This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp

Reviews of Mowani Mountain Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

129 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mowani Mountain Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 15 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mowani Mountain Camp.
Lion

9% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

73% success

Giraffe

50% success

Oryx

50% success

Zebra

18% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 41-50 of 129
Duration
Arrival date
Mr DN
NW London

"Most amazing place we stayed at in Namibia!"

2 nights Arrived 22 Feb 2016
"Mowani was the most amazing lodge we stayed at in Namibia (also one of the more expensive ones). We stayed in the honeymoon suite as all the rest was fully booked (and we were on our honeymoon, so thought we'd spoil ourselves). The view is just incredible, it's like being on a different planet with boulders dotted around and monkeys playing with each other in the background.

The suite had it's own terrace as well as an indoor and outdoor shower as well as an outdoor bathtub (yes, insane!). Most insane view I've ever experienced during a shower! :)

The staff were lovely, memorizing our names before we even arrived, always ready to help.

The view from the sundowner lounge overlooking the sunset was incredible, and really set the scene for the evening.

The food was amazing, a proper creative kitchen - and the service was one of the best we experienced in Namibia (where it's sometimes a little slower and less detail-oriented as one might be used to). There is no wifi in the whole lodge, which is so nice for once! You can really tune out of the business of this world and just relax!

We forgot a scarf in the room and called them up from the next place we stayed at. They went out of their way to get it back to us in the hotel we stayed at the end in Windhoek - that is just amazing." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Piotr & Glen
London

"Wonderful location and a great concept"

1 night Arrived 27 Nov 2015
"When we arrived at Mowani we felt like just relaxing, which is exactly what we did - reading books by the swimming pool, then on our private veranda with a gift of a sparkling rosé wine from the staff to recognise it was our honeymoon.

The sundowner - the location - is brilliant and the dinner that followed very good, with excellent service from Gerard. After dinner we had some drinks around the fire, and the manager spent a good amount of time speaking with us, which was a really nice touch." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr P & co
UK

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

1 night Arrived 12 Nov 2015
"Fabulous location with superb rooms.

The lunch was excellent but the dinner didn't quite live up to expectations." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms K
Alberta

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 24 May 2015
"This is a lovely place, with tent-chalets built into the rocky hillside.

We really enjoyed the small water hole beside the main building which attracted birds and small animals. Also the sun-downer hill with a great view of the sunset over the nearby plain.

Our morning drive to find desert elephants was successful and we had ample opportunity to watch the herd. There was one elephant 'toddler' who was particularly fun to watch as he tried to race ahead." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr P & Mrs E
Camden

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 21 May 2015
"Wonderful place, superb in every way." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr W
Dorset

"Loveliness in the middle of nowhere!"

2 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2014
"The only downside was a very long drive on gravel roads, but the sense of wilderness made it worthwhile. Beautiful accommodation in a dramatic setting.

Food excellent, staff friendly and helpful. Fantastic trip out to see the desert elephants with an informative guide.

If you have time, the official petrified forest is worth a visit." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Horsham

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Nov 2014
"Our favourite lodge - lovely location, helpful staff, great tent, beautiful setting and a laid back welcoming vibe. We had a puncture problem and staff sourced a tyre garage that could replace on our way to next stop.

Great birthday celebrations for my husband with cake, prosecco and staff singing to him!" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Nick & Kate
London

"Lovely camp and great elephants"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2014
"Another scenic flight took us across Damaraland to Mowani, a beautiful camp in a glorious location, designed into the rocky landscape. The central area is spacious and airy, with a nice view down to a waterhole that attracted not even a single springbok during our two days. Rooms are large and comfortable, although hot water was intermittent. The beds seem to jut out into the valley, offering panoramic views.

Good mosquito precautions, but no mosquitos. Annoying flies which buzz around your eyes prevented us sitting on our terrace with its delightful views across the valley at the back of the camp. The rooms at the front looked to us to have better views, and would also benefit from the afternoon breezes. Rock dassies run around the camp, along with beautiful lizards. Management were friendly and helpful, although they didn’t plan our second day’s afternoon activity, so we had to initiate that ourselves.

There is a tiny swimming pool. More effective is the splendid rocky ledge which serves as the sundowner terrace, affording wonderful valley views as the sun goes down, accompanied by your favourite cocktail served by obliging and friendly staff. Service was horribly slow, particularly at breakfast, where I failed to get my hot order in time to make the morning activity, even though I arrived the moment the restaurant opened.

The activities are good. The highlight of course is the morning drive to find the desert elephants. We had a herd of 14 in the dry river bed, just half an hour from camp, and the interaction with the 3 vehicles present was fabulous – I could have reached out and touched two elephants as they ambled by our jeep. The trip to the rock engravings at Tywfelfontein is intriguing and very interesting, and makes a nice diversion from game drives. The park has very little wildlife apart from the elephants, although an afternoon birding drive yielded three different types of hornbill." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Devin & Willow
USA

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2014
"The Mowani is just amazing. The cabins are beautiful, private, and peaceful; with stunning views. The food was first class and the "sundowner" evenings (drinks, appetizers, and chairs on a gigantic granite boulder) watching the sunsets was too much fun.

Our guide (Atan) was friendly and knowledgeable and we really enjoyed the excursions to observe desert elephants and see the petroglyphs." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr K & Mrs N
UK

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Jul 2014
"Stunning location amongst the granite boulders of Damaraland. First class service from start to finish - rooms are great, the pool is wonderful, the food very impressive. Don't miss the bar on top of the boulders for sunset or the morning nature game drive (we were lucky enough to see three herds of the desert elephants on our one morning drive).

The birds around the camp are also amazing - we found it hard to pull ourselves away from the birds at the bird pool. Staff great, wonderful place." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 41-50 of 129
93%
129 reviews of Mowani Mountain Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
100
22
2
4
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

Comfortable rooms and a convenient location make the community run Doro Nawas a great base for exploring Damaraland.


93% (434 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (112 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (110 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (108 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With comfortable rooms, open-air bathrooms, good food and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe offers a variety of nature and cultural excursions.


95% (101 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


92% (89 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


82% (49 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


82% (33 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (23 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in a beautiful area with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


95% (23 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


85% (20 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


84% (5 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


76% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


100% (2 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


90% (2 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (1 review)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge is a no thrills bush camp offering top-notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


No reviews yet
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa