This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
BullsPort Lodge & Farm
BullsPort Lodge & Farm
BullsPort Lodge & Farm
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm


24°8’56.3"S 16°21’48.3"E

Reviews of BullsPort Lodge & Farm

Wildlife sightings and reviews

175 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited BullsPort Lodge & Farm and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 15 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at BullsPort Lodge & Farm.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Zebra

67% success

Oryx

15% success

Meerkat

8% success

Brown Hyena

7% success

Aardvark

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 161-170 of 175
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs P
Crowthorne

"Bullsport Guest Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Oct 2008
"Bullsport was ideal as a first stop as we drove straight from the airport. After a tiring journey It would have been nice to be greeted with a cold drink whilst listening to the arrival information (it was not the owners who met us on arrival).

We very much enjoyed being able to do some walking on our own. We feel that maybe the owners should consider charging a little more in order to pamper their guests (tea and coffee during the day and higher quality toiletries...) We were rested when we left and felt ready to discover Namibia." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs R
Lincs

"Bullsport Guest Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Oct 2008
"Another nice welcome. Friendly personal service. Especially enjoyed "communal" dining with hosts and other guests. Enjoyed some of the many hiking trails." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr P & Mrs E
E Sussex

"Bullsport Guest Farm review"

1 night Arrived 18 Oct 2008
"a thoroughly enjoyable location, and very good value for money" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs & Mr S
Yorkshire

"Friendly Bullsport"

3 nights Arrived 12 Aug 2008
"We very much enjoyed our three nights here. Although the rooms are basic, they are clean and functional. The cost to stay here is also less that other lodges to reflect this. Ernst and Joanna are excellent hosts. We enjoyed their humour and warmth. This is an excellent location if you enjoy walking or horse riding, which is why we chose to stay for three nights. Ernst and Joanna will readily offer useful and informative advice on the area. The quiver trail is to be highly recommended as a good way to see the mountains, zebra and for an enjoyable walk.

The food is excellent and plentiful. Although it is a set menu, Joanna will do her best to accommodate something different. Sitting with other guests as well as our hosts at brekfast and for the evening meal allowed everyone to socialise and discuss their plans. We met some very interesting people and for us this meal time arrangement was a real strength of Bullsport." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs P
Glass

"Bullsport Guest Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2008
"Though accomodation simple , it suited the place. Enjoyable and well organised walking tour of Quiver tree gorge and interesting drive round farm with Ernst..

Very good introduction to country.

Friendly family and interesting guests...

Rate the experience as Very Good.

" See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Suricate family
Hale

"Bullsport Guest Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Jul 2008
"About the right distance to drive after an o/night flight, Bullsport is in many ways the ideal first stop-over in Namibia. The welcome from Johanna and Ernst is warm and friendly; the food probably the best we encountered; the opportunity to discuss Namibian history, farming and conservation, education, politics, etc., etc. with the family over and after dinner both a privilege and a sound briefing for the rest of the trip.

The game/farm drives with Ernst were interesting and instructive and the hike down Quivertree well worth while - even if a bit demanding for septuagenarians! Bullsport is also ideally situated for the Naucluft and we were able to sample Waterkloof en route to Kulala.

Accommodation was, as outlined, fairly basic but would, in normal circumstances, have been perfectly adequate. At minus 4 degrees, even with a butane heater going full blast we were not comfortable - and there was no heat at all in the bathrooms. Hot water bottles, which we met elsewhere, would have been some help! Likewise, temperature accentuated by a significant wind chill factor, the edge was very much taken off the latter stages of the afternoon and early stages of the morning drives.

We comment later on pre-tour kit advice, but inadequacy of cabins to cope with conditions which we were told were not abnormal pulls down our overall rating" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Mr D
Sword

"Great self-guided walks at Bullsport"

2 nights Arrived 6 May 2008
"This is a family-run, German-speaking guest farm. Most of the other guests here were German. However, you still manage with English no problem.

Our room was simply furnished but clean. The food was good, with a convivial atmosphere in the evenings (you eat with the family). They have a huge area of land that includes part of the Namib Naukluft mountain range. What we appreciated most here was the walking trails, the family have gone to the trouble of making and mapping a variety of walking trails, all setting out from the guest farm. They also provide descriptions of these routes in various languages, including French. As keen walkers we were quite impressed. However, we found the markings on the trails were not always easy to follow so a little experience and good sense of direction is advisable, especially on the longer trails!

Needless to say, always make sure you're well back before dark. We visited the local caves on one of our walks and were convinced we found a couple of stone spearheads! We did the Quivertree gorge walk at this farm and it was truly spectacular. We saw Klipspringer, Rock Dassies and Baboons here, as well as of course the famous Quiver Trees. The whole gorge was just bursting with life and since this gorge is on the farm's property, we were the only people for miles around. What an experience!" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Larks
Appley Bridge

"Bullsport Guest Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 4 May 2008
"A very convenient stopover en route to the dunes.

Good for organised self-guided walks.

Lovely swimming pool, and very friendly welcome." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Ms Rockjumper
UK

"Bullsport - insight into lives and wildlife"

2 nights Arrived 10 Feb 2008
"We had a long drive to get to Bullsport but when we arrived we were treated to a great welcome. Our room was large, comfortable and decorated with interesting local items. The owners, Johanna and Ernst, were fantastic company.

Meals were taken with Johanna and Ernst and the other guests. The atmosphere was relaxed and relaxing. The food was fine - homely and filling (though canned fruit was disappointing). The most interesting aspect was that we had the opportunity to talk at length with the owners about their Guest Farm (in the family for several generations), and the country generally.

As to activities, we went on a drive with the owners and also on the Quiver Tree Gorge walk, both of which were interesting. Overall our few days there were an excellent way to begin our trip.

One small point - it would be nice to have the ability to make tea/coffee for ourselves at any time, either in our room or in the main house. (I know there were issues about electricity in the rooms so perhaps just a kettle and tea/coffee in the lounge would do the trick.)
" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs C
Essex

"Wonderful"

1 night Arrived 27 Sep 2007
"We would have liked to have stayed longer and gone on the horses for a day trecking" See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 161-170 of 175
89%
175 reviews of BullsPort Lodge & Farm by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
97
67
9
0
2
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge offers comfortable rooms with fantastic views of the Namib and a private gate to the Namib-Naukluft Park - a bonus on guided excursions.


92% (328 reviews)
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge offers a high standard of accommodation, delicious food and excellent service in a stunning, peaceful setting just 22km from Sesriem.


97% (153 reviews)
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

One of only two properties inside the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossus Dune Lodge has a superb location, for visiting the dunes.


89% (138 reviews)
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

With great-value accommodation in a lovely setting, Desert Homestead is a great base for exploring Sossusvlei.


91% (98 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

A high-end lodge with spectacular views, Little Kulala, makes a great base for visits to Sossusvlei or a balloon ride over the Desert.


98% (62 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (41 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


93% (37 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a very convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Desert Homestead Outpost

Desert H-stead Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Desert Homestead Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (19 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (14 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


100% (5 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


100% (1 review)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


No reviews yet
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa