This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge

Reviews of Ongava Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

144 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ongava Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 28 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Ongava Lodge.
Lion

96% success

Leopard

10% success

Cheetah

10% success

Giraffe

96% success

Zebra

96% success

White Rhino

96% success

Oryx

93% success

Wildebeest

88% success

Elephant

85% success

Black Rhino

73% success

Eland

46% success

Roan antelope

29% success

Sable antelope

14% success

Brown Hyena

14% success

Spotted Hyena

10% success

Pangolin

5% success

Aardvark

0% success

Showing 71-80 of 144
Duration
Arrival date
Mr A
Middlesex

"Ongava Lodge and Etosha"

2 nights Arrived 21 Jan 2015
"The location of Ongava Lodge just outside the Andersson Gate is ideal. The lodge is well appointed and the rooms are well designed and comfortable. The mosquito nets were very effective. The food was excellent - we all had kudu as the main dish.

It was great looking at the animals coming to the waterhole either from the dining area or from our bedroom. We saw giraffes, a rhino and a number of different types of antelope. One of our party woke at 6 and saw a lion.

The staff were very helpful and the manager and his wife an excellent source of knowledge.

We did not go on any activities because we wanted to drive around Etosha. This was a fantastic experience. Driving ourselves was easy and gave us the chance to see animals and birds in a more natural setting than a game reserve." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Ms P
Clayton

"We loved Ongava Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 20 Dec 2014
"Ongava was one of our favorite lodges. We enjoyed eating our meals on the open deck overlooking a small waterhole. Even though we visited in December, there were always animals at the water hole. We saw rhinos, zebras, wildebeests, giraffes and several other animals. This was all before we entered Etosha.

The staff were very pleasant and helpful. We enjoyed all of the meals. We appreciated the cook made sure there were vegetarian options for our vegetarian family member.

We had a scare after dinner when a very large python blocked our path back to our rooms. The staff member leading us, simply took a different route, but we worried where the python would show up again. This is when we realized we were surrounded by wild animals, and they were not all at the waterhole!" See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr J & Mrs E
Surrey

"A very comfortable lodge with great views"

2 nights Arrived 11 Nov 2014
"We really enjoyed our stay at Ongava, which was very comfortable - until we found a scorpion in our room! However, one of the managers Will dealt with the situation very quickly and immediately put us at ease.

The rooms are very tastefully decorated and ours had an excellent view over the watering hole. The food was very good and the service excellent. Our guide, Teacher, was very knowledgeable and helpful and managed to locate lions and lionesses - in both the private Reserve and Etosha itself.

We would definitely stay at this lodge again." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Horsham

"Ongava Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2014
"Great location, facilities, activities and accommodation. Helpful and friendly staff.

Food was buffet style - sometimes this could be variable." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Maningtree

"Wonderful view across the plains"

2 nights Arrived 30 Oct 2014
"Nice atmosphere in central area. Motivated guide. Easy mingling with other guests or privacy when wanted." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms J & Ms C
UK

"Ongava Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 13 Oct 2014
"good rondaval but quite a long from main lodge.

very select as we were upgraded and only eight rondavals" See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
UK

"Ongava Lodge - what a gem"

3 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2014
"We enjoyed our 3 night stop here. It gave us a chance to slow down and recharge batteries. It was a good place to do this. The Lodge was excellent in all respects. The staff were extremely helpful and welcoming across the board.

We spent a morning in an empty lodge watching an endless procession of animals coming to the waterhole. We were lucky to see a mother and baby white rhino close up on our sundowner drive. Black rhinos came to the floodlit waterhole every evening. The whole stay was fantastic." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms & Miss S
Vancouver

"Stunning"

1 night Arrived 14 Jul 2014
"Very exciting game drive with guide Epi. Very good at finding animals." See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Alabama

"Ongava Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Jun 2014
"Very nice place to stay. Staff was very friendly. Rooms were nice. Animal viewing from the deck overlooking the waterholes was great.

We highly recommend Ongava Lodge." See all these reviews: 5n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The CWs
UK

"Ongava Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 23 Apr 2014
"Ongava Lodge is a most comfortable retreat in its own private game reserve. Having spent a few hours driving in Etosha where we saw more tourists than animals, we decided to stay put in camp for the duration of our stay.

The water hole in front of the main lodge attracted a fairly regular flow of thristy animals, including zebra, waterbuck, black-faced impala, warthog, giraffe, wilderbeest, lion and rhino, as well as a martial eagle!

The staff were all friendly and eager to point out any visitors to the waterhole, in case we had missed these ourselves. Salomon, our guide was most personable and kind. The service is outstanding and the rooms tastefully and comfortably furnished. The food was delicious and varied and the menu choice excellent." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 71-80 of 144
92%
144 reviews of Ongava Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
99
34
8
3
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Camp is a large, well-equipped restcamp, with a productive floodlit waterhole.


83% (642 reviews)
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

Halali is a large, government-run restcamp in a convenient central location inside Etosha National Park.


79% (321 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (238 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


92% (80 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (77 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (36 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


96% (23 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lodge. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Oberland Lodge promises a convenient base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet
Etosha King Nehale

Etosha King Nehale

A short drive from the national park’s northern entrance, Etosha King Nehale Lodge is an interesting and comfortable base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa