This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Beach Lodge

Reviews of Beach Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

54 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Beach Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 41-50 of 54
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs A
Notts

"What a find!"

1 night Arrived 18 Oct 2009
"This was our second choice of accommodation as where we'd stayed previously was fully booked, but we had a luxury room, 'Southern Cross' with a bath with a view to die for!

We were very lucky with the weather and even went for a paddle and walk along the beach. An excellent base just outside Swakopmund. We don't understand why everybody seems to choose the Hansa Hotel when there are better alternatives available if you are self driving.

We stayed on a Sunday when the on site restaurant was closed, but breakfast was good." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr T & Mr B
UK

"Beach Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2009
"The Beach Lodge is architechtually interesting building and right on the beach. Our stay was clouded by the cold and misty weather of Swakopmund. We could only imagine what this place would be in a warm and sunny day." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs P
Purley

"Great location"

2 nights Arrived 3 Sep 2009
"Although out of town location by beach is great. Fodd was very good inc evening meals. Slight mix-up with messages not passed to us but that did not spoil activity. Recommend highly the Turnstone Tour to Sandwich Bay.

Day excursion along coast south of Swakopmund

Ernst our driver gave us a wonderful day which was one of the highlights of the trip. His food eaten sitting in the middle of nowhere was very good - how did he keep it warm!! If you love The natural world we recommend highly the trip." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr P&C & Mrs P&R
UK

"Great location, but poorly managed"

2 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2009
"Absolutely met my criteria of sea view and balcony as our room had great views both from the bedroom and the bath.

The building was designed and built to very high standards, but is let down by poor management and maintenance - various bathroom fittings were loose or missing (and nothing was done when we reported that the shower didn't work), and it would be generous to describe the hot water as lukewarm.

The hotel restaurant served great food, both at breakfast and dinner." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Mr Z & Mrs O
NL

"Beach Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Jun 2009
"Situated at the north end of Swakopmund in a quite rich neighbourhood (at least, that was our impression), Beach Lodge does not have the warm African atmosphere which we found in lodges in the wilderness. Obviously, this is not something you can expect from a city accommodation.

The staff, however, was friendly and we were even upgraded to, as we suppose, the family suite, with a nice view at the atlantic ocean and a bath in our bedroom. During our stay we went sandboarding, which was very kindly arranged by the Beach Lodge staff.

The restaurant (The Wreck) also needs a positive remark, as the food was very good and the service was also great!" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
MrB & DrT
London

"Beach Lodge Review"

1 night Arrived 2 May 2009
"A very pleasant start to our trip. We only stayed overnight but the beach front location was wonderful, and we liked the room with small kitchen which would be useful for a longer stay.

There isn't much else in the immediate vicinity but I suspect this will change as there seemed to be a lot of new developement nearby.

The restaurant has a great ocean view, but the service was a bit slow." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Dr E
Yorkshire

"Beach Lodge review"

5 nights Arrived 25 Apr 2009
"fantastic food and rooms - best place to eat we found in Swakopmund.

hotel took some finding though as maps do not seem to have kept pace with how fast Swakoopmund is growing" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mrs B & friend
Bodmin

"Beach Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Nov 2008
"The Beach Lodge is an excellent hotel situated right on the beach.

The restaurant was extremely good, so much so, that we ate in both nights." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr F & party
Portugal

"Swakopmund - A city with character"

3 nights Arrived 2 Nov 2008
"A perfect base for exploring the area - from Cape Cross to Sandwich Harbour.

Very nice and spacious rooms, well cleaned and mantained, well allocated.The staff very helpfull and appreciated the complimentary car wash (twice!!).Although outside from the city centre, is just a five minute drive.
Excellent food (dinner and breakfast).

The Sandwich Harbour tour was a very enjoyable day tour, with Bruno , although we did not see almost any bird. Apparently they were all in the pans or anywhere else. Actually we could manage to spot a few hundreds of flamingos in Etosha Pan, next to Flamingo Island." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Yellow Canaries
UK

"Beach Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2008
"The outside of this hotel has the shape of the prow of a ship, and its windows resemle portholes. Rooms are named after wrecks along the coast, and there is a rather melancholic map showing all the ships sunk my enemy action round South Africa during the two wars. However, apart from this bizarre theme, the Beach was an excellent hotel. We were given a comfortable room facing the beach (french windows opening directly onto it), and upstairs there was an excellent restaurant with a good menu and good food. An internet point was available for guests.

The receptionist staff let the hotel down - twice failing to pass on messages, and not regarding this as a matter of any great concern.

Our very dirty car was cleaned for us before we left.

Day trip along the coast south of Swakopmund: Somewhat disappointing. Because of a high sea we were unable to reach Sandwich harbour but stayed on the dunes.

However we saw the extensive salt workings and later spent some time looking at the flamingos and pellicans (which we felt were worth watching!) and enjoyed this. Although we did not get to Sandwich Harbour, our trip was not cut short but lasted until 6.0 pm. A good and ample picnic lunch was provided." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 41-50 of 54
90%
54 reviews of Beach Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
29
23
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Swakopmund & Walvis Bay

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse is a small friendly B&B in a peaceful residential area. It's just a short walk from Swkopmund's waterfront & amenities.


95% (224 reviews)
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

Welcoming, professionally run, and mildly eccentric, Sam’s Giardino lifts the level of hospitality in Swakopmund to unusual heights.


89% (174 reviews)
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

Not your typical guesthouse, The Stiltz occupies a glorious location over the Swakop River on the edge of Swakopmund.


87% (62 reviews)
Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita is a beautifully renovated B&B in the heart of Swakopmund, with comfortable, well-appointed rooms, and friendly and attentive staff.


88% (58 reviews)
Strand Hotel

Strand Hotel

One of the larger hotels in Swakopmund, the Strand is well placed on the seafront with good access to restaurants and the centre of town.


90% (47 reviews)
Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge is a quirky little guesthouse located right on the edge of Walvis Bay Lagoon, a good spot for watching the flamingoes that frequent the area.


90% (47 reviews)
Brigadoon

Brigadoon

In a quiet residential location, Brigadoon is conveniently located for the Swakopmund waterfront and amenities.


80% (21 reviews)
Swakopmund Guesthouse

Swakopmund G'house

Swakopmund Guesthouse is a family-run B&B, boasting comfortable and high-quality rooms with a maritime touch.


82% (20 reviews)
Sandfields Guesthouse

Sandfields Guesthouse

Friendly Sandfields guesthouse is a cosy and inviting place to stay just north of Swakopmund town centre, and is particularly suitable for families with children.


92% (20 reviews)
The Delight

The Delight

The Delight is a colourful modern hotel within a short walk of the Swakopmund waterfront and main attractions.


94% (17 reviews)
Hansa Hotel

Hansa Hotel

With a very central location in Swakopmund, the traditional Hansa Hotel is reliably good, though it is quite formal.


88% (16 reviews)
Secret Garden Guesthouse

Secret Garden

Secret Garden Guesthouse is well located in the centre of Swakopmund not far from the sea. With a seaside feel, it has its own small restaurant and bar.


86% (14 reviews)
Sea Breeze Guesthouse

Sea Breeze

Just north of Swakopmund, the delightful Sea Breeze Guesthouse is bright and well-looked after with welcoming and helpful owners.


83% (12 reviews)
Organic Square

Organic Square

Organic Square is a modern guesthouse across two properties in the centre of Swakopmund.


82% (11 reviews)
Desert Breeze Lodge

Desert Breeze

Not your typical Swakopmund guesthouse, Desert Breeze occupies a glorious location overlooking the Swakop River and the desert beyond.


90% (6 reviews)
Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge sits on a remote peninsula offering panoramic views of the ocean and is only accessible by 4WD or boat.


100% (4 reviews)
Intermezzo Guesthouse

Intermezzo

In a quiet residential area just north of the town centre, Intermezzo Guesthouse is a comfortable and bright place to stay while in Swakopmund.


90% (4 reviews)
Hotel Zum Kaiser

Zum Kaiser Hotel

Hotel Zum Kaiser (formerly Swakopmund Boutique Hotel) is fairly large by Swakopmund standards, but has a good location in the centre of town, near to the beach.


80% (3 reviews)
Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse is a small, modern and comfortable B&B, overlooking Walvis Bay Lagoon.


80% (2 reviews)
Namib Guesthouse

Namib Guesthouse

The Namib Guesthouse is a small, modern B&B, set in Swakopmund's peaceful Kramersdorf area. It's just a short walk from the coast and many amenities.


70% (2 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa