This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Etendeka Mountain Camp
Etendeka Mountain Camp
Etendeka Mountain Camp
Etendeka Mountain Camp
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Mountain Camp


19°45’42.7"S 13°57’38.9"E

Reviews of Etendeka Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

110 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Etendeka Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 5 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Etendeka Camp.
Lion

25% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Giraffe

100% success

Oryx

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Elephant

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 110
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs M
Egham

"Personal service at Etendeka"

2 nights Arrived 16 Nov 2016
"We felt very looked after here, Dennis is a very attentive and a more than helpful host who makes you feel like one big family round the dining table in the evening. Very relaxed, but very well run.

The food is very good and included roast dinners, apple crumbles and lots of vegetables. The tents are very comfortable and it was nice to have a quick swim at the end of the day. The guides on walking activities and also the game drives are brilliant. They are so knowledgable and really wanted to impart what they knew as well as having eyes like a hawk to spot wildlife from miles away!

Some great drives around the conservancy, plus you get to have a game drive on the way up from and then back to your car.

Liked this place very much." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr R.
Malmesbury

"Etendeka Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Oct 2016
"Our absolute favourite place - we loved everything about this camp - from the guides, the food, the communal eating, the tents, the outside bucket showers, the walk up the hill behind for sundowners.

Dennis (the host) has been doing this for 25 years, but he is a fantastic host and makes the experience fresh for everyone. He was especially good with our children aged 12 and 10. We all particularly loved the star gazing session. The guides are excellent and knowledgable too.

There is a surprisingly large amount of game too! They have got Afrikat to tag a male lion and when we were there we saw him with 2 females and 4 (of 7) cubs. We also saw desert elephants." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Bruce
Harrogate

"Etendeka Experience"

2 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2016
"Amazing place and really remote. Saw lots of game in spite of the rugged scenery including a very close encounter with lions!

Dennis our host was gracious and laid back, and Bonny and the other guides (Bonny and Boas) made this one of our star place to stay for us.

Communal dining, great food meant we made several good friends there. Super, albeit understandably small swiming pool too.

Daytime bush walk was not really much of a walk and perhaps could be shorter or faster and further! Game drives remarkable.

We would warmly recommend to anyone." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms R & Mr M
York

"Etendeka Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Aug 2016
"This was another very successful stay, in this beautifully located lodge; we enjoyed the early morning walk and the afternoon's scenic drive, and appreciated our guide's knowledge of plants and trees as well as of the wildlife.

The communal meals and generously offered drinks were all much appreciated and we benefited too from our hosts' conversation and knowledge of the area." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Ms C
London

"Etendeka Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Jul 2016
"The drive to Etendeka was a game drive in itself which was lovely.

After Damaraland, it was a lot less friendly and a bit rustic and although the latter had its charm, we quickly realised we preferred a bit more comfort!

Some of the activities were affected by those who we were placed with- and while this is not the fault of the camp who have no control over the manner and behaviour of guests, unfortunately it does affect our judgement. We could not wait to leave largely to get away from one particular family with whom we had had to share all our activities. As a couple rather than a family we always tended to get placed where there was space. Generally this was not a problem at all, far from it, and we met some great people, but on this occasion it was very tiresome.

Food was not great, and certainly the vegetarian options were very limited.

The star gazing was an added bonus and we enjoyed the walk very much.

On reflection, we felt that we should not have gone to both Damaraland and Etendeka as there were considerable similarities in what we saw/did and we would have preferred to have had more time in the area closer to Damaraland or been able to see more of Twyfelfontein or the Skeleton Coast." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr J & son
UK

"Great safari at Etendeka with Dennis & Bonnie"

3 nights Arrived 11 Jun 2016
"Etendeka is a very special place - it is set in a remote, semi-desert, mountainous area. Dennis, the host and Bonnie, the main guide were the most knowledgeable (about wildlife and Namibian conservation) people we met on our trip.

Unlike other safari camps, where early morning and late afternoon drives seem to be the norm, here there is a 3-4 hour morning walk. You see less ‘big’ game but a lot more of the smaller, more intimate stuff - birds, vegetation, tracks etc. and there is much more time for explanations and discussion. Our 2nd morning walk with Bonnie was one of the highlights of our whole trip - the high plateau, ‘crystal’ walk with views you can only dream of. Here we saw the elusive klipspringer.

We saw less here on afternoon drives than elsewhere and none of the ‘big 5’ (although a lion was outside a fellow traveller’s tent during the night and there was evidence of rhino droppings) but we did see something Dennis said he had only seen 3 times in 25 years - a desert adapted tortoise.

The food was the best of anywhere, again we loved the communal dining and Dennis was a great host with his explanations, stories and night sky telescope (I’d never seen Saturn’s rings or the detail of the moon before).

To explain the two only ‘good’ ratings below:

Rooms: we loved the simple tents and bucket shower but it would be misleading to give them an excellent rating.
Facilities: this is a simpler, less luxurious camp than some others (but we liked it for that). If I had to force myself to gripe it would be that the small pool was covered over. I had a fleeting fancy to sit with my feet in it one hot early afternoon. I’m sure Dennis or Bonnie would have uncovered it if I had asked but they weren’t around and I was too lazy to pursue it." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ms M & Mr N
New York

"A unique and memorable stop"

2 nights Arrived 13 Apr 2016
"We thoroughly enjoyed Etendeka and its unique style. It was just wonderful to be so isolated amidst such beautiful surroundings.

The tents were terrific and Dennis and Bonny were extremely attentive to our needs and comfort -- this was especially so while my husband was suffering pretty severe consequences during the first day from something he had eaten (elsewhere!). He quickly recuperated and was able to fully enjoy the rest of the stay. As stated the accommodations and meals are simple in one sense but they are also high quality. Food was delicious and the communal ambience - and evening conversations - were lovely. Great walks and rides in the surrounding areas.

it was quit impressive to see what it's taken to both preserve this land and to address the practical needs of making it livable and sustainable." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr PC
SE London

"Etendeka Camp"

2 nights Arrived 23 Feb 2016
"This was the most remote location we stayed in. We were picked up at Palmwag Lodge by the guide Bonnie in a 4WD for what turned out to be an 18km game drive to the camp.This is a tented lodge with bucket showers but the tents are very well appointed,

It is all-inclusive with food served buffet-style and was good. The owner who opened the camp over 25 years ago was around at meal times but did not conduct any guiding when we were there. However he was very informative about the area and with his telescope showed us the fabulous night sky.

We had two fine game and nature drives with Bonnie who was a font of knowledge re flora and fauns." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Phil
London

"A definate must."

2 nights Arrived 19 Feb 2016
"Worth 2 nights under canvas - very civilised.

Great experience to walk with a knowledgeable guide." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs V
UK

"Etendeka"

2 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2015
"The two of us have mixed views. I loved it, my wife was a little less enthusiastic.

Location out of this world. Superb.

Chef needs changing - or 'drying out'

All seems a little haphazard" See all these reviews: 27n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Good
Showing 21-30 of 110
96%
110 reviews of Etendeka Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
91
17
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

Comfortable rooms and a convenient location make the community run Doro Nawas a great base for exploring Damaraland.


93% (434 reviews)
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


93% (127 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (111 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (108 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With comfortable rooms, open-air bathrooms, good food and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe offers a variety of nature and cultural excursions.


95% (101 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


92% (89 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


82% (49 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


81% (32 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (23 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in a beautiful area with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


95% (22 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


85% (20 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


84% (5 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


76% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


90% (2 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (1 review)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


100% (1 review)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa