This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Onguma Etosha Aoba
Onguma Etosha Aoba
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Reviews of Onguma Etosha Aoba

Wildlife sightings and reviews

32 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Onguma Etosha Aoba and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 2 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Onguma Etosha Aoba.
Lion

50% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

50% success

Giraffe

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Brown Hyena

50% success

Eland

50% success

Elephant

50% success

Oryx

50% success

Wildebeest

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 32
Duration
Arrival date
M B &C
S Cheshire

"Etosha Aoba comfort"

1 night Arrived 21 Sep 2018
"We found the accommodation perfect for the 3 of us in a family suite. The suite was well maintained and furnished, air conditioning effective on a very warm day.

We enjoyed dinner in a boma with other guests from a set menu with traditional singing from staff at the end of the meal. Although checking out next day because of availability we were able to take a morning game drive in Etosha NP which was very well guided. Expert Africa note that many guests self drive in the Park which we also did but a guide offered insights and less familiar views, like a family of cheetahs, which we would probably not have experienced on our own.

Our initial reception was a little brusque but later staff contact was fine; after our game drive we were able to enjoy the setting and lunch with almost nobody else around and felt - and were - in a comfortable location very much in the bush" See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

9 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Oryx

4 sightings

Wildebeest

5 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Crooks
Bristol

"Onguma Etosha Aoba review"

1 night Arrived 5 Sep 2018
"Getting to Etosha Aoba was straightforward and the signposting in the property was clear. We received a warm and apparently genuine welcome.

The food was well cooked, presented and served in very impressive surroundings.

Our room was comfortable and the communal areas inviting. We didn't do any activities based around the lodge itself (choosing to spend our time in the Etosha National Park) but spotted the animals noted below during our drive through the Onguma grounds. Did dik also visited the waterhole overlooked by the dining terrace.

Although it was brief we enjoyed our stay here very much." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Giraffe

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr D
Cambridge

"Etosha Aoba and Walking Safari"

2 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2017
"We took a walking safari one morning when we were staying at the Etosha Aoba. It was a very memorable time when we were actually out on the ground seeing the tracks of the cats and antelope. It was also the jumping-off point for our most memorable drive in Etosha, where we saw herds of animals just a few feet from our car." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Miss S
UK

"Very good and comfortable"

2 nights Arrived 26 Apr 2017
"Very comfy and good food - more like a hotel than a game lodge but very enjoyable.

Waterhole activity was good and the guides were really good. Very pleasant staff" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr C & Mr A
London

"Let down by poor service"

2 nights Arrived 26 Dec 2016
"We were disappointed by this lodge. Although it's in a lovely setting, from the moment we arrived it seemed that everything was too much trouble.

Over the Christmas break (when anyone should expect that it would be busy), there apparently weren't enough guides to allow us to do some of the activities that were clearly advertised as being available. We asked to speak to the Manager, who never contacted us.

Other staff also weren't welcoming, friendly or helpful. In comparison with all the other places we stayed, this was such a disappointment.

The accommodation was very nice, though simple. Comfortable beds and nice decor. The food was excellent and was certainly the highlight." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Terrible
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr R & Mrs N
NI

"A jewel at Aoba"

2 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2016
"Being just outside the eastern gate, the Lodge is in a great location for visits into Etosha. I had not expected the amazingly pleasant surroundings in woodland. This was a contrast to the desert vistas enjoyed in Outpost and Desert Nawas.

The accommodation is superb with chalets in a setting in which birds, dik dik and kudu wander freely. The antelopes walk within metres of bedroom windows and tables in the restaurant. The food is of high quality and the staff first class. They, like those at Doro Nawas, sang briefly during the evening meal." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Ms M & Mr N
New York

"Convenient base in a lovely setting"

2 nights Arrived 17 Apr 2016
"The rooms at Onguma are quite spread out which is nice is some ways but has its challenges - a bit of a long walk back to base but a very short drive!

Frankly we were not as impressed with the "Honeymoon suite" as we expected. There were some lovely touches - like the outdoor shower - but the indoor decor seemed like it was trying for a traditional safari look but with inconsistent elements - and basic amenities were lacking. The staff was nice but, again, seemed a bit less experienced as elsewhere - a bit thrown by relatively simple requests - not a tight team. Meals were OK

Unfortunately, the guide was the one weak guide we had in the entire trip. He warmed up a bit by the evening drive but was extremely distracted in the AM and almost a bit defensive. He seemed to be attending to his cell phone a lot and initiated little information. Most often, he offered minimal answers to questions in a fairly low voice. Not engaging at all for whatever reason - a stark contrast to every other drive we had." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs R
New York

"Onguma Etosha Aoba review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Nov 2013
"This was a lovely lodge and the staff was excellent. The food was beautifully prepared and served outside by candlelight.

One downside of staying outside the park is not being able to take night drives or view the lodge waterholes at night or in early morning but the staff packed us a great take away breakfast so that we could enter the park as soon as it opened. We took one sundowner drive into Fisher Pan and saw a spectacular sunset but otherwise the drive wasn't very interesting." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr G & Mrs Y
Walton

"Peaceful and a beautiful location."

2 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2011
"Our first intention was to stay at Namutoni but the camp was apparently fully booked 7 months before our visit so we had to stay at Aoba which is just outside Etosha Park.

We could have travelled into the Park from Aoba but the Lodge was so pleasant that we spent all our time at the Lodge. This suited us because we are keen on birdwatching." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Hants

"number 1 room too noisy!"

2 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2011
"Our first night spoiled by noisy guests around the pool and bar, manager put us in a quieter chalet on second day.
First meal was very poor from start to finish, but second night was ok.

We felt they were pushing the alchohol too much, clearly a profitable item. They even charged for coffee, even though it was not made clear that it was an extra after dinner (in many places incuded as free).

Access road needs attention, too many potholes." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Showing 1-10 of 32
89%
32 reviews of Onguma Etosha Aoba by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
21
6
4
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Camp is a large, well-equipped restcamp, with a productive floodlit waterhole.


83% (639 reviews)
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

Halali is a large, government-run restcamp in a convenient central location inside Etosha National Park.


79% (319 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (237 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (144 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


93% (79 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (77 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (35 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (21 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lode. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Onderland Lodge promises a convenient base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa