This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Camp Kipwe
Camp Kipwe
Camp Kipwe
Camp Kipwe
Camp Kipwe
Camp Kipwe
Camp Kipwe
Camp Kipwe

Reviews of Camp Kipwe

Wildlife sightings and reviews

101 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Camp Kipwe and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 12 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Camp Kipwe.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

67% success

Oryx

60% success

Giraffe

33% success

Zebra

30% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 51-60 of 101
Duration
Arrival date
C+M
Zürich

"Camp Kipwe review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Feb 2015
"Impressing Camp with the rocks. Nice view.
Helpful staff by changing the tyre.
Great Safari to the desert elephants" See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs P
Maidstone

"Camp Kipwe review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Sep 2014
"We drove from Swakopmund and stopped at Uis. We found it concerning that the only garage there had no petrol and indeed were not expecting a delivery for 2 days. Fortunately we had enough for our journey, had just wanted to top-up as recommended. We found an excellent coffee shop there ?Cactus Coffee at the end of the village.

Camp Kipwe was excellent in every respect - just one small detail, a fridge in the room would be an improvement to keep water in - only place we didn't have one (sole reason why facilities rated as average).

The desert elephant trip was a highlight - not to be missed. Our guide Taffy was very knowledgeable." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
The B family
Glasgow

"Camp Kipwe review"

3 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2014
"Remarkable setting. Desert adapted elephants crossed the road in front of us 500m from the camp turn off. The rooms were remarkable but not as spectacular as the very outdoor shower and loo!

If you love lizards Kipwe is for you with multicoloured agamas strutting their stuff and geckos hanging out round the bathroom mirror. Sundowner setting great and food lovely. Worth going on guided game drive as being surrounded by the rare desert adapted elephants is a magical experience.

We spent 3 nights here and easily occupied our time with trips to ancient rock carvings and the Damara living museum." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs S
Maldon

"Wow! What a place!"

2 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2014
"We LOVED this place. The 'rooms' are so cleverly constructed and very private and comfortable. The food was of a very high standard with a choice of main.

The sundowner terrace was beautiful and the food and drink we were served made it very special. We did a morning game drive and the visit to the rock carvings in the afternoon and both were very worthwhile. Tafi the gui9de was especially knowledgeable about the animals and the area." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs C
E Sussex

"Camp Kipwe review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Jul 2014
"What a beautiful place in a great location. Excellent staff and guides with plenty for us to see and do." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr D & Ms E
Herts

"Wonderful stay at Camp Kipwe"

2 nights Arrived 25 May 2014
"Perfect stay at Camp Kipwe." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Miss S & Mr W
Cumbria

"Camp Kipwe"

1 night Arrived 28 Apr 2014
"A most unusual camp in a stunning location. A superb experience." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr D.T.R
Corby

"Camp Kipwe review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Feb 2014
"Excellent service although not booked in by. Do not know whose mistake." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs G
Haslemere

"Kipwe, an amazing Lodge amongst the boulders"

1 night Arrived 20 Oct 2013
"An amazing lodge built amongst rock boulders. It must have taken some imagination to create this!

Rooms were spacious, with loo and shower open to the stars, but our loo was only separated from the adjoining room's loo by a low wall! Fortunately we didn't use it at the same time as our neighbours! Their rock pool was really cold, though I did have a quick splash!

A very good sundowner just above the lodge with drinks brought to us by the staff. Our highlight here was an early morning tour (4 hours!) to find a herd of 10 desert elephants, including young. Very rewarding." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 6n in Mozambique; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr J & Mrs C
Kent

"Mowani's laid back sister camp"

1 night Arrived 7 Oct 2013
"Whilst not quite as jaw-dropping as Mowani, this is still a very nice camp and the whole bathroom being outside was incredible - although I must admit that I didn't really want to be visiting it during the night. Somebody probably should have given a bit more thought to the design of the rooms though because it was like sleeping in an oven - even though both air conditioning and an electric fan were provided, our room never dropped below 28C.

The camp has a more relaxed ambience than Mowani too, which we did prefer, and we rather liked the fact that some of the staff were clearly still learning as they were more prepared to chat - mainly about football with my equally enthusiastic husband. The sundowner spot was also a very nice place to enjoy a drink although quite a climb - I wouldn't like to be stuck up there in the dark as there is no lighting provided on the way down.

We didn't do any activities from this camp as we chose to visit the rock drawings at Twyfelfontein on our own." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Showing 51-60 of 101
95%
101 reviews of Camp Kipwe by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
82
16
1
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

Comfortable rooms and a convenient location make the community run Doro Nawas a great base for exploring Damaraland.


93% (434 reviews)
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


93% (129 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (111 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (110 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (108 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


92% (89 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


82% (49 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


82% (33 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (23 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in a beautiful area with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


95% (23 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


85% (20 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


84% (5 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


76% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


100% (2 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


90% (2 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (1 review)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge is a no thrills bush camp offering top-notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


No reviews yet
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa