This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Galton House
Galton House
Galton House
Galton House
Galton House

Reviews of Galton House

Wildlife sightings and reviews

147 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Galton House and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 121-130 of 147
Duration
Arrival date
The B Family
Leatherh

"Galton House review"

1 night Arrived 25 Jul 2014
"Very serviceable, perfectly comfortable and conveniently located for the City." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
The E family
Bath

"Galton House"

1 night Arrived 13 Jul 2014
"Very comfortable, we were made very welcome" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms & Miss S
Vancouver

"Lovely place to stay"

1 night Arrived 8 Jul 2014
"There just one night but found the place very nice and clean and the staff very accommodating.

Someone who drove in right after us got robbed as she got out of her car. I believe that problem was mentioned I prep notes." See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs C
E Sussex

"Galton House review"

1 night Arrived 8 Jul 2014
"The electric gate has now been fixed, I understand, and, I hope that there is now a bell or other alert system to advise management that guests have arrived.

Having said that, Galton House was very comfortable, with good food, decent white wine but rather poor red.

The staff were absolutely excellent and could not have done more to help than they did.

The room was clean, comfortable and spacious.

No problem in recommending this Guest House." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Taylor family
UK

"Galton House review"

1 night Arrived 4 Jul 2014
"We returned to Galton House at the end of our stay and the staff were as efficient and friendly as when we had arrived.

They looked after our luggage all day as we had a late flight and allowed us to get changed in the changing rooms at the pool when we were getting ready to leave. They apologised that they did not have a spare room at that time or they said we could have used that. They were very helpful and I would have no hesitation in recommending Galton House as a place to stay in Windhoek." See all these reviews: 25n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs DH
Cardiff

"Galton House review"

1 night Arrived 1 Jul 2014
"See previously. [Ed: see below! ]" See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Mr & Mrs DH
Cardiff

"Galton House review"

1 night Arrived 22 Jun 2014
"Comfortable rooms in a quiet corner of Windhoek. Good service for breakfast and we liked the fact that we were driven to and from the restaurant we visited on the final night of our stay.

When we arrived about on Sunday, we were disappointed to discover that the restaurant was closed so no food was available. It would have been helpful to have known about that in advance." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Taylor family
UK

"Galton House review"

1 night Arrived 8 Jun 2014
"This was an excellent guest house, just out from the centre of Windhoek but within easy reach.

The staff were very friendly and efficient. We arrived very early on Sunday morning and they made us tea and looked after us until our room was ready. The rooms were lovely, clean and fresh. Would not hesitate to recommend this as a base for a stay in Windhoek." See all these reviews: 25n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Family P
London

"Galton House review"

1 night Arrived 23 Mar 2014
"Reasonably comfortable, but rooms are accessed across an open area; not so good in the rain. They were helpful in setting up a town tour for us at short notice. Manager/chef Toulouse a nice and helpful man." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Ms H
Texas

"Galton House review"

1 night Arrived 24 Feb 2014
"Already done - see above [ Ed: see below! ]" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Showing 121-130 of 147
90%
147 reviews of Galton House by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
81
59
7
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Windhoek

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

In a quiet Windhoek suburb, Olive Grove is one of our favourite guesthouses: stylish, with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and excellent food.


88% (339 reviews)
Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

The Elegant Guesthouse is a friendly, comfortable establishment with a lovely, tranquil garden, and is a good choice for an overnight stay in Windhoek.


86% (124 reviews)
River Crossing

River Crossing

On a game reserve between Windhoek and the airport, River Crossing is a convenient yet relaxing place to start or end a trip.


82% (115 reviews)
Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck was one of Windhoek's best pensions just a few minutes' drive away from the city centre, however it has now closed.


86% (102 reviews)
Villa Violet

Villa Violet

Villa Violet is a friendly, owner-run guesthouse in a residential area of Windhoek, just a few minutes' drive from the city centre and numerous restaurants.


90% (99 reviews)
Hilltop Guesthouse

Hilltop Guesthouse

A long-standing favourite, the small, owner-run Hilltop Guesthouse is comfortable, smart and good value.


91% (55 reviews)
Heinitzburg Hotel

Heinitzburg Hotel

One of the oldest hotels in Windhoek, the Heinitzberg occupies a great hill-top location but can feel like a relic of a bygone era.


85% (40 reviews)
GocheGanas

GocheGanas

For somewhere to really pamper yourself, Gocheganas Lodge & Spa offers wildlife combined with extensive wellness treatments.


95% (37 reviews)
Olive Exclusive

Olive Exclusive

The Olive Exclusive is perhaps Windhoek's most luxurious boutique hotel but remains a friendly and unpretentious place to stay.


95% (33 reviews)
Etango Ranch Guest Farm

Etango Ranch G. Farm

Etango offers simple, clean, comfortable accommodation and it’s the closest accommodation to Windhoek International Airport.


88% (21 reviews)
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge

Immanuel Wild'ss Lodge

Within easy reach of Windhoek, Immanuel Wilderness Lodge is a good overnight option for those who don't wish to stay in the city.


81% (17 reviews)
Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse offers great value, relaxed accommodation in a homely atmosphere with helpful and extremely friendly staff.


89% (17 reviews)
Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Situated within the Daan Viljoen Nature reserve Sun Karros is a simple lodge with gentle game viewing and bird watching opportunities.


77% (15 reviews)
Avani Windhoek Hotel

Avani Windhoek Hotel

The Avani Windhoek Hotel and Casino lack the personal touch of Windhoeks smaller guesthouses but is well located in the heart of the city.


80% (11 reviews)
Hotel Thule

Hotel Thule

Windhoek’s Hotel Pension Thule offers stunning views across the city and a reputable in-house restaurant, within easy reach of the international airport.


91% (9 reviews)
Pension Palmquell

Pension Palmquell

Stay at the Pension Palmquell in Windhoek, whilst on holiday in Namibia.


89% (9 reviews)
Am Weinberg Boutique Hotel

Am Weinberg

In a quiet upmarket suburb of Klein Windhoek, the stylish Am Weinberg has a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and luxury facilities.


93% (3 reviews)
Omaanda

Omaanda

Omaanda offers luxury accommodation and wildlife viewing within easy reach of the international airport and Windhoek City.


100% (2 reviews)
Desert Express

Desert Express

The Desert Express runs from Windhoek to Swakopmund on set departures. Recently this schedule has been somewhat erratic.


80% (1 review)
Ti Melen Guest House

Ti Melen

Overlooking Avis Dam, Ti Melen is on the outskirts of Windhoek, yet only 10-minutes from the city's amenities.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa