite, the small, owner-run Hilltop Guesthouse is comfortable, smart and good value.


91% (55 reviews)
Heinitzburg Hotel

Heinitzburg Hotel

One of the oldest hotels in Windhoek, the Heinitzberg occupies a great hill-top location but can feel like a relic of a bygone era.


85% (40 reviews)
GocheGanas

GocheGanas

For somewhere to really pamper yourself, Gocheganas Lodge & Spa offers wildlife combined with extensive wellness treatments.


95% (37 reviews)
Olive Exclusive

Olive Exclusive

The Olive Exclusive is perhaps Windhoek's most luxurious boutique hotel but remains a friendly and unpretentious place to stay.


95% (33 reviews)
Etango Ranch Guest Farm

Etango Ranch G. Farm

Etango offers simple, clean, comfortable accommodation and it’s the closest accommodation to Windhoek International Airport.


88% (21 reviews)
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge

Immanuel Wild'ss Lodge

Within easy reach of Windhoek, Immanuel Wilderness Lodge is a good overnight option for those who don't wish to stay in the city.


81% (17 reviews)
Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse offers great value, relaxed accommodation in a homely atmosphere with helpful and extremely friendly staff.


89% (17 reviews)
Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Situated within the Daan Viljoen Nature reserve Sun Karros is a simple lodge with gentle game viewing and bird watching opportunities.


77% (15 reviews)
Avani Windhoek Hotel

Avani Windhoek Hotel

The Avani Windhoek Hotel and Casino lack the personal touch of Windhoeks smaller guesthouses but is well located in the heart of the city.


80% (11 reviews)
Hotel Thule

Hotel Thule

Windhoek’s Hotel Pension Thule offers stunning views across the city and a reputable in-house restaurant, within easy reach of the international airport.


91% (9 reviews)
Pension Palmquell

Pension Palmquell

Stay at the Pension Palmquell in Windhoek, whilst on holiday in Namibia.


89% (9 reviews)
Am Weinberg Boutique Hotel

Am Weinberg

In a quiet upmarket suburb of Klein Windhoek, the stylish Am Weinberg has a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and luxury facilities.


92% (5 reviews)
Omaanda

Omaanda

Omaanda offers luxury accommodation and wildlife viewing within easy reach of the international airport and Windhoek City.


100% (2 reviews)
Desert Express

Desert Express

The Desert Express runs from Windhoek to Swakopmund on set departures. Recently this schedule has been somewhat erratic.


80% (1 review)
Ti Melen Guest House

Ti Melen

Overlooking Avis Dam, Ti Melen is on the outskirts of Windhoek, yet only 10-minutes from the city's amenities.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa