This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Etendeka Mountain Camp
Etendeka Mountain Camp
Etendeka Mountain Camp
Etendeka Mountain Camp
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Mountain Camp


19°45’42.7"S 13°57’38.9"E

Reviews of Etendeka Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

110 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Etendeka Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 5 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Etendeka Camp.
Lion

25% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Giraffe

100% success

Oryx

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Elephant

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 110
Duration
Arrival date
Cambridge 4
UK

"A dream come true"

3 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2017
"When we first started to plan our trip to Namibia, this was one place that we were determined to get to. We were not disappointed. At first glance it may appear & does have a certain simplicity, for us it was a unique experience.

Fabulous walks taken with guide Bonny, on earth liberally strewn with beautiful minerals & crystals hardly trodden by humans & vast open vistas, plus amazing night skies studied with our host Dennis. Three perfect days of tranquillity but always with plenty to do & enjoy.

Food & hosting was excellent, it's a very special place." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Paul & Nicky
Keswick

"Etendeka Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2017
"Etendeka is an absolute joy to visit; the camp is more authentic in all ways than the more modern camps. Here, you feel like you are truly in the wilderness, with more than enough luxury but not too much, and it’s run by the solid partnership of Denis and Bonny. The combination of these two absolute experts in this unique setting makes this a very special place indeed. If you just want lazy luxury, with people running around after your every need, then this is not the place for you. However, if you want an authentic African experience, then this is impossible to beat.

The guiding by Bonny, and especially his walks, were a pleasure. The food, often just simple but flavoursome Bush cooking, was outstanding. Denis was a pleasure to meet; an intelligent, quietly spoken man with a prolific knowledge of the area, including the beautiful starlit skies.

An unforgettably marvellous experience. Do not stay less than 2 days to enjoy this place at its best." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs K
New Forest

"We loved it!"

2 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2017
"Such a good experience in a wonderful isolated setting.

Great hospitality from Dennis and great guiding from Bonny.

Going on a long walk after all the driving - and learning so much along the way - was just what we needed." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Family H & L
Berks

"windy!"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jul 2017
"Shana was there - not the owner and sent her best wishes to Marusha and congrats on your new addition. She rates Expert Africa very highly - said "you run a tight ship".

It was fun - and an experience.

The walk was boring - and early - but all entertained by the guide spitting oryx poo.

The drive in the evening was great and the sundowners.......made it great. Saw lots of animals, guide was engaged and informative.

Place was extremely windy - which made the bucket shower horrendous! Food nice, people very friendly..." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Vivonholiday
UK

"Etendeka Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Jul 2017
"This was a change from usual accommodation/ - much more basic in every way but this felt appropriate to the location and we thoroughly enjoyed it

The personal attentiveness of host Dennis could not be faulted - his experiences and knowledge were fascinating and the astronomy lesson an unexpected bonus.

Personally I feel inspired to take up night classes now / I will never forget viewing Saturn and mars through his high powered telescope." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr AB
SW London

"One of our best camps"

2 nights Arrived 30 May 2017
"Etendeka was for us a "must do" (again) experience. It is set in the extraordinary Etendeka conservancy, which is itself a triumph of Namibian trendsetting, combining the interests of the Damaraland local community with those of tourism, often a difficult marriage. Etendeka is intimately connected with its inspirational proprietor, Dennis Liebenberg, who helped successfully pioneer this joint approach more than 20 years ago. But Bonnie is an equally inspirational co-host and guide.

We spent 2 nights there which is probably about right although a third night would not have been a hardship posting. Activities include both game drives (including the arrival and departure as the roads are not accessible to "ordinary" vehicles so one is collected from Palmvag Lodge, itself an atmospheric and historic camp) and guided walks, with Bonnie during our stay. We did see game, kudu, giraffe, etc. but the landscape is the main reason to visit.

Food was homespun but delicious, the camp fire attractive, and Dennis's star-gazing talk very informative.. Tents are relatively simple but very comfortable, complete with outside showers, and uninterrupted views of the mountains.

We couldn't recommend Etendeka more highly, bags of character, real intensity and commitment." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs B
Gabriola Island

"A great experience"

3 nights Arrived 8 Apr 2017
"The pick up went smoothly altho delayed by the lateness of other people arriving.

The tents worked well, our guide Bonny was great, we learned a lot on the activities we went on." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
K & J, J & R
UK

"Pristine wilderness, great guiding, fun camp"

3 nights Arrived 28 Feb 2017
"This was a really outstanding visit despite getting maybe 20% of the annual rainfall in the two days we were there, with associated cloud etc. One evening drive was a washout.

Tents are straightforward (but totally adequate). Loved the shower bucket. Food was very good (but straightforward). Denis is a splendid host, and we much enjoyed his company.

Our guide (Boaz) was both modest and first class. We clocked up 23 different birds and 11 different mammals. Day one is on foot and day two we went up the escarpment, which is an interesting contrast.

The setting is extreme. Pristine and starkly very beautiful. The camp area is as clean as a whistle: every item of rubbish is driven out, so there's no scavengers.

Game viewing, because there are no fences and the game is wholly wild, is all long range, but because of that in setting. There are rhinos but very few are left and one wonders for how long. We didn't see any, or elephant either, but there was so much water around they had all Namibia to wander around in. We heard lion and saw fresh evidence of leopard.

I would like to go back when the weather is better.

Allow some time to enjoy Palmwag before setting off up to Etendeka. It's a contrast!" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr J
BIggar

"Most interesting"

3 nights Arrived 28 Feb 2017
"Interesting to learn about the place from Dennis.

We liked the fact that it was totally wild - in contrast to Ongave, Mundulea and Okonjima which were all fenced in and most of the animals had originally been purchased.

It would have been helpful to have seen a map of the area showing the boundaries, mountains etc" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Miss A
Okehampton

"Etendenka adventure"

3 nights Arrived 13 Feb 2017
"We had a very interesting time- starting with a thunderstorm that flooded the lodge! It was all hands to get the furniture off the floor- most of it ended up on the bar. Everyone was thrilled by the rain after years of drought, and the 'instant' waterfall on the river behind the camp provided quite a spectacle. We liked the simplicity of the camp, providing a nice contrast to the luxury of Hoanib. We had two great walks - especially the extraordinary 'crystal' walk up on the plateau with the excellent guide,Bobby, which I gather not everyone is allowed to do!?
(WHY?) A real paradise for geologists... something to look at with every step!

The evening drives were a tad long- a bit repetitive.

Dennis a very interesting person- we enjoyed talking to him. Relief manager, Shireen, was very competent and paid a lot of attention to visitors requirements with some very thoughtful touches.. such as a beautifully illustrated recipe for Elias's excellent goulash, which we requested! The chef, Elias, obviously a treasure, provided impressive dinners every night complete with irresistible puddings.

We loved it, but perhaps two days would have been preferable..." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 11-20 of 110
96%
110 reviews of Etendeka Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
91
17
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

Comfortable rooms and a convenient location make the community run Doro Nawas a great base for exploring Damaraland.


93% (434 reviews)
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


93% (129 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (111 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (108 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With comfortable rooms, open-air bathrooms, good food and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe offers a variety of nature and cultural excursions.


95% (101 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


92% (89 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


82% (49 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


82% (33 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (23 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in a beautiful area with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


95% (23 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


85% (20 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


84% (5 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


76% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


100% (2 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


90% (2 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (1 review)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge is a no thrills bush camp offering top-notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


No reviews yet
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa