This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm

Reviews of Gibbs Farm

Wildlife sightings and reviews

43 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Gibbs Farm and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Oct-2019, 2 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Gibbs Farm.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

0% success

Wild dog

100% success

Buffalo

100% success

Eland

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 43
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs W
W Sussex

"Gibb's Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Jul 2013
"Excellent location for the crater visit...superb bungalows with cosy fires lit in the evenings for extra comfort.

We enjoyed a talk about the coffee plantation when we first arrived and thought maybe an extra day here would have been nice to take advantage of all the activities they had on offer." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr J
Amersham

"a green oasis, excellent stay"

3 nights Arrived 30 Jul 2012
"excellent accommodation and personal service
food excellent, lots of choice and super quality
room accommodation excellent, nice fireplace and comfy beds
very relaxing environment" See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 5n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs R
Bath

"Gibb's Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Jul 2012
"Rather a long way from the main road. but beautiful location!

The staff were especially friendly and efficient." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 5n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs WS
SW London

"Gibb's Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Jun 2012
"We very much enjoyed our stay at Gibb's Farm, the place has a wonderful "Out of Africa" feel to it, with the guest rooms located in the middle of an active coffee plantation. The views from the terrace and the main guest house are stunning, the food is excellent and all the staff are friendly and helpful. Our guest room was spacious and beautiful, and as we stayed in early June when the nights and early mornings are very cold, we particularly appreciated the fireplace in the room.
Our only suggestion for improvement would to reduce the humidity in the rooms (even the bed linen felt uncomfortably humid) either by installing de-humidifiers and/or by providing more firewood to last the night.
We also want to say a special thanks to Ami, our guide for the Manyara / Ngorongoro leg of the trip who was excellent, really friendly and welcoming, just the loveliest person, as well as totally reliable, very knowledgeable and always happy to answer our endless questions about his country." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Newcastle

"Very attractive setting"

2 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2011
"Lovely welcome and explanation of room facilities. Cottage was large and well-furnished. It was nice to have a good shower with plenty of hot water. Only drawback was that mosquito net around bed could have been designed better - it didn't overlap properly so wasn't really closed and left no room at all to manoeuvre round the bed. The grounds of the farm are lovely with gardens and flowers outside the cottages. There was also a fabulous view from the terrace outside the main farmhouse - where we had tea and cake in the afternoon (all included).

We appreciated the chance to just dine on our own here after a couple of days dining 'en famille' on safari. The service was very good and the food excellent - all locally grown vegetables and lovely soups.

We didn't really mind the drive to the crater, although I suppose it would have been marginally better to have been closer to the rim to save time. Our guide Kevin, from Asilia, was excellent. He had brought us from Lake Manyara airstrip and then took us to the crater the next day. He had an excellent sense of humour and was very knowledgeable. We enjoyed the crater very much although I think I was expecting to be falling over the animals and it wasn't quite like that! However, we saw a serval very close (in the daytime), and some other things we hadn't seen before such as flamingos doing aerial acrobatics and ostrich mating displays.

It would have been good to stay here one more night so that perhaps we could have walked to the Crater rim or done other activities on the farm but sadly we didn't have time." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Kent

"Gibbs Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2011
"A totally different location to a camp as this was in a rural location. There was no warm welcome here like other camps on our safari.

Run more like a Hotel and with no complementary items other than tea/coffee and that was a do it yourself in the main lounge. It's setting, once there, was in beautiful gardens on a coffee plantation with good views of the surrounding countryside. The individual chalets, although large and well furnished and colonal in nature were starting to look rather tired.

This was an ideal place for visiting the Ngorongoro Crater, speaking to other travellers who stayed in Lodges on the Rim, we were infact glad that we had stayed at Gibbs Farm.

Onec again we had our own driver / guide so we did not go on their activites." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Mr D & Mrs B
UK

"disappointing given reputation"

3 nights Arrived 11 Feb 2011
"Not sure why we didn't fly on to be met at Lake Manyara airport so as to minimise road travel.
Accommodation and setting were great. Service was patchy (lack of apparent leadership) Some individual staff were helpful.

Solar hot water didn't work resulting in cold showers. Internet access very poor. Food poorest durng our trip.

We understand there has been a change of ownership and marketing now to American tour groups. During our visit, several tour groups arrived for one day/night. Independent travellers such as ourselves were marginalised. Overall our stay was disappointing given the reputation of Gibb's Farm. With hindsight we think we would have preferred to stay at the Serena Crater lodge" See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
The C family
NJ

"Gibb's Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2010
"More commercial than we wanted. It's definitely more of a touristy place than some of the other places.

I would have rather stayed around the crater rim as we didn't have time to do any of the activities at the Farm. However the rooms are stunning." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs W
Newton Abb

"Gibb's Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2010
"You have to go up a very bumpy track to get to the Farm. Unfortunately didn't have time to explore the farm - it looked very interesting. Quite a long way from the crater." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
The B family
Wimbledo

"Luxury rooms but let down by average service"

3 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2010
"We visited Gibbs Farm 3 years ago and since then it's been refurbished to a very high standard - but we felt it had lost some of it's earlier charm.

The rooms are very luxurious and comfortable but we experienced a number of small but irritaitng service shortfalls where, for example, we didn't receive the drinks we'd ordered and on a couple of occassions had to wait a long time to be served dinner. We did take a guided cycling trip to the local village and town and this was very interesting and well planned out with our guide ensuring that he understood what we wanted from the trip before we started.

Kevin our guide while we were in the North was excellent and was knowledgeable not just on wildlife but also on politics and international affaires - we learnt loads. He went out of his way to ensure we got all the service we wanted" See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Showing 21-30 of 43
88%
43 reviews of Gibbs Farm by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
25
12
5
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Ngorongoro Crater

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Plantation Lodge

Plantation Lodge

A relaxed base between Ngorongoro and Lake Manyara, Plantation Lodge has lush grounds and offers good value and high standards.


94% (45 reviews)
Lemala Ngorongoro

Lemala Ngorongoro

Lemala Ngorongoro is a small, comfortable tented camp on the rim of the Ngorongoro Crater with lovely walking in the vicinity.


86% (37 reviews)
Ngorongoro Crater Lodge

Crater Lodge

The ultra-luxurious Ngorongoro Crater Lodge is perched in a spectacular location on the edge of the Ngorongoro Crater.


93% (27 reviews)
The Highlands

The Highlands

The Highlands is a unique camp near Olmoti Crater, north of Ngorongoro, offering drives, walks and cultural visits from a beautiful remote setting.


91% (25 reviews)
Entamanu Ngorongoro

Entamanu Ngorongoro

Opened in 2016, Entamanu Ngorongoro is a small camp high on the Crater rim with views towards the crater and the plains of the Serengeti.


96% (23 reviews)
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge

Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge

Situated on the eastern rim of the Ngorongoro Crater, with outstanding views, the Sopa Lodge is a somewhat dated, international-style hotel.


88% (23 reviews)
Rhino Lodge

Rhino Lodge

Rhino Lodge is a simple, good-value lodge with a great location near the crater rim, in the Ngorongoro Conservation Area.


91% (22 reviews)
Ngorongoro Farmhouse Lodge

Farmhouse Lodge

Ngorongoro Farmhouse Lodge is set on a 750-acres working farm. Close to the NCA gate, it makes a great base for exploring the Crater.


88% (17 reviews)
Rhotia Valley Tented Lodge

Rhotia Valley Ttd. Lodge

Rhotia Valley is a simple lodge with a strong commitment to the local community, including a children's home, which guests may visit.


94% (14 reviews)
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge

Ngorongoro Serena

The large, hotel-like Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge sits on the western rim of Ngorongoro Crater and has stunning views of the caldera.


91% (13 reviews)
Bougainvillea Safari Lodge

Bougainvillea Lodge

Bougainvillea Safari Lodge provides an economical base from which to visit Lake Manyara or the Ngorongoro Crater.


89% (7 reviews)
The Manor

The Manor

The Manor is a smart, family-friendly Cape-Dutch-style lodge, offering high-quality service and food in very comfortable surroundings.


100% (5 reviews)
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge

Wildlife Lodge

Stay at the Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge while on road safari in Northern Tanzania's spectacular Ngorongoro Crater area.


67% (3 reviews)
Neptune Ngorongoro Lodge

Neptune Ngorongoro

Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge is a smart hilltop lodge with log-style cottages set close to the Ngorongoro Conservation Area.


93% (3 reviews)
Kirurumu Ngorongoro Lodge

Kirurumu Ngorongoro

Kirurumu Ngorongoro is a tented camp situated near the Ngorongoro Crater, with seven guest tents.


60% (1 review)
Sanctuary Ngorongoro Crater Camp

Sanctuary Ngorongoro Crater Camp

A small tented camp, located on the eastern side of the Ngorongoro Crater rim, with a five minute drive to crater descent gate.


No reviews yet
Crater's Edge

Crater's Edge

Craters Edge is an intimate luxury property on the north-eastern rim of the Ngorongoro Crater.


No reviews yet
Ngorongoro Fly-Camp

Ngorongoro Fly-Camp

Explore the remote northern rim of the Ngorongoro Crater on a two-day hike and spend the night in this small fly-camp.


No reviews yet
Country Lodge

Country Lodge

Country Lodge is conveniently located on the edge of Karatu and provides a comfortable base for exploring Ngorongoro Crater or Lake Manyara.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa