This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp

Reviews of Okaukuejo Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

637 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okaukuejo Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 46 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okaukuejo Camp.
Lion

79% success

Leopard

6% success

Cheetah

11% success

Giraffe

98% success

Oryx

98% success

Elephant

98% success

Zebra

96% success

Wildebeest

91% success

Black Rhino

90% success

Spotted Hyena

51% success

Eland

42% success

White Rhino

26% success

Roan antelope

19% success

Brown Hyena

16% success

Sable antelope

15% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 71-80 of 637
Duration
Arrival date
Miss G
Thetford

"A useful base for exploring Etoshia"

1 night Arrived 23 Sep 2017
"Don't expect luxury here, but a convenient and comfortable enough stay.

Nice waterhole where you can sit and watch wildlife come down to drink throughout the day.

Buffet style meals which were tasty but basic.

Service was slow." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Poor
Muz
Colchester

"Okaukuejo gave us an unforgettable experience"

4 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2017
"Okaukuejo is all about the amazing water hole which sometimes has hundreds of animals drinking from it

the Bush Chalet, semi detached bungalow, was spacious and well equipped.

The food, buffet style, was good but they kept running out of plates !!" See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr J & friends
UK

"Large and busy camp"

5 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2017
"Our visit was to photograph wildlife and as I have stayed here on many occasions I knew what to expect. It was busy and a bit chaotic at meal times with a bit of a free for all. The location is ideal for getting into the park at first light although again gates were sometimes opened late. Our rooms were simple , clean and well serviced.

I first visited back in the mid 90's and have stayed often since. It was disappointing that the management had not improved - maybe they were overwhelmed with visitors? One morning breakfast was very late and few staff seemed to be around.

I would really like to see the service improve. Some staff are very friendly others less so." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
namibia
UK

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2017
"The element for the hot water was broken in our bush chalet, and we were moved to a double room chalet by the water hole.
The bush chalet was very basic, with small windows and very dark walls, rather oppressive, and set amongst the camping area.

We were very pleased to be relocated, and the chalet by the waterhole was comfortable and a much better location.

The dining arrangements at Okaukuejo camp were far from enticing at meal times. As a vegetarian, I was told on my first night the veggie option was "chicken"!!!! There was very little choice. On my second evening I did complain, and a very pleasant chef presented me with a perfectly cooked piece of fish and very nice salad.

By far the best aspect of this camp is the water hole, which kept our attention for many hours during our two night stay.

On our drive across Etosha we stopped for lunch at the Halali camp, this was not a pleasant experience, the dining area was not very clean. At Halali Camp and Okaukuejo Camp it is a set price for lunch and dinner, and a buffet style arrangement." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mrs K
London

"Municipal camp with brilliant waterhole "

3 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2017
"The location is amazing in that the waterhole is right next to the camp - every time we went there we saw many and varied animals including elephants, giraffes, zebras and rhinos. However, this is really the only draw for Okaukuejo. Its all a bit basic, with a bureaucratic, municipal atmosphere, where nothing is included and you have to book and/or pay for all 'extras'.

The check in and out process is tiresome - it took a long time, the service was lacking, and there as a problem with the inventory, meaning we had to go back to reception to resolve it.

Also, there was no diesel in the filling station whilst we were there, which was inconvenient." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Poor
Mr A
Glasgow

"Great waterhole"

1 night Arrived 11 Sep 2017
"This is a nice neat looking campus at the southern edge of the park. The watering hole was great and we had good viewings of rhino and elephant at night.

The organisation of the lodges is very bureaucratic and clumsy though. We didn't get off to a great start by having a power cut in our lodges that took a while to fix. Then no hot water for most of the time. The buffet was really poor and the admin staff tried to switch the deposit money you have to leave with them from exchangeable SA Rand for Namib dollars.Cheeky!

You have to complete an inventory of everything in the room when you check in and again when you leave to say nothing is missing to get you deposit back. Hilariously the inventory list also included itself (the inventory list) as an item to be ticked as being present. This was a definite low point on the accommodation front but it was only one night and the wildlife made up for a lot of the shortcomings." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 5n in Zimbabwe; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Dr M.
Loughborough

"Feast of rhino"

2 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2017
"Our first night visit to the justly famous waterhole at Okaukuejo allowed us to see 10 white rhino, some with calves, dotted around the hole." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Bath

"Brilliant for seeing animals"

2 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2017
"We are so pleased we stayed here. it was the dry season, so the waterhole was bursting with animals.

The facilities are fairly basic, but absolutely fine for what we needed, and very spacious

There was no hot water in our room, because when we tried to turn it on, it fused the whole chalet

The game viewing as we drove around was excellent." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mr R
Napier

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

1 night Arrived 9 Sep 2017
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Gurinder & Jill
UK

"Excellent Camp + excellent water hole"

2 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2017
"We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this camp. Far superior to Halali - our watering hole chalet no 5 was VG indeed, much lighter and nicer equipped inside than the Halali experience and simply two steps from the Hole. Food was good although we would mention that at breakfast time they ran out of certain things at the late sittings. We enjoyed some stunning photographic opportunities at the water hole and we were very pleased about this. Would recommend and would stay again." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 71-80 of 637
83%
637 reviews of Okaukuejo Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
236
281
99
19
2
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Halali Camp

Halali Camp

Halali is a large, government-run restcamp in a convenient central location inside Etosha National Park.


79% (319 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (237 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (144 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


92% (80 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (77 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (36 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (22 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lode. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Oberland Lodge promises a convenient base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet
Etosha King Nehale

Etosha King Nehale

A short drive from the national park’s northern entrance, Etosha King Nehale Lodge is an interesting and comfortable base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa