This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas

Reviews of Doro Nawas

Wildlife sightings and reviews

432 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Doro Nawas and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 34 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Doro Nawas.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

85% success

Oryx

50% success

Giraffe

43% success

Zebra

25% success

Brown Hyena

12% success

Wildebeest

8% success

Black Rhino

4% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 181-190 of 432
Duration
Arrival date
Mr M & Mrs S
Scotland

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2014
"Being woken up by a group of four yellowbilled hornbills tapping on the window five minutes before your guide's early morning call lets you know you are somewhere special. But to see the desert adapted elephants was our primary reason for coming to this part of Damaraland and we were not disappointed.

There was a very friendly welcome from the manager {Agnes} and her assistant {Maureen} but the ambiance is perhaps less slick / more homely than in the other camps. Our room safe did not work and the information in the room about timings and activities proved to be out of date but the staff were helpful {especially Freesas who helped with the tyre replacement}." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs S
Yorkshire

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2014
"This was an excellent camp with great views. The room was very comfortable, the guide went out of his way for us to see elephants and took us on a long day trek which was great although we didn't see much he made a real effort to find some of the rarer big animals and we saw mountain zebra. Followed rhino tracks for about an hour and some lion too. The elephants were much easier to find than I expected (as they come to a village waterhole!) and we had great views of them on our own before other vehicles arrived. I believe that if the elephants are not around it would be a struggle to find a great deal to do here although the scenery is spectacular. Looking over the hills from a sundowner was fabulous.

We took ourselves to Twyelfontein on the second afternoon and enjoyed the trip around that with the local guide. It was interesting. We stopped at the petrified forest on our way north the following morning which was a pleasant and interesting stop too. Glad we did this in transit and not in the heat of the day.

This lodge was slightly disappointing in two respects. Firstly the staff (but not all) were not generally as welcoming and helpful as at most other places. We hadn't realised we were not full board before we arrived rather hot and bothered after the trip from Swapkomund, and thus there was a tricky conversation about the trips out. When we came to pay they really hadn't a clue about what we had had as extras and we could easily have got away with paying less than due. Having said that it was still a great place and would recommend it. As an aside it is an easy drive by 2x4 to the main lodge from the main road.

Secondly the food was very variable. Breakfast was excellent as was a barbecue one evening but some of the other meals were poor especially a spaghetti lunch. This was fed back there." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr G & Mrs S
NOT.

"More elephants than you can shake a stick at"

2 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2014
"What can I say about this place , It was our third visit and the more we stay the more we like !!!

Can not fault the place at all

We did the elephant tracking trip and saw a group of twenty they were very relaxed with us and came very close to our vehicle A few years back we did the same trip and the elephants were very wary of us would not allow any vehicle to get near them they must be getting used to tourists
" See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Leatherhea

"A warm welcome in a spectacular setting"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2014
"The welcome after a long dusty drive was warm and friendly. The room was very well equipped, comfortable and private - the outdoor shower was a delight.

The staff were all happy, friendly and helpful - their singing to us after dinner each evening was great fun. Food was excellent and varied. The drive to the desert elephants was wonderful and the guide helpful and very informative. The stars from the roof were brilliant.

Overall a wonderful experience." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia; 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss & Miss H
Sussex

"Doro Nawas review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2014
"Service here was excellent with everyone appearing happy. Worth the long journey from Etosha to stay here and we spent some time relaxing though very little else to do if you weren't on an organised trip. Most people were fully inclusive and were able to plan their programmes the night before.

ALL staff were willing to help in any way even to having a conversation in the 'click' language when asked. Food here for veggie's was cooked specially at each meal and was delicious - sometimes more than enough! and there was also usually a good choice from the buffet.

Morning desert elephant trip was enjoyable and was interesting to see the younger ones sleeping during the heat of the day. We booked an extra trip to the rock engravings which were fascinating and well preserved. Was v hot but guide found shade in a few places." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr G B & Ms F S
UK

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Aug 2014
"A place that we loved so much that we decided to just stay at the lodge all day.

Stunning location and interior, very welcoming, friendly, relaxed staff, great food." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr M & Ms B
Brussels

"Focus on frills at the expense of basics"

2 nights Arrived 20 Aug 2014
"Our experience of Doro Nawas was a 'mixed bag'. Ultimately, we would cut this stop from our itinerary if planning another holiday to Namibia. The location, while very beautiful, felt uncomfortably isolated. The drive there on very bad gravel roads was unpleasant.

The main lodge was beautifully designed and offered spectacular panoramic views, however the gravel pathways between the chalets and the main lodge were badly lit at night and could have been tended to better, given that luggage had to be hauled over them.

The guest chalets were spacious and clean but they felt less cosy than Sossus Dune Lodge as they were quite dark, both in terms of lighting and decor. The lack of tea-making facilities in the room was disappointing. There was also no Wi-Fi access.

The staff and guides were friendly. We did feel however that too much emphasis was placed on entertaining guests at the expense of meeting some basics needs. For example, staff tended to clear plates before guests were finished with their meals, and arrangements for lunch were not clarified by the guide/manager as the morning game drive concluded, despite lunch being included in the price of the drive.

We were happy to move on from Doro Nawas.

" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr C B & family
UK

"Beautiful lodge,stunning location Doro Nawas"

2 nights Arrived 19 Aug 2014
"Stunning location with lodge at top of hill. Beautifully furnished, it looked its best in the evening with the fires and candles lit.
Really enjoyed the meals, the service was so friendly and the food delicious.
Views from the dining room were gorgeous.
Amazing, huge rooms.
Younger son got bitten by a scorpion ( in his bed!) on day2. Response very good: immediately they called a 24 hour helpline and I talked to a doctor in South Africa. Guides and manager descended on us to identify the culprit. Luckily it was not venomous, just a sore arm for a few days.
Doro Nawas was very close to Palmweg where we were taken to from Etendeka. We got there at 10.30 in the morning, and spent the afternoon doing the local sites. That meant we didn't have anything left to do on the second day so we had a day sitting around. Very restful. If anyone is pushed for time, you could just do 1 night at Doro Nawas if coming from Etendeka. But you would miss out on a treat:" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs J
Yorkshire

"Doro Nawas review"

1 night Arrived 18 Aug 2014
"Red carpet welcome by very cheerful staff. Beautiful lodge with lovely views over the plains.

Magnificent rooms with stunning views, lovely outdoor showers. Meals were excellent and vegetarians well catered for. The staff were enthusiastic and the atmosphere was great, could have stayed longer.

Yet another place not to be missed" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
W. Sussex

"Must learn !Click language"

2 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2014
"Fabulous accommodation, view and scenery. Lovely people who would do anything to help, especially if you tried to engage with !Click language! Desert Elephant trip also brilliant.

Don't miss this Lodge is our opinion, if it's cold they'll put hot water bottles in your bed. This touch certainly appealed to my wife so 10 out of 10 was always going to be their score from us!" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Showing 181-190 of 432
93%
432 reviews of Doro Nawas by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
311
96
20
4
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


93% (126 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (111 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (110 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (108 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With comfortable rooms, open-air bathrooms, good food and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe offers a variety of nature and cultural excursions.


95% (101 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


92% (88 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


82% (49 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


81% (32 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (23 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in a beautiful area with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


95% (22 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


85% (20 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


84% (5 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


76% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


90% (2 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (1 review)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


100% (1 review)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa