This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse


22°40’55.9"S 14°31’38.4"E

Reviews of Cornerstone Guesthouse

Wildlife sightings and reviews

224 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Cornerstone Guesthouse and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 161-170 of 224
Duration
Arrival date
Miss T & Mr H
UK

"Perfectely run b and b"

2 nights Arrived 16 Dec 2012
"Lovely large rooms, beautifully presented.

Extremely helpful staff, wonderful breakfast and a great location to walk into town or be picked up on the local tours.

Perfect." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Hants

"Pleasant stay at Cornerstone Guesthouse"

2 nights Arrived 21 Nov 2012
"After a long drive (note the Sesriem to Swakopmund journey is the one that seems to catch everyone out in terms of length and desolation but still very memorable) the guesthouse was conveniently located and very easy to find with secure parking. Room was comfortable, clean and quiet and guests are provided with a mobile phone to contact the owners in case of any problems after reception has closed. Owners also very happy to recommend and reserve restaurants - we ate at The Tug and The Jetty (which is new and does not yet appear in the guidebook or restaurant list) - both were excellent and good value. The Jetty has glass floor panels, enabling you to sit above the waves while eating.

The Guesthouse is very well situated for exploring Swakopmund on foot and whilst it could not compete with the lodges and camps for the 'wow' factor, made for a very enjoyable change of scene. Wide breakfast choice with option of hot breakfast cooked to order." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Family trip
UK

"Centrally placed guesthouse"

2 nights Arrived 6 Nov 2012
"With rooms set in a really lovely garden, Cornerstone Guesthouse is a very comfortable & convenient place to stay in Swakopmund." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Staffs

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Nov 2012
"We arrived a day early due to cancelled balloon ride in Hoodia desert. Cornerstone had no availability for that night so we stayed opposite it at the Organic Square Guest House. This was a beautiful place with a delicious healthy breakfast. Heidi was exceedingly friendly and helpful and gave us advice on various trips, and even let us keep our car there while we went out, knowing we were staying at the Cornerstone for the next 2 nights.

The Cornerstone was also very nice and we were very comfortable there. Rooms were spacious. The staff were efficient but not over friendly. Our personal preference would have been to stay the 3 nights at Organic Square." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mrs B
Hampshire

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

1 night Arrived 13 Oct 2012
"we really liked Cornerstone,the room was large and nicely furnished,and a real luxury bathroom. Specially liked the international plug.not seen that before. Cleverly designed rooms layed out in garden without rooms looking out over one another. Pretty and well tended garden.

Pleasant family members to help guests and good service from other staff" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Dr's Spear
DC

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2012
"Among the best guesthouses or B&Bs we've encountered. Incredibly clean, with a beautiful garden full of flowers; comfortable rooms, fine service, and a very good breakfast. Plus a short walk to the city center (and to Tug, probably the best restaurant in town and the best seafood we had in Namibia).

Private day tour to coast south of Swakopmund including Sandwich Harbour:

This was one of the highlights of our entire trip. The co-owner, Naude Dreyer, who drove us, is well informed and passionate amateur naturalist, so his knowledge added a lot to the marvelous landscapes we saw. Every moment of the five-plus hours was wonderful. Sandwich Harbour 4 x 4 is highly recommended for this trip.

Private scenic flight over the desert:

An 'excellent' rating because of the nature we saw, though we didn't feel that we truly had a customized flight but instead that the pilot was keen to follow a standard scenic flight. That's not to say that we didn't fly over what was listed, but that that list was generated by Scenic Flight's routine itinerary more than our submitted interests." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr C & Mrs K
UK

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2012
"Another friendly guesthouse with superb rooms. Actually the 'room' was a self contained appartment with living, bed and shower rooms plus a kitchen with full size cooker. There were plates glasses and cuttlery but no pans. We purchased a take away from the local fish restaurant (~150m) and a bottle of wine from the supermarket (~350m) and ate in on the first night.

Breakfast was good and the garden is charming. Parking is in a secure compound. There is free WiFi in the rooms.

Kukis pub opposite the supermarket gives good meals but is busy - best to book. Watch out for hawkers and 'education beggars' if you visit The Tug or the Jetty restaurants, very popular with tourists, on the sea front." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr P, Mrs A & Mr W
UK

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

1 night Arrived 23 Aug 2012
"Our room was huge - a small apartment. With full kitchen, living room. Breakfast was really excellent.

We were checked in very quickly and helped (strongly encouraged) to book dinner in town that night, and calls were made to restaurants for us to find a table. We were very thankful they had done that for us, as it was definitely necessary.

The guesthouse is in a really good spot to walk around Swakopmund, and the owners were happy for us to leave our car in the secure car park after we had checked out while we explored the town." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mrs F & family
London

"Friendly Cornerstone"

2 nights Arrived 16 Aug 2012
"Peter and the other staff were fantastic - helpful and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. We were recommended restaurants, and they booked tables for us, as well as liaising with Jeanne for the sea kayaking we'd booked.

The rooms, indeed the whole place, was immaculate. We used the laundry service and found it very efficient." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr E & Mrs T
Denmark

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Jul 2012
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Showing 161-170 of 224
95%
224 reviews of Cornerstone Guesthouse by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
169
51
4
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Swakopmund & Walvis Bay

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

Welcoming, professionally run, and mildly eccentric, Sam’s Giardino lifts the level of hospitality in Swakopmund to unusual heights.


89% (174 reviews)
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

Not your typical guesthouse, The Stiltz occupies a glorious location over the Swakop River on the edge of Swakopmund.


87% (62 reviews)
Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita is a beautifully renovated B&B in the heart of Swakopmund, with comfortable, well-appointed rooms, and friendly and attentive staff.


88% (58 reviews)
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

Right on the sea front, Beach Lodge offers good standard accommodation and its own restaurant, 15 minutes’ drive from Swakopmund.


90% (54 reviews)
Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge is a quirky little guesthouse located right on the edge of Walvis Bay Lagoon, a good spot for watching the flamingoes that frequent the area.


90% (47 reviews)
Strand Hotel

Strand Hotel

One of the larger hotels in Swakopmund, the Strand is well placed on the seafront with good access to restaurants and the centre of town.


90% (47 reviews)
Brigadoon

Brigadoon

In a quiet residential location, Brigadoon is conveniently located for the Swakopmund waterfront and amenities.


80% (21 reviews)
Swakopmund Guesthouse

Swakopmund G'house

Swakopmund Guesthouse is a family-run B&B, boasting comfortable and high-quality rooms with a maritime touch.


82% (20 reviews)
Sandfields Guesthouse

Sandfields Guesthouse

Friendly Sandfields guesthouse is a cosy and inviting place to stay just north of Swakopmund town centre, and is particularly suitable for families with children.


92% (20 reviews)
The Delight

The Delight

The Delight is a colourful modern hotel within a short walk of the Swakopmund waterfront and main attractions.


94% (17 reviews)
Hansa Hotel

Hansa Hotel

With a very central location in Swakopmund, the traditional Hansa Hotel is reliably good, though it is quite formal.


88% (16 reviews)
Secret Garden Guesthouse

Secret Garden

Secret Garden Guesthouse is well located in the centre of Swakopmund not far from the sea. With a seaside feel, it has its own small restaurant and bar.


86% (14 reviews)
Sea Breeze Guesthouse

Sea Breeze

Just north of Swakopmund, the delightful Sea Breeze Guesthouse is bright and well-looked after with welcoming and helpful owners.


83% (12 reviews)
Organic Square

Organic Square

Organic Square is a modern guesthouse across two properties in the centre of Swakopmund.


82% (11 reviews)
Desert Breeze Lodge

Desert Breeze

Not your typical Swakopmund guesthouse, Desert Breeze occupies a glorious location overlooking the Swakop River and the desert beyond.


90% (6 reviews)
Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge sits on a remote peninsula offering panoramic views of the ocean and is only accessible by 4WD or boat.


100% (4 reviews)
Intermezzo Guesthouse

Intermezzo

In a quiet residential area just north of the town centre, Intermezzo Guesthouse is a comfortable and bright place to stay while in Swakopmund.


90% (4 reviews)
Hotel Zum Kaiser

Zum Kaiser Hotel

Hotel Zum Kaiser (formerly Swakopmund Boutique Hotel) is fairly large by Swakopmund standards, but has a good location in the centre of town, near to the beach.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Guesthouse

Namib Guesthouse

The Namib Guesthouse is a small, modern B&B, set in Swakopmund's peaceful Kramersdorf area. It's just a short walk from the coast and many amenities.


70% (2 reviews)
Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse is a small, modern and comfortable B&B, overlooking Walvis Bay Lagoon.


80% (2 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa