This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Reviews of Hoodia Desert Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

153 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Hoodia Desert Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 28 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Hoodia Desert Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

89% success

Wildebeest

52% success

Zebra

38% success

Giraffe

10% success

Brown Hyena

5% success

Aardvark

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 121-130 of 153
Duration
Arrival date
Ms B & Ms M
DC

"Hoodia Desert Lodge Review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Jun 2013
"Hoodia Desert Lodge was the first stop on our Namibian adventure, and what a way to begin! From the moment of our arrival, when we were greeted with cool towels and drinks, through the moment of our departure, everything about Hoodia was superb. The accommodations are refined. The staff is professional and very service oriented. And the food was incredible--by far the best we had in Namibia and on par with what you would expect from a luxury resort anywhere in the world.

We had a spectacular time on our private Sossusvlei excursion, where our guide Pietros enlightened us on the history and geography of the region, while we climbed dunes, explored canyons, and dined al fresco. (Only one word of caution to visitors: Make sure you ask for directions when departing the lodge. The route isn't signposted and we ended up accidentally exiting through the back of the property, adding an hour's drive time that day.)" See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr G & Ms L
Scotland

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Jun 2013
"We stayed in room 1 for two nights. A beautiful little chalet with terrace, surrounded by the mountains. Lovely sunsets and only a 25 minute drive to Sesriem gate. Inside and outside bathrooms.

Excellent food and extremely good wine (complimentary on our first night but so tasty we ordered again the next night). We were served by very attentive staff (perhaps slightly too attentive, but there weren't many guests staying!).

There was a nice communal area to relax in, both inside the main building and outside by the pool.
They were happy to serve breakfast at 6am to allow for a sunrise arrival at Sesriem gate.
The stars were amazing. We saw some mountain zebra on our drive out to Sesriem." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs J
Coventry

"Sets the standard for lodge hospitality"

2 nights Arrived 12 Jun 2013
"From his welcome with cold drinks and warm smiles to his insistence on taking time as we left to print out his recommendations of where - and where not - to eat in Swakopmund, Thomas was a most attentive and engaging host.

The setting is stunning, the communal areas are spacious and luxurious, the thatched bungalows are compact but comfortable and well-appointed, the staff are friendly and attentive, and the food is exceptional. We can't remember eating a better steak than the one served on our first night, and we could have eaten the home-made bread all day.

Our excursion to Sossusvlei next morning involved a 6:15 start after a full breakfast at 5:30. Petrus, our driver and guide, explained the formation of the spectacular landscape; showed us the insects, the reptiles, the birds and the animals; led us up the ridge of Big Daddy dune - slowly - and showed us how to descend into Dead Vlei - quickly. The "picnic lunch" that followed was a splendid affair - table cloth and linen napkins, chilled wine, and delicious food to Hoodia standards. A memorable day was finished off by a walk into Sesriem Canyon before a return to Hoodia - and a welcome with hot towels from Thomas - ten hours after we had set off. It was a memorable day.

Thomas and Henreza and their cheerful hard-working team really do set the standard for lodge hospitality." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Cheltenham

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 25 May 2013
"The best!

From welcome by Thomas Becker and every aspect was excellent.

Although we didn't go on the Lodge excursion to Sossusvlei ( too long a walk for me to Dead Vlei) Thomas suggested exactly what we should do, provided us with picnic lunch and folding chairs.

Food was beautifully presented and delicious" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss D & Mr B
London

"Spectacular location"

2 nights Arrived 12 Dec 2012
"Stunning location with spectacular views. Stunning chalets, we both absolutely loved the outdoor shower!

The staff couldn't have been more helpful, especially when we returned really late for dinner due to sunset horse riding experience. They were still extremely cheerful as they served us dinner.

It was a great location to experience all that Sesriem has to offer and then come back and relax by the pool.

Additionally, amazing having so many birds living by the lodge and we loved seeing all the Springbok on the long drive from the road.

" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Hants

"Amazing stay at Hoodia Desert Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 19 Nov 2012
"First of our stops out on the road. The setting for the lodge is incredible with very expansive views of the surrounding mountains and desert - we were lucky to get room no. 1 at the end of the row with unobstructed views out to the west - ideal for watching the sunset. Being British, when we got to the gate and saw it was closed we assumed it was locked and it took us a few minutes to realise that just pulling it across to open! We'll blame this on the long drive and having come from Windhoek where locked security gates were the norm!

On reaching the lodge we received a very genuine welcome from the owners and staff. Food was excellent - probably the best meals of the whole holiday and this was preceded by drinks on the terrace overlooking the dry river bed. Dietary requirements were noted and respected with no need for reminders (not always the case in other places). Excellent wine selection at reasonable prices.

Highlight of our stay was the day trip to Sossusvlei. Our guide for the day was lodge owner Thomas as his regular guide was on holiday and he gave us a truly memorable day out, sharing his knowledge of the area and the country as a whole. Although the day was rather overcast for photography, this made it much easier for climbing sand dunes and the walk to Dead Vlei which we were lucky enough to get all to ourselves - again due to good planning by Thomas. Mid morning drinks and lunch were served with style and panache - true African luxury! A long day was rounded off by a walk at Sesriem Canyon. Although this trip may seem expensive we felt it was worth every penny.

Rooms were quite warm but this may have been due to power cuts affecting the air conditioning - not a regular occurrence. Outside bath and shower were fantastic and we saw warthogs, steenboks, springboks and baboons nearby.

Hoodia was everything we hoped for and more." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Family trip
UK

"Hoodia is a first rate lodge"

2 nights Arrived 4 Nov 2012
"Specifically recommended to us by Expert Africa, Hoodia is a first rate lodge giving convenient access to Sesriem.

Highly recommended." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Staffs

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 29 Oct 2012
"Lovely lodge outside Sossusvlei so entrance and exit to the park was limited. Not much to do apart fom seeing the park so perhaps 1 night spent actually inside the park would have provided better photo opportunities.

Food was superb - especially the imaginative vegetarian meals.

With temperatures of 45C it was extremely HOT!! The AC in the room failed to work apparently it was 'too hot for it'! Thankfully it eventually worked at some time in the night when the temperature fell a little.

Wifi was available - pleasant surprise." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Mrs B
Hampshire

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2012
"Very attentive welcome from the manager,and we really thought our room 9 (at the far end had a fantastic view) and was the best available,thanks for organising it!

The room was fine,though because the bed was in the middle it seemed quite small,but cleverly arranged.Fine desert view from the bathroom outside.

They set up a excellent picnic lunch to take to the dunes,and had a good wine list ,and nicely presented food in the dining room.
the situation is good ,reasonably near the dunes,which is a help in the early morning." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr C & Mrs K
UK

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2012
"This is a really nice lodge with a good restaurant. The cabin rooms are well set up comfortable reasonably spacious and private. The outside shower (there is an inside one also) is tastefully shielded for view and great after a hot day on the dunes. The only thing that lets it down is the lack of lighting on the sandy pathway and the need to use torches provided to go to dinner.

The service is really good though and there is WiFi in the reception.

It is well placed for visiting the dunes but only accessible in either direction over about 300Km of gravel road. The one between Sesriem and Walvis bay is particularly bad especially at the Sesriem end.

The Service station in Sesriem is convenient for petrol and also deals with tyres." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 121-130 of 153
97%
153 reviews of Hoodia Desert Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
135
17
0
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge offers comfortable rooms with fantastic views of the Namib and a private gate to the Namib-Naukluft Park - a bonus on guided excursions.


92% (328 reviews)
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

Bullsport is a cattle and game farm with thoroughbred horses offering warm hospitality and a genuine rural experience.


89% (176 reviews)
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

One of only two properties inside the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossus Dune Lodge has a superb location, for visiting the dunes.


89% (138 reviews)
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

With great-value accommodation in a lovely setting, Desert Homestead is a great base for exploring Sossusvlei.


91% (98 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

A high-end lodge with spectacular views, Little Kulala, makes a great base for visits to Sossusvlei or a balloon ride over the Desert.


98% (62 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (41 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


93% (37 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a very convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Desert Homestead Outpost

Desert H-stead Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Desert Homestead Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (19 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (14 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


100% (5 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


100% (1 review)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


No reviews yet
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa