This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Reviews of Hoodia Desert Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

153 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Hoodia Desert Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 28 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Hoodia Desert Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

89% success

Wildebeest

52% success

Zebra

38% success

Giraffe

10% success

Brown Hyena

5% success

Aardvark

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 131-140 of 153
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs D
Toronto

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2012
"Very nice lodge. Attentive staff. Good food. No delay in service.

Great base to explore Sossusvlei." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Prof & Mrs H
Bristol

"Hoodia - a fantastic place to stay"

2 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2012
"This was by far the best place we stayed at (out of 10 places) on our Namibia trip. Great welcome, great staff, excellent food and accommodation and Thomas, the owner, couldn't do enough for us and gave us a great day out in the Namib desert.

We would have liked an extra day here (at least)." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Honeymooners
Brussels

"So peacefull."

2 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2012
"The rooms were great. We really liked taking a short 1h walk around the lodge and going to the nearby hills. It gives you a nice perspective of the lodge and the surrounding area and the beauty of all of it.

Here, as everywhere we went to, we loved the food. The rooms were very comfortable, clean and beautifull. The outdoor shower is a treat when you're back from a long day of desert safari and playing in the red sands of Sossusvlei.

The lodge is not right next to the entrance at Sesriem, but very reasonably close. The guide was also great and, if you have not been at Sossusvlei yet, don't leave this lodge without taking the day drive to see it.

Expert Africa arranged an excursion to Sossusvlei for these travellers during their stay. They commented:

Angula was excellent!

Angula was our guide and he was a very knowledgeable and polite guide. He walked with us all the way up the dunes (no easy feat, exept for him) and showed us around everywhere, culminating with a fantastic picnic lunch before our last stop at Sesriem Canyon." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
O Family
Vancouver

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Jul 2012
"Gorgeous location! The drive to Soussevlei was long, and we were recommended to drive to Sesriem to get our park permit the evening before. This helped us avoid the permit line-ups the following morning. I would recommend this to other travellers. Also, we walked into the dunes from the 2x4 parking lot. In hindsight, I wish we had taken the shuttle to catch more of the early morning light. We had saved the early morning for the following morning, when we were scheduled to go on a Balloon Trip. However, the Balloon Trip was cancelled due to high winds, and we had to continue our road-trip...so we ended up missing out on the early morning light." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia; 8n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr E & Mrs T
Denmark

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Jul 2012
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr M x 4
UK

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 29 May 2012
"Initial impression was that it might be a bit up-market for us! However our worries were soon dispelled by the friendliness of the welcome with refreshing drink and cool towels.

Wonderful vista. Very secluded.

Easy location for exploring Sesriem / Sossusvlei.

Produced the best steak (can't remember what animal) of the whole trip - and we ate a fair few!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr M
UK

"Wonderful memories of Hoodia"

2 nights Arrived 23 May 2012
"The service was both professional and personal and the food the best we encountered on our trip.

We went on the all day excursion to Soussusvlei. The guide, Angula, was excellent and his knowledge and the excellent picnic lunch contributed to a very memorable day." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs O
California

"Great Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 17 May 2012
"The experience at Hoodia was one of our highlights of the trip. Thomas & Henriesa were the perfect hosts.

We were very fortunate to have Thomas be our guide to the Park. The whole day was magic from sunrise to sunset.

I will not forget the spectacular lunch that was set before us as we looked on the apricot colored sand dunes and the Springbok wandering through the fields." See all these reviews: 14n in Botswana; 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr C
Toronto

"Hoodia Desert Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 9 May 2012
"We had a memorable stay here mainly because of our tour with Thomas, an owner of the lodge, who took us early morning to the dunes at sunrise, returning 13 hours later! He shared his knowledge and love of the area, climbing a dune, visiting Dead Vlei and serving us lunch and tea in beautiful settings, with humour and lots of stories.

The rooms were great - very private with good space, and an outside tub to stargaze. The food was very good and the staff warm and welcoming." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 4n in South Africa; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr G & Mrs C
London

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Apr 2012
"Fabulous location, beautiful rooms, extremely helpful staff. The Hoodia was a definite high point of our trip.

We travelled with Angula from the Lodge into Sossusvlei and had a memorable day amongst the dunes, finished with a fabulous picnic lunch under the trees. Highly recommended." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 131-140 of 153
97%
153 reviews of Hoodia Desert Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
135
17
0
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge offers comfortable rooms with fantastic views of the Namib and a private gate to the Namib-Naukluft Park - a bonus on guided excursions.


92% (328 reviews)
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

Bullsport is a cattle and game farm with thoroughbred horses offering warm hospitality and a genuine rural experience.


89% (176 reviews)
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

One of only two properties inside the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossus Dune Lodge has a superb location, for visiting the dunes.


89% (138 reviews)
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

With great-value accommodation in a lovely setting, Desert Homestead is a great base for exploring Sossusvlei.


91% (98 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

A high-end lodge with spectacular views, Little Kulala, makes a great base for visits to Sossusvlei or a balloon ride over the Desert.


98% (62 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (41 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


93% (37 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a very convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Desert Homestead Outpost

Desert H-stead Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Desert Homestead Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (19 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (14 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


100% (5 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


100% (1 review)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


No reviews yet
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa