This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Garden Lodge
Garden Lodge
Garden Lodge
Garden Lodge

Reviews of Garden Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

52 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Garden Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 7 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Garden Lodge.
Lion

67% success

Leopard

60% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Wildebeest

43% success

Eland

33% success

Roan antelope

25% success

Sable antelope

20% success

Spotted Hyena

17% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sitatunga

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 52
Duration
Arrival date
Lu
Australia

"Small and friendly Garden Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 1 Aug 2019
"As a solo traveller this small lodge was perfect for me. The drives and boat trips had fewer than 10 people, which gave it a friendly atmosphere, with us all sharing the excitement.

Both guides I had were extremely knowledgeable, able to spot the tiniest kingfisher in the reeds on the glorious sunset boat trip, or work hard to find that elusive leopard on the game drive.

We all ate together in the evening, joined by the two managers, which was a great end to the day, and again, lovely for a solo traveller.

Highly recommend.


" See all these reviews: 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Hippo

4 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr M.
Anchorage

"Garden Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 3 Nov 2018
"great location to end the trip at, stayed one night -- next time two nights." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 1n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs K
Maidstone

"Garden Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 29 Oct 2018
"We have been going to Chobe on and off during the last 30 years.

Over that time the Kasane area has grown enormously with more and more visitors and hotels so it was a great surprise to find this excellent small hotel operation together with its own land and river safari facilities.

It has the advantage of being "family run" with the owners keen to discuss all aspects of your stay and excursion planning." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia; 2n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Elephant

2 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

2 sightings

Mrs C.
cyprus

"Garden Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2018
"Lovely lodge, all really good.

We found the safaris a little too long (4hrs) and would have preferred 3hrs" See all these reviews: 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
George H
AZ

"Garden Lodge Kasane"

2 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2018
"We did the Chobe River and the land safari. Only one is need of each but recommend taking both. We also played golf next door. Pretty amazing with elephants roaming through. We had to take caddies (I use the term loosely because they did not know much about golf) but it was a good idea to have them help navigate the animals. We decided the course was probably in the worst shape of nay course we had ever played but it was fun. Right on the Chobe River yet they had a watering problem, go figure. Phillip, the owner of the Lodge, said they had problems. Phillip was great and sat with us a dinner entertaining us with stories." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

4 sightings

Hippo

4 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

3 sightings

Mr & Mrs W
Roehampt

"Good location and guides"

4 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2018
"The all-day game drive was a real highlight for us.

The guides are all good.

The lodge location is wonderful, right on the banks of the Chobe." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Zebra

10 sightings

Birds
Cape Town

"Convenient base"

4 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2018
"Enjoyed the spacious room with an interesting view of the river.

Meals were tasty and varied.

Very friendly helpful staff.
Optional excursions offered by the lodge were well organised and good value.

We were disappointed with the outside operator that took us to the Victoria Falls.


" See all these reviews: 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Prof. R
Goring

"Garden Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 9 Sep 2018
"A very pleasant last night stay in Kasana in Garden Lodge; the lodge feels a bit dated but the food, company and the excellent and very exciting boat drive on the Chobe was more than memorable.

Ideally located for some last minute souvenir shopping." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Elephant

8 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Hippo

5 sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Wallington
UK

"Brilliant place"

2 nights Arrived 13 Apr 2018
"Both game drive and boat cruises were excellent. The Guide, John, is eager to share his extensive knowledge of game and birds and the owner (Gabi, I think) and the manager were engaging.

We very much liked sharing a dinner table with them and the other guests.

A bonus to have hippos on the lawn at night.

A great stay, so action packed that we didn't even have time to walk into Kasane.

* Our booking stated that we had a thatched cottage, (I only noticed this after we left), but were put into a terraced room. I can't say it made any difference to our enjoyment, just thought I'd mention it.
" See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs J
Coventry

"Garden Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 10 Mar 2018
"Beautiful really enjoyed everything here,the pool, the food, the trips out.

Wish we had had longer!" See all these reviews: 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 52
95%
52 reviews of Garden Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
40
12
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Chobe National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Muchenje Safari Lodge

Muchenje Safari Lodge

One of our favourites in the area, Muchenje is a small, welcoming lodge outside the less busy western end of the Chobe Riverfront area.


95% (152 reviews)
Chobe Princesses

Chobe Princesses

The Chobe Princess houseboats offer a memorable way to explore the Chobe and Zambezi Rivers in Namibia's Caprivi. Perfect for a couple or for a group of family or friends.


96% (57 reviews)
Savute Safari Lodge

Savute Safari Lodge

Savute Safari Lodge sits on the banks of the Savuti Channel within Chobe National Park, and offers access to excellent game viewing, especially during the dry season.


94% (34 reviews)
Chobe Under Canvas

Chobe Under Canvas

This is a typical location for Chobe under Canvas, a small, semi-permanent camp in the Chobe Riverfront area that offers good value for money and high standards of care.


100% (20 reviews)
Chobe Safari Lodge

Chobe Safari Lodge

Chobe Safari Lodge is a good value, hotel-style lodge in the heart of Kasane offering game drives, boat cruises and fishing trips.


84% (18 reviews)
Savute Under Canvas

Savute Under Canvas

A mobile camp with the comforts of a semi-permanent tented camp, Savute Under Canvas offers guided game drives within the Savuti region of Chobe National Park.


96% (18 reviews)
Chobe Elephant Camp

Chobe Elephant Camp

Located in one of our favorite areas of Chobe National Park, Chobe Elephant Camp is a simple but well-appointed camp with a strong bush feel.


97% (12 reviews)
Chobe Game Lodge

Chobe Game Lodge

Chobe Game Lodge occupies an enviable riverfront location within Chobe National Park and boasts well-earned 'eco' credentials, as well as an excellent all-female guiding team.


85% (12 reviews)
Zambezi Queen

Zambezi Queen

The Zambezi Queen offers luxurious two- and three-night cruises along the game-rich Chobe River, including game viewing by small boat and 4WD as well as catch-and-release fishing.


96% (9 reviews)
Ngoma Safari Lodge

Ngoma Safari Lodge

With sweeping views across the floodplains of the Chobe River, Ngoma offers superb food and flexible safari activities.


100% (6 reviews)
Chobe Chilwero

Chobe Chilwero

On the periphery of Chobe National Park, Chobe Chilwero offers luxurious surroundings and excellent food, which complement superb game viewing on game drives and boat trips.


100% (2 reviews)
Elephant Valley Lodge

Elephant Valley Lodge

Elephant Valley Lodge is a lovely camp in a beautiful setting – sit in its hide and watch the wildlife come to drink at the waterhole. Activities focus on boating and drives in Chobe which - although very busy, and a long drive from the lodge – is very rich in wildlife.


80% (1 review)
Savute Elephant Lodge

Savute Elephant Lodge

Savute Elephant Lodge is a luxurious camp on the banks of the now flowing Savuti Channel. This is a classic big-game area, although its location within Chobe National Park does limit the activities which are possible here.


100% (1 review)
Camp Kuzuma

Camp Kuzuma

Camp Kuzuma sits in the Kazuma Forest Reserve and is an excellent place to see elephant in particular. Away from the busier riverfront area of Chobe National Park this camp offers a luxurious base form which to explore this less visited region of northern Botswana.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa