This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Onguma Forest Camp
Onguma Forest Camp
Onguma Forest Camp

Reviews of Onguma Forest Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

36 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Onguma Forest Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 5 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Onguma Forest Camp.
Lion

80% success

Leopard

20% success

Cheetah

40% success

Giraffe

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Elephant

80% success

Oryx

80% success

Wildebeest

80% success

Black Rhino

60% success

Brown Hyena

50% success

Eland

50% success

Spotted Hyena

25% success

White Rhino

20% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 36
Duration
Arrival date
Ms M & Mr N
New York

"Convenient base in a lovely setting"

2 nights Arrived 17 Apr 2016
"The rooms at Onguma are quite spread out which is nice is some ways but has its challenges - a bit of a long walk back to base but a very short drive!

Frankly we were not as impressed with the "Honeymoon suite" as we expected. There were some lovely touches - like the outdoor shower - but the indoor decor seemed like it was trying for a traditional safari look but with inconsistent elements - and basic amenities were lacking. The staff was nice but, again, seemed a bit less experienced as elsewhere - a bit thrown by relatively simple requests - not a tight team. Meals were OK

Unfortunately, the guide was the one weak guide we had in the entire trip. He warmed up a bit by the evening drive but was extremely distracted in the AM and almost a bit defensive. He seemed to be attending to his cell phone a lot and initiated little information. Most often, he offered minimal answers to questions in a fairly low voice. Not engaging at all for whatever reason - a stark contrast to every other drive we had." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs R
New York

"Onguma Etosha Aoba review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Nov 2013
"This was a lovely lodge and the staff was excellent. The food was beautifully prepared and served outside by candlelight.

One downside of staying outside the park is not being able to take night drives or view the lodge waterholes at night or in early morning but the staff packed us a great take away breakfast so that we could enter the park as soon as it opened. We took one sundowner drive into Fisher Pan and saw a spectacular sunset but otherwise the drive wasn't very interesting." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr G & Mrs Y
Walton

"Peaceful and a beautiful location."

2 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2011
"Our first intention was to stay at Namutoni but the camp was apparently fully booked 7 months before our visit so we had to stay at Aoba which is just outside Etosha Park.

We could have travelled into the Park from Aoba but the Lodge was so pleasant that we spent all our time at the Lodge. This suited us because we are keen on birdwatching." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Hants

"number 1 room too noisy!"

2 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2011
"Our first night spoiled by noisy guests around the pool and bar, manager put us in a quieter chalet on second day.
First meal was very poor from start to finish, but second night was ok.

We felt they were pushing the alchohol too much, clearly a profitable item. They even charged for coffee, even though it was not made clear that it was an extra after dinner (in many places incuded as free).

Access road needs attention, too many potholes." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
D party
Belgium

"Etosha Aoba Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 17 Jul 2011
"Etosha Aoba is well located and is suited for an extended stay. Service was absolutely excellent and the facilities top class.

We truly appreciated the very warm welcome and all the efforts made by the staff to make our stay excellent. Highly recommended." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mrs T Mrs N
UK

"Etosha Aoba Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 9 May 2011
"Lovely setting. Excellent service and food. Every attention to detail. What a difference to the previous place." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs K
USA

"Etosha Aoba Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 3 May 2011
"Best dinner of trip." See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Mr & Mrs AS
Colorado

"Etosha Aoba Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 7 Nov 2010
"The facilities and accommodations are fine. Our complaint would be with management. Although we were greeted by the manager when we arrived, he spent the remainder of his time running back and forth between two groups of guests and at dinner, visited all the tables except ours.

We only spent one night there, so perhaps there was not a big incentive for him. Had we to do it again, we would spend at least another night (or more) in Etosha, probably at Namutoni." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr R & Mrs I
Devon

"Etosha Aoba Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2010
"Aoba Lodge was excellent.

Very helpful owner (or manager called Pieter). Excellent wine list and not expensive. Best air conditioning whole holiday very quiet and efficient. Good bird life in garden" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
E & D
New Mexico

"Lions, Snakes and Giraffes at Sunset"

2 nights Arrived 11 May 2010
"The best part of Etosha Aoba is the fact that it is in a private park that equals 1/3 the size of Etosha and as of January 2010 no hunting is allowed, which is probably why a big lioness just stood and watched us in our car from about 20 feet away.

We went on the sundowner drive with Sam and highly recommend it. The sunset view over Fischers Pan was quite spectacular, with giraffes chewing on bones and rubbing necks while we enjoyed a cold G+T.

Also be sure to have your camera or sound recording device with you at dinner as the ladies choral group sing a brief song each night in their native Damara language and they are wonderful." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 11-20 of 36
88%
36 reviews of Onguma Forest Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
23
6
6
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Resort is a large camp with a productive, floodlit waterhole.


83% (702 reviews)
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

The smallest of Etosha's erstwhile restcamps, overlooking its own floodlit waterhole, Halali has a superb location near the centre of Etosha Pan.


79% (330 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers great value and is an excellent base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (261 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

With fantastic views over a private reserve bordering Etosha, the smart Ongava Lodge offers driving and walking safaris on the reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (158 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Set around a waterhole on a private reserve, the small Ongava Tented Camp combines understated comfort with activities that include walks and night drives.


93% (154 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


92% (103 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (97 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Close to the eastern entrance to Etosha, the comfortable Mushara Lodge is well-placed for exploring the park in your own vehicle or on a guided drive.


92% (97 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (89 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


94% (84 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


89% (74 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Intimate and luxurious, Mushara Outpost is well-placed on a private reserve to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or on a guided drive.


94% (68 reviews)
Onguma Camp Kala

Onguma Camp Kala

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Camp Kala are truly special.


97% (43 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


96% (41 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

At the heart of the private Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (37 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


85% (26 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (25 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


86% (22 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


94% (18 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the private Etosha Heights Reserve, the family-friendly Mountain Lodge offers game drives and bush walks within an exclusive environment.


97% (14 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lodge. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


93% (11 reviews)
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Oberland Lodge is a very comfortable base from which to explore the park, with excellent food.


100% (6 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


90% (6 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Offering luxury on a peaceful private reserve close to Etosha, Villa Mushara is a great choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


95% (4 reviews)
Etosha King Nehale

Etosha King Nehale

A short drive from the national park's northern entrance, Etosha King Nehale Lodge is an interesting and comfortable base from which to explore the park.


100% (2 reviews)
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


100% (1 review)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa