This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp

Reviews of Okaukuejo Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

635 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okaukuejo Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 45 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okaukuejo Camp.
Lion

79% success

Leopard

3% success

Cheetah

12% success

Giraffe

98% success

Oryx

98% success

Elephant

98% success

Zebra

95% success

Wildebeest

91% success

Black Rhino

90% success

Spotted Hyena

50% success

Eland

40% success

White Rhino

27% success

Roan antelope

19% success

Brown Hyena

16% success

Sable antelope

15% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 81-90 of 635
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs T
Bucks

" A watering hole to die for !"

2 nights Arrived 19 Aug 2017
"Camp itself is what is says on the tin - government run camp. Very functional but clean. Food is reasonable for saying they cater for so many, and the pool is very nice.

Guides are great and the morning safari is one to book -- we saw 12 lions in 40 minutes!

Aside from this the absolute highlight is the watering hole - many, many animals, hundreds at some stages. We saw many elephants, including large family groups, 15 giraffes in one group and an amazing rhino fight. Also woken one night by roaring lions.

There are more welcoming and bijou camps but if in Etosha do not shy way from staying here. The wildlife more than outweighs the functional nature of the place." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs P
Kilburn

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

6 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2017
"Our priority as wildlife and photography enthusiasts is to spend as much time as possible wildlife-viewing. We spent 6 nights at Okaukuejo and, if visiting Etosha again, we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. You don't stay here if you're wanting luxury accommodation or personalised service but we weren't after that. Our bush chalet was spacious and comfortable (with really comfortable beds and super crisp white linen). It was nicely serviced each day. The kitchenette was really just a fridge and coffee station so our plans to self-cater were thwarted somewhat despite the braai!

The waterhole is amazing! Unusually for us we didn't do all day or afternoon drives most days at Okaukuejo as the sightings at the waterhole were just so good (10 black rhinos together one evening at sunset including three mums and calves - all at the same time!). It's a big camp but we were in our own bubble and were perfectly happy.

Breakfast was served from 5.30am so that meant we could still have our included breakfast and be at the gate ahead of sunrise opening. Perfect! Breakfast was basic (and a bit disorganised first thing) but more than sufficient for our needs (coffee was not good though).

Gate opening was unpredictable (as it was also at Halali one day) - the clock at the gate which the security staff work off does not match to what Reception tells you (or, more critically, the sun) but you just have to be patient ...

We didn't eat at the restaurant in the evening or check out the bar as we were too occupied at the waterhole. We didn't use the swimming pool.

Check-out was no hassle at all and very efficient.

The location of Oaukuejo is excellent as there are so many routes to choose from in both directions.

The staff we encountered were all pleasant (the cleaning ladies were lovely!) except for the petrol pump attendant. Be prepared for a very long and disorganised wait if there is anyone in front of you. The shop is a bit hit and miss too but they sell ice which is great for cold drinks!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Ms S & Mr E
NSW

"Fantastic waterhole!"

3 nights Arrived 13 Aug 2017
"We stayed in a Premier Waterhole Chalet. It was expensive and worth every penny, because we had not only a ringside view of the waterhole which is floodlit at night, but an elevated view too from our second floor balcony! It was a highlight of our holiday in Namibia. Staying in the Premier Waterhole Chalet ( there are only five) made our stay at Okaukuejo amazing. Thank you Maruska for organising it.

The camp is government owned and managed and, unlike at Sossus Dune Lodge, it suffers from this. Basic maintenance was lacking ( when we asked for five of our seven light globes to be replaced, the receptionist said no, they were waiting for the man to come from South Africa! When my husband had a closer look at the problem, he realised that the whole 12V lighting system was clearly waiting to be replaced).

Meals were buffet and average. Service was friendly and willing but inefficient." See all these reviews: 24n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
J Family
Washington

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2017
"On the positive side, the waterhole at the camp is tremendous and easily outweighs the various downsides of this Camp. We saw wildlife day and night, including 37 elephants cavorting in late afternoon, 5 rhinos in the evening, troops of giraffes and much more. It was a constant show and the setting and lighting was much more integrated into the natural scene that various write-ups had led us to believe.

The Bush Chalet we stayed at was a good choice for our family, clean, and very functional even if it lacked much character. We were glad we had not paid the premium for a premium or water hole chalet because it is only a one minute walk from the bush chalets to the watering hole and the premium ones aren't actually close enough to the hole to get the best view. Plus you get the constant traffic from folks visiting the watering hole. Also, the Camp seems to have addressed the concerns EA had warned about previously.

The reception staff was helpful, check-out was a breeze and did not involve an inventory check, and the staff was consistently scrupulous about letting patrons handle credit cards. Also, the watering holes near Okaukuejo were better and more productive than the ones we visited in the middle and on the eastern side of the camp. The main downside was medicore and overpriced food. The buffet was tired and the lines were long -- it didn't help that one night they ran out of clean plates. For lunch you're forced to eat an expensive and even worse buffet. The pool was empty and being painted for our entire visit and the fumes made us move our table to the edge of the restaurant at lunch - leading to the "poor" facilities rating below.

So there are some clear tradeoffs, but it was absolutely the right recommendation of EA to stay here for two nights for the many wildlife experiences." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Poor
Family H & L
Berks

"the worst place re service and staff attitude"

2 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2017
"OK - you had warned us.... But location great

Dire service, shabby rooms - premium waterhole chalet - with broken loo seat, bare wires sticking out of plugs, remote control for AC not working etc etc.......as you warned us. staff not bothered eg brought drinks - but forget glasses, no plates / bowls at buffet, toaster stopped working. We went to breakfast on day 1 at 9am...very little left and what was left - was curling and dried up.

But made up for by location and number of animals! Fantastic location of chalet - could sit in bed and watch animals come to waterhole. best place for zillions of animals.....saw loads and this made it good." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Terrible
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Mrs H
Leyburn

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

1 night Arrived 22 Jul 2017
"Position of the chalet was outstanding, and the chalet itself surprisingly good, although maybe could have been maintained better, some taps didn't work and a number of bulbs were out." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mrs N
Purley

"Great waterhole"

2 nights Arrived 21 Jul 2017
"The accommodation is adequate. The main attraction is the waterhole with a fantastic chance to see all the wildlife without leaving the lodge" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
The E family
Bath

"Okaukuejo Camp"

5 nights Arrived 21 Jul 2017
"Chalet and outlook could not be bettered. Many and varied animals at waterhole.
Very limited supplies of basics in the shop - a missed opportunity to provide income for the Camp. Buffet style meals were good. " See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Family V
Belgium

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

1 night Arrived 16 Jul 2017
"Rooms very basic, dark and small; no (or hardly any) view, with tiny barred windows.

Facilities nicer, with pleasant restaurant, terrace and bar.

Water hole impressive.

Altogether a nice set-up but still comparatively expensive for what you get." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
Wellington

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Jul 2017
"Great. No problems with inventory or payments. Good food.

Superb waterhole viewing. " See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 81-90 of 635
83%
635 reviews of Okaukuejo Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
235
280
99
19
2
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Halali Camp

Halali Camp

Halali is a large, government-run restcamp in a convenient central location inside Etosha National Park.


79% (319 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (237 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (144 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


93% (79 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (77 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (35 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (21 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lode. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Onderland Lodge promises a convenient base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa