This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp

Reviews of Okaukuejo Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

637 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okaukuejo Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 46 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okaukuejo Camp.
Lion

79% success

Leopard

6% success

Cheetah

11% success

Giraffe

98% success

Oryx

98% success

Elephant

98% success

Zebra

96% success

Wildebeest

91% success

Black Rhino

90% success

Spotted Hyena

51% success

Eland

42% success

White Rhino

26% success

Roan antelope

19% success

Brown Hyena

16% success

Sable antelope

15% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 331-340 of 637
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs C
Hants

"Okaukuejo better than expected"

2 nights Arrived 25 Nov 2012
"Having read some of the reviews of Okaukuejo we were not expecting this to be up to the standards of the other places we had stayed but the accommodation (Bush Chalet) had obviously been refurbished to a good standard and actually exceeded our expectations. Room was clean, comfortable and quiet and the air conditioning was the most effective and quietist we had in our entire trip. The chalet was conveniently situated for the waterhole, however going in late November we were too late to see anything other than some Zebras and small mammals there during our stay.

Food was a self service buffet - choice of two freshly cooked grilled meats plus other hot dishes and salads. Service was a little random and not always with a smile - bit of a holiday camp mass catering feel to it all.

Camp is an excellent base for exploring the park and whilst we did not see the vast concentrations of game that occur in the dry season we saw most of the parks major inhabitants during our stay. We checked out before breakfast to avoid any possible rush and although the need to have the room inventory checked grated a little, this process was actually quick and easy." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs M
Weymouth

"Okaukuejo - good game viewing - poor camp"

3 nights Arrived 22 Nov 2012
"NWR or Namibia Wildlife Resorts, State owned and State run have a lot to learn from the private sector. Our stay at Okaukuejo was our only disappointment of our total trip.

Our views were NOT just ours, a glance at the visitor book in reception showed countless complaints of rude, incompetent, untrained and just couldn't care less staff.

The restaurant was total chaos, food mediocre and poorly cooked, of a standard that you would expect in a works canteen or school dining room. Tables are relaid as diners finish their meal, but the tablecloths are not changed and the next diners therefore have food stains to look at as they eat.

At an evening meal, a jackal came to within about 10 yards of people eating, begging for food, and although a small wall separated us from the animal, the staff took no action despite being asked to shoo the animal away. We had been warned to be very wary of wild animals that appeared to have lost their wariness of humans in view of the risk of rabies. This was not a pleasant experience.

We had to pay a N$500 deposit for our room key and check an inventory of the room contents and advise any discrepancies, there were none. On checking out, we had to wait in reception whilst the staff radioed through to the cleaning staff to check whether we had taken anything or whether the inventory was correct, before we were refunded our deposit. Highly demeaning!

Now to the good part, our self drives in Etosh were wonderful, we saw so many animals and have some great photographs to prove it. There had been quite a bit of rain, so there were no animals apart from jackals at the floodlit waterhole, they were drinking elsewhere.

Etosh IS GREAT, but steer clear of NWR. Trouble is that the camp IS right in the wildlife reserve and no other lodges are so well placed." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Terrible
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Family trip
UK

"Busy camp - good waterhole - good facilities"

2 nights Arrived 13 Nov 2012
"When you book to stay at Okaukuejo you know that you are booking at a busy camp that gives you good access to Etosha Pan, and that's exactly what you get.

In retrospect we think that the night drive @ 600$ per person, although good, was on the expensive side compared to other night drives offered on this trip." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Ms C
Sacramento

"Okaukuejo Camp"

1 night Arrived 11 Nov 2012
"Excellent all around." See all these reviews: 5n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Suffolk

"Elephants galore at Okaukuejo"

2 nights Arrived 19 Oct 2012
"We were looking forward to the waterhole but not looking forward to the camp. Okaukuejo was the biggest camp we stayed at and we were worried by the reports of noise and rowdiness that we had read on the Internet. Yes it is big but the accommodation is well spaced with many trees and open space so it does not give the impression that there are too many people. Do not waste money on the bungalows near the water hole; there are probably only three two storey ones that can actually see the water hole and even those are probably obscured by trees. Our bungalow was just across the road and well fitted out with a kitchen, living room, bedroom etc and with an outside BBQ area.

Reserving a table for dinner on arrival is a must and the food itself, buffet style has choice for all tastes.

The water hole is the main attraction here and we made a bee line for it on arrival and were able to witness a herd of about 40 elephants wallowing at will. Advice is too eat early and then go to the floodlit waterhole and on our two nights there we saw eight black rhinos each night. The ones on the second night were not the same as on the first for they were younger and we watched as they played amongst themselves just like children.

Whatever your reservations may be about the camp if you go to Etosha then you must spend one night at least at Okaukuejo." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs B
Hampshire

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

1 night Arrived 18 Oct 2012
"Nice room near the waterhole ,which must be the best in Namibia. There were a lot of guests,but there seemed to be space for all,the evening meal in the resteraunt relies heavily on you arriving at the exact times.However it was clean and they managed to process lots of guests coming and going all the time." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr A & Ms J
Brighton

"Best waterhole"

2 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2012
"The camp is a bit like a small commuter town but the waterhole is superb and very easy to reach. It's worth going any time of day. This is what we came for and were not disappointed at all.

The food was fine and staff worked really hard to keep up with the buffet. Some guests behaved pretty badly, grabbing food and plates." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr C & Mrs K
UK

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

1 night Arrived 9 Oct 2012
"A big camp like a small town but in the bush. There are more than 100 cabins plus a camping ground. In high season the restaurant is very busy. You need to reserve a table. When they are very busy the tend to run out of things like plates.

The food is reasonably good and the service is as good as could be expected.

Cabins are comfortable and fairly well appointed many with fridge, kitchenette, braai, separate bedroom and mosquito nets.

The local water hole is well visited by animals especially at night but gets noisy with tourists.

The largeness of the camp does tend to detract from the overall experience especially after visiting many small 'wilderniess' camps as we had but there are good facilities if you need them. Petrol, swimming pool, food and gift shops. The rangers here can take cards for park fees." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Ms F & Mr A
London

"The waterhole at Okaukuejo is a real treat"

2 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2012
"The great thing about Okaukuejo is its location. Being in the middle of the park gives great access to views across the salt pan, and you also have amazing access to the waterhole at the camp. When we were there in October, there were great herds of animals making their way down to the waterhole morning and evening, and amazing sightings including rhino, elephants and lions at night.

The camp itself is functional rather than luxurious, but our room was clean and comfortable, and the staff were perfectly competent.

We stayed 2 nights which was definitely worth it for getting a sense of the surrounding landscape, and the amazing amount of activity at the waterhole." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Dr D
Suffolk

"This is a large but efficient camp"

3 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2012
"Okaukuejo is a good centre for visiting several good water-holes. Inevitably it feels different from smaller private camps but it certainly served us well. The reception desk was efficient, our chalet was fine and the self-service restaurant provided good meals. The serving of breakfast until 0930 allowed us to go out at first light for two hours before returning to the camp to eat.

The floodlit water-hole provides really good opportunities to see rhino, one evening we saw nine there at the same time. The resident pride of lions at Okondeka are not to be missed either.

Obviously the size of this camp makes it a little more impersonal but all the staff that we met were friendly and helpful." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 331-340 of 637
83%
637 reviews of Okaukuejo Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
236
281
99
19
2
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Halali Camp

Halali Camp

Halali is a large, government-run restcamp in a convenient central location inside Etosha National Park.


79% (319 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (237 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (144 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


92% (80 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (77 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (36 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (22 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lode. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Oberland Lodge promises a convenient base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet
Etosha King Nehale

Etosha King Nehale

A short drive from the national park’s northern entrance, Etosha King Nehale Lodge is an interesting and comfortable base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa