This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas

Reviews of Doro Nawas

Wildlife sightings and reviews

432 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Doro Nawas and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 34 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Doro Nawas.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

85% success

Oryx

50% success

Giraffe

43% success

Zebra

25% success

Brown Hyena

12% success

Wildebeest

8% success

Black Rhino

4% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 191-200 of 432
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs W
Herts

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Aug 2014
"Good welcome with cold drinks and towels.
Friendly, helpful staff.

Dramatic setting and a chalet with stunning views across the hills.
Very comfy room with a great verandha to enjoy the scenery with a drink.


Bit odd; tea bags and coffee sachets in room but no kettle or hot water.

Evening meals good.

Would have liked a guided walk but a large American tourist group had booked all guides. We were warned though to book in advance to guarantee an activity. Walked alone which was fine as camp visible for miles for orientation." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr A & Dr H
Berks

"Doro Nawas review"

1 night Arrived 2 Aug 2014
"This camp was really only a stopover, we arrived after dark and left immediately after breakfast, so we weren't able to enjoy everything it offered. The staff were very helpful at all times, even spotting a flat tyre and changing it for us before we left. They presented us with a gift to celbrate our wedding anniversary which was unexpected, given the brevity of our stay.

Being a Wilderness camp it suffered from the same stilted introduction to dinner that we found in Kulala. Whilst this may be attractive to some people, we felt that it made the staff look uncomfortable and the delivery felt forced, masking the naturally welcoming manner of the local people. They also served frozen cheesecake - dessert doesn't appear to be a strength of Wildernass camps." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Dr J & Ms G
UK

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jul 2014
"We loved this place – the staff were wonderful and we felt really rested. Some daft English people on the next table at dinner were quietly moaning that it wasn’t luxurious enough... it was the loveliest place at which I have ever stayed. The location and views are stunning and the rooms amazing.

The staff were a little unclear when it came to settling the bill and we had to tell them what we had had – we realized after leaving that neither they nor we remembered the laundry bill. Not a big problem, I suppose, but we did feel a bit guilty." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr
USA

"very friendly stay"

2 nights Arrived 22 Jul 2014
"Hospitality was excellent at Doro Narwas.

The guides were friendly and wanted you to enjoy your stay. The lodge itself and the rooms were excellent; comfortable and unique. They have older vehicles and one broke down on our safari but the staff had led the issue extremely well and no harm was done and the short walk to a village was fun.

Food was good but not spectacular. Staff a genuine gem" See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Family H
Bedfordshire

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Jul 2014
"A very arresting main building- like a citadel. The staff were warm and friendly and helpful. Accommodation was lovely, with lots of dark wood and fantastic views.

We liked the sensitive tourism here and such things as collecting the shower water, while it heats to your required temperature, in a bucket, for using the next day to clean the room.

Food was very good and one night we were entertained by the staff singing and dancing ( not at all cringeworthy ).

A great place to see lots of things nearby - elephants, rock drawings, the petrified forest and organ pipes.

The fire pit in the evening was a great place to sit around and look at the stars." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr R & Mrs E
Bucks

"Doro Nawas review"

1 night Arrived 11 Jun 2014
"Another beautiful camp location with very friendly staff. We would have liked more time here too.

Only a minor niggle - the terrace breakfast bar was plagued with small birds - on tables and on the food itself. Staff did make some effort to shoo them away but it was not very hygienic." See all these reviews: 26n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs V
Coleraine

"Uninspiring architecture!!"

2 nights Arrived 10 Jun 2014
"The initial impression on arrival was of a dark and unwelcoming building. The chalet decor was dark and gloomy and floors were so polished that it was quite slippery.

It would be a good idea to inform future visitors that the Doro Nawas camp is at the end of D2612, almost an hour's drive from the first (locked) camp with a sign 'Doro Nawas Camp.'

We found the staff very anxious to get everything right for the guests." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs O
Chester

"Long (bad) road to Doro Nawas"

2 nights Arrived 26 May 2014
"Staff seemed less professional than at other lodges and less wlcoming/enthusiatic.

However they were most helpful in repairing a puncture." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Ms B & Mr L
Australia

"Doro Nawas in damaraland"

2 nights Arrived 19 May 2014
"This is a lovely place to stay. Originally I was not keen on stopping in damaraland, but we really enjoyed it. The scenery is spectacular.

Our accommodation was really unique. Most things in the room are made of polished concrete, including the bed head. It had a lovely terrace with great views, and although wee didn't the option to roll the beds out there to sleep. There is also an outside as well as an inside shower. The staff who are from the local area are lovely and are very helpful.

The food was nice and the setting for dinner both evenings was fantastic, once inside with extensive views and once outside around an open fire, with views of the stars. We did the trip to see the desert adapted elephants which was great, a close up encounter! Information gained from the guide proved very useful later in our trip!! One thing to note if you stay here, there is no kettle in room, so worth asking for a flask delivered if you like an early morning cup of tea, also although no one told us the house wine was included with dinner,a. Nice surprise when we settled our bill.

This was one of the nicest places we stayed on our trip through Namibia." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs W
Alaska

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Apr 2014
"Beautiful scenery. Saw the desert elephants on a very nice game drive." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 8n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa; 1n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 191-200 of 432
93%
432 reviews of Doro Nawas by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
311
96
20
4
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


93% (129 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (111 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (110 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (108 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With comfortable rooms, open-air bathrooms, good food and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe offers a variety of nature and cultural excursions.


95% (101 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


92% (89 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


82% (49 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


82% (33 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (23 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in a beautiful area with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


95% (23 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


85% (20 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


84% (5 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


76% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


100% (2 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


90% (2 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (1 review)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Camp Onduli

Camp Onduli

Camp Onduli is a no thrills bush camp offering top-notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


No reviews yet
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa