This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm

Reviews of Gibbs Farm

Wildlife sightings and reviews

43 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Gibbs Farm and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Oct-2019, 2 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Gibbs Farm.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

0% success

Wild dog

100% success

Buffalo

100% success

Eland

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 31-40 of 43
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs H
UK

"A delightful trip back to bestColonial times."

3 nights Arrived 10 Jan 2010
"Delightful farm on small coffee plantation, dating back to First World War. Very well run, with individual lodges (inadequately described as "farmhouses") with "Colonial Style" teak floors, log fires, two double beds, stone bath and showers,etc

Very interesting tour around the coffee manufacturing process, and a lovely sitting area around log fire near there for "sundowners" before dinnner. Food superb, although dining room a bit plain and wished we could have been together with other guests rather than separated by individual tables.

We both had Masai massages which were very good.

Altogether excellent and wished we could have had another day or so here to enjoy the place more (we were out all day on safari)." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
W family
Pennsylvania

"Exquisite Cottage with mixed review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2009
"A very long, dusty and bumpy ride to a post card perfect coffee plantation. A photographers and garderners dream.
Drop dead hands down favorite unique location ever! Cottage comfortable roomy with two double beds, fireplace, indoor and outdoor showers, soaking tub, quality bath products and awsome views from everywhere!

Delicious creative fresh food.
Nice gift shop
We did not utilize any of the spa or farm facilities as were on safari and to the crater during 2 night stay.
Staff were friendly and attentive.

Why one asks would we have a mixed review?

1. A place of this caliber should not be charging a tab for bottled water. Especially after a hike to the "Masai healer" picnic dinner. No beverage was offered without the staff having to constantly ask guests for a room number to charge for all drinks even water. No coffee offered nor served even at a coffee plantation during this dinner! This felt petty and made guests concern themselves with tab charge accuracies instead of relaxing. This dinner was disturbed with charges even for water.

If the costs of bottled water is of concern for management a charge should have been included in the per person initial charge. This cheapened the beautiful atmosphere!

2. We stayed for 2 nights and have no idea who is the manager. We had a few simple questions along with our guide Jackson such as could we get coffee early, could we get a simple breakfast early, when to pick up a packed lunch? Each question directed to staff members resulted in mass confusion! Each staff needed to consult other staff in front of us resulting in very loud demonstrutive Swahili frustrating even our guide in confusion.

All 3 of us have been in management.

Each staff member was nice and doing their personal best to be most helpful. This staff appeared frustrated by a lack of leadership.

This appeared to us to be a MANAGEMENT problem.

Our concern: WE LOVED THIS PLACE.

In this competitive market many diserning guests will choose another easier to get to competive accomodation unless management makes some tweeks to give this fantastic place the caliber of service it deserves." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Mr K & Ms D
NL

"Gibb's Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Jul 2009
"Gibb's is an outstanding site and all my experience with them is positive. My onlt regret is that we could have stayed on there longer, but of course that was my decision." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
M family
West Sussex

"Gibb's Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Jul 2009
"Absolutley brilliant! Fabolous rooms, great food and very good service. Mains electricity helps as lighting is available all the time.

At dinner they ask you if you would like them to light a fire in your room and you come back to lovely log fire.

Early morning tea/coffee ( their own beans ) are brought to your door at a time of your choosing.

A tour of the farm is good fun." See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar; 3n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs W
Surrey

"Gibb's Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Oct 2008
"The rooms were just fabulous and the staff very friendly. Unfortunately our diet wasn't catered for despite speaking to the Manager and reiterating our requests on check in.

A great place from which to explore the Ngorgoro Crater" See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Mr M & Ms C
Dublin

"Gibb's Farm needs a manager!"

2 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2008
"Wonderful location. Superb gardens and chalets. Service appalling. We arrived mid-morning and asked for tea and coffee. We were directed to the awaiting flasks. The coffee was cold, there was no tea or water in a big tea pot, and no milk in the jug! After much tooing and frowing another large tea pot was produced. Except that when i looked in the pot there was no tea in it. Just hot water. When asked for tea they referred us to basket of tea bags which were all herbal! Just wanted ordinary black tea. Coffee eventually came and it was awful. And this on a coffee farm! I left in frustration after 20 minutes. Teresa waited longer before getting her tea which she said very poor.

There were 7 for dinner that night. The bread was stale. The main course was fish or vegeterian. Not much choice for me who is not keen on either. Well at least i could have the vegetables. But i didnt....beans, carrots and something else was hard and inedible. Your guide states ".....and the home-style cooking with organic produce grown on the farm is excellent". Are you joking? Also it was like a fast food restaurant. No sooner were we finished with one course when everything was snatched away and the next course presented. No time to linger and chat between courses.

After our experience with these two recommended places i was so annoyed that i was on the verge of e-mailing you to give you notification that we would be looking for a rebate. A very disappointing start to an expensive trip. We made our complaints to our guide who passed them on to one of the people who now run this place.

On the second night there were 27 for dinner. Food and service was better. One of the owners checked with quite a number of tables how things were. Did not approach us! Nobody seems to take responsibility. Either they are not trained or very badly trained as to what is important for European visitors. Many running about looking busy. Great for welcoming but what good is that if service is so poor." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Terrible
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Mr G & Ms L
London

"Gibb's Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Oct 2008
"Spent little time at Gibbs Farm so had few opportunities to explore the immediate area.

Our room would have had a great view if a rather large green roof had not been immediately in front of us, but otherwise were very surprised with the amount of space we had..

Service was good - friendly and helpful.

Food was excellent with seconds always offered." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 1n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Eagle owls
Yorkshire

"Gibb's Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2008
"This was another warm welcome from the hotel and their staff who made our stay most enjoyable. Our private accommodation was spacious well appointed and most comfortable being set in beautiful gardens. We liked the wood fire which welcomed us back after our evening meal.

Again, we had a superb guide in Jacob who was with us from the airport through two excellent drives, finally delivering us to Olivers. His knowledge of birds , animals, flora and landscape was quite outstanding. Just like Prim at Sayari." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Hornbills
St. Albans

"Gibb's Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Jul 2008
"When scoring a lodge it is necessary to compare it to the others we stayed at and Gibbs Farm was the worst. The rooms were very basic and freezing at night.

In fairness, the owner said that ours was one of the rooms that they were intending to demolish in the Autum - presumably to errect something better. It was also an hour or so (perhaps a bit less) from the Ngorongoro crater which was further than I had hoped." See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Prickly Pear
Dublin

"Gibb's Farm review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Jul 2008
"Gibbs Farm is very professionally run, more like a business and a bit removed from the African safari experience.
The Location is between both Lake Manyara & Ngorongoro Crater, about 1 hour drive from each. As the location is quiet high up it can get a little cool in the mornings & evenings.

The room we had Ngorongoro as it was called was one of the bigger lodges. The room was very impressive with 2 double beds and an indoor and outdoor shower (too cold to go out though). There was also a fireplace there as well which we made use of one night as it was chilly.

The staff were very friendly and looking to help where they could.

The food was excellent with most of the vegetables & fruit grown on the farm. There was loads to choose from in the morning & lunch time, dinner you didn't have as many choices but the quality was the same.

We had a day out here instead of going back to the crater for a second day and had a nice tour around the farm. You can also do an Elephant Cave tour as well ($10), but we didn't do it.

Overall we were really impressed with Gibbs, very well run and gives loads of employment to the locals. Just maybe a bit too removed from the rest of the Tanzania experience, as they seemed to be into $$$ as they charged for everything compared to the other places." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 8n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 31-40 of 43
88%
43 reviews of Gibbs Farm by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
25
12
5
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Ngorongoro Crater

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Plantation Lodge

Plantation Lodge

A relaxed base between Ngorongoro and Lake Manyara, Plantation Lodge has lush grounds and offers good value and high standards.


94% (45 reviews)
Lemala Ngorongoro

Lemala Ngorongoro

Lemala Ngorongoro is a small, comfortable tented camp on the rim of the Ngorongoro Crater with lovely walking in the vicinity.


87% (36 reviews)
Ngorongoro Crater Lodge

Crater Lodge

The ultra-luxurious Ngorongoro Crater Lodge is perched in a spectacular location on the edge of the Ngorongoro Crater.


93% (27 reviews)
The Highlands

The Highlands

The Highlands is a unique camp near Olmoti Crater, north of Ngorongoro, offering drives, walks and cultural visits from a beautiful remote setting.


91% (25 reviews)
Entamanu Ngorongoro

Entamanu Ngorongoro

Opened in 2016, Entamanu Ngorongoro is a small camp high on the Crater rim with views towards the crater and the plains of the Serengeti.


96% (23 reviews)
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge

Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge

Situated on the eastern rim of the Ngorongoro Crater, with outstanding views, the Sopa Lodge is a somewhat dated, international-style hotel.


88% (23 reviews)
Rhino Lodge

Rhino Lodge

Rhino Lodge is a simple, good-value lodge with a great location near the crater rim, in the Ngorongoro Conservation Area.


91% (22 reviews)
Ngorongoro Farmhouse Lodge

Farmhouse Lodge

Ngorongoro Farmhouse Lodge is set on a 750-acres working farm. Close to the NCA gate, it makes a great base for exploring the Crater.


88% (17 reviews)
Rhotia Valley Tented Lodge

Rhotia Valley Ttd. Lodge

Rhotia Valley is a simple lodge with a strong commitment to the local community, including a children's home, which guests may visit.


94% (14 reviews)
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge

Ngorongoro Serena

The large, hotel-like Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge sits on the western rim of Ngorongoro Crater and has stunning views of the caldera.


93% (11 reviews)
Bougainvillea Safari Lodge

Bougainvillea Lodge

Bougainvillea Safari Lodge provides an economical base from which to visit Lake Manyara or the Ngorongoro Crater.


89% (7 reviews)
The Manor

The Manor

The Manor is a smart, family-friendly Cape-Dutch-style lodge, offering high-quality service and food in very comfortable surroundings.


100% (5 reviews)
Neptune Ngorongoro Lodge

Neptune Ngorongoro

Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge is a smart hilltop lodge with log-style cottages set close to the Ngorongoro Conservation Area.


93% (3 reviews)
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge

Wildlife Lodge

Stay at the Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge while on road safari in Northern Tanzania's spectacular Ngorongoro Crater area.


67% (3 reviews)
Kirurumu Ngorongoro Lodge

Kirurumu Ngorongoro

Kirurumu Ngorongoro is a tented camp situated near the Ngorongoro Crater, with seven guest tents.


60% (1 review)
Ngorongoro Fly-Camp

Ngorongoro Fly-Camp

Explore the remote northern rim of the Ngorongoro Crater on a two-day hike and spend the night in this small fly-camp.


No reviews yet
Country Lodge

Country Lodge

Country Lodge is conveniently located on the edge of Karatu and provides a comfortable base for exploring Ngorongoro Crater or Lake Manyara.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa