This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Reviews of Hoodia Desert Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

154 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Hoodia Desert Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 28 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Hoodia Desert Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

89% success

Wildebeest

52% success

Zebra

38% success

Giraffe

10% success

Brown Hyena

5% success

Aardvark

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 111-120 of 154
Duration
Arrival date
Mr G & Mrs F
Canada

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2013
"The lodge setting is a bit bleak, but the main building is spectacular and the "tents" are very comfortable. The food at Hoodia was the best we experienced in our 2 weeks in Namibia. The lodge owners were friendly and solicitous and had justifiable pride in their property.

We enjoyed our trip into the dunes. Angura was an excellent guide, providing lots of interesting information on the landscape and animals." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs C
Norwich

"The best lodge that we stayed at"

2 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2013
"The chalets are very good with a private patio and chairs. Thomas, the host ensures that your stay is superb. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

We are vegetarians and the meals here were the best that we had in Namibia.

Hoodia Desert Lodge's tour was fully booked but it was extremely easy to it ourselves. If you want to take the organised tour, book early!" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs A x 5
Oxon

"Hoodia was beautiful"

2 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2013
"On arrival we were greeted by Tomas, owner/manager, who was very charming & welcoming, he explained everything about the lodge.

The rooms were beautiful, and very comfortable.

Excellent food & service.

We went out early in the morning on a desert safari, our guide, Angula, was very knowledgeable & informative. Angula took into account that one of our group was somewhat infirm, and he catered for her needs. Drinks & 'snacks' were lovely.
Lunch was amazing, white tablecloths & napkins, in rings! Everything laid up as though we were in a smart restaurant. A true experience. We had visited the dunes 2 years ago, but this visit was entirely different, and equally as special.

Delicious dinners both evenings, in lovely dining room.

We would all love to go back there, and can really recommend the place.

Tomas also told us that Expert Africa are the best company he deals with!" See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr N & Mrs J
Wilts

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2013
"An excellent stay.

Thomas and his wife, and their staff did everything they could to make us feel welcome.

We would recommend Hoodia unreservedly." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs J
Munich

"Hoodia Desert Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2013
"Celebrated our wedding anniversary here; staff helped make this special. Owner was very friendly and attentive; took the time to book recommended restaurants for us in Swakupmund. Would definitely go back.

Day trip to Sossusvlei was excellent; very good guide." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs R
Bristol

"Amazing guide to the dunes!"

2 nights Arrived 1 Aug 2013
"Wonderful luxury tents in a breathtaking landscape by a river bed.

Dawn start to an exciting day with Angola our guide to the Sesriem dunes, a lovely lunch under a shady tree and finally a walk along the bottom of the Sesriem Gorge!

We were out a total of 11.25 hours!

Wonderful food!


















AAAAAAAAAA" See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr F & family
Belgium

"Marvellous stay in a stunning location"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jul 2013
"This a clearly a top accommodation. Beautiful tented bungalows in a stunning setting, with both indoor and outdoor bathrooms. The surroundings are jaw-dropping, try to find the lion shaped mountain!

Food is excellent, with home made bread and undoubtly the best desserts in Namibia! Thomas and Herenza are perfect hosts, with special attention for the kids. Thanks for the culinary advice on Swakopmund, these guys have good taste!

We did the Sossusvlei tour, which I would highly recommend and is worth every penny. Angula is an excellent guide and driver. He points out the little desert creatures one would never find and drives you up to the vleis, which avoids taking the touristic 4x4 cars at the end.

Don't think driving yourself up there, even with a 4x4 you get stuck if you don't know the roads. Climbing and descending the dunes is an experience!

The picnic lunch is amazing, a restaurant in the desert. It felt like 'Out of Africa'!
Wonderful stay!" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr J & Ms D
UK

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jul 2013
"Beautiful lodge and room. Friendly, helpful staff.

Brilliant tour of dunes and picnic lunch." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
M family
Hampshire

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 15 Jul 2013
"A bit disappointed in Hoodia: much more like an "international hotel", with decoration which was not really Namibian and not the warm welcome we got everywhere else. Staff were on their phones and watching TV instead of attending to guests. We were given the impression we were a bit of a nuisance (we did look a bit scruffy having just slept outside for 2 nights!). They recommended we did not drink the tap water (we safely drank it most places), but did not provide any bottled water in the rooms.

The only place we found this sort of attitude.

Did a good breakfast pack to take to Sossusvlei." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Chester

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Jul 2013
"This was possible the best lodge we stayed at and the owner was very anxious to make sure our stay was a good experience.

We decided to take the trip to Sossusvlei to save us driving and we were very pleased that we did. The guide was very knowledgeable and the lunch overlooking the dunes was an experience we wouldn't have missed. The trip was unhurried and the driving excellent." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 111-120 of 154
97%
154 reviews of Hoodia Desert Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
136
17
0
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge offers comfortable rooms with fantastic views of the Namib and a private gate to the Namib-Naukluft Park - a bonus on guided excursions.


92% (328 reviews)
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

Bullsport is a cattle and game farm with thoroughbred horses offering warm hospitality and a genuine rural experience.


89% (176 reviews)
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

One of only two properties inside the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossus Dune Lodge has a superb location, for visiting the dunes.


89% (138 reviews)
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

With great-value accommodation in a lovely setting, Desert Homestead is a great base for exploring Sossusvlei.


91% (98 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

A high-end lodge with spectacular views, Little Kulala, makes a great base for visits to Sossusvlei or a balloon ride over the Desert.


98% (62 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (41 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


93% (37 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Desert Homestead Outpost

Desert H-stead Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Desert Homestead Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (19 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (14 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


100% (5 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


No reviews yet
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa