This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Beach Lodge

Reviews of Beach Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

54 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Beach Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 31-40 of 54
Duration
Arrival date
JBB
Surrey

"Beach Lodge Review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Jun 2013
"Beach Lodge is a comfortable 'international style' hotel. - intriguingly designed to look like half of a beached ship!!! We were given a ground floor room which was most convenient as our vehicle could be parked outside our door on the one side and on the other a stretch of lawn led down to the waters edge.

We thoroughly enjoyed the convenience, relaxed atmosphere and excellent food." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr D & Mrs M
UK

"Luxury at Beach Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2012
"A few kilometres from the town centre, the family room at Beach Lodge provided total luxury on two floors, with huge windows and two balconies overlooking the ocean, both double and single showers plus a bath. Kitchen facilities and an eating area made it possible to enjoy a modest meal a deux - quite a luxury after so many evenings spent eating in restaurants.

The restaurant provided good seafood at a reasonable price, although it was very busy and the service was slow. Breakfast was good and we enjoyed views of the ocean from our table." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs A & Friends
UK

"Great location"

2 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2012
"The rooms were large and clean and we could walk out of the room to seating area and also to seating on the lawns which led straight on to the beach. Rooms equipped for self catering but we decided to eat in The Wreck restaurant upstairs. This was the best meal we had in Namibia, excellent choice of food and good service. And the breakfasts were as good!

Although about 10mins from Swakopmund town centre it was great to be able to walk along the beach straight from our rooms and lovely quiet situation. Would return. Car cleaning available which is great as we had to return car next day.

We arranged a day trip to Sandwich Harbour for these travellers. They commented about it:

Ernst was brilliant

The whole trip was brilliant. We spent a lot of time looking at birds, one of our interests, and then the depth of knowledge shown by Ernst of the flora and fauna and the desert itself made the experience on to remember. He even managed to help one of our party slide down the dunes at Sanwich Harbour, something she never dreamt she would do, but loved. All in all a day to remember." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs SA
Norfolk

"Very nice hotel"

2 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2012
"We thought we would have some R&R in the sun until it was explained to us that the weather is alway worse than Skegness in winter!" See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs J & Family
Dunmow

"Beach Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Jul 2012
"Lovely rooms overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. The Wreck, the restaurant, served delicious meals.

From here we did kayaking, sand boarding, sky diving and dune buggy driving." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr C & Mrs L
Kent

"Beach Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Jun 2012
"Super room right on the beach.

We ate in the on site "Wreck" restaurant. very good food, beautiful view and good prices." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sheffield x 4
UK

"Beach Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2011
"Lovely location on the beach but it was very hot when we were there.

Although there was a fan in the room it couldn't come on without the light which was a nuisance.

We organised a Turnstone Tour to Sandwich Harbor for these travellers. They commented:

Life in the sand dunes of the skeleton coast: Excellent.

This was like being with David Attenborough on tour! We had a beautiful and amazing day.

I wouldn't have missed this for anything." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr&Mrs S
ArniAG

"Beach Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Jun 2011
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Mr A & Mrs L
Norfolk

"A Good Choice"

2 nights Arrived 17 Nov 2010
"Completely different from the lodges we used elsewhere, this was a resort hotel. Situated right on the beach in a very imaginatively designed building, it is an easy 5km drive from the attractive town.

The standard rooms are large, very clean and have a balcony or terrace as well as a simple kitchen. It's not 5 star but doesn't claim to be and if you were being really picky you might say that the room had a few bumps and scrapes which could be touched up but overall we found it to be an excellent choice and have no complaints at all.

The really big surprise was 'The Wreck', the hotel's very stylish restaurant which was very good and way above our expectations. It was noticeable that most of the diners were either local or staying elsewhere. It was full each night and pre-booking is a good idea." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mrs B
Edinburgh

"Beach Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2010
"Right on the beach - great location although it is a few miles out of town. Other than a mix up over the booking - a family room is not ideal for two couples! - the rooms were very comfortable and having a fridge and kettle etc was very handy.

The restaurant at the hotel - The Wreck - has a very good menu and is much easier than driving into town for dinner. However on our first night we were told it was fully booked and only after some discussion they agreed to try and squeeze us in after some early diners were finished if we didn't mind waiting in the bar area until then. We went up to the restaurant at the agreed time and were somewhat irritated to find half the tables empty - no wait at all.

The food was very good though - so much so that we ate there again on our second night. This was the only place in our three week visit where the dining room service was poor - the head waiter was totally uninterested in serving us, spent the first evening in complaining about a table of Italians who were very late in arriving but was no more pleasant on the second evening. The other restaurant staff seemed very junior and were not of the same standard as everywhere else we visited.

Reception staff on the other hand were very helpful." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Showing 31-40 of 54
90%
54 reviews of Beach Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
29
23
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Swakopmund & Walvis Bay

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse is a small friendly B&B in a peaceful residential area. It's just a short walk from Swkopmund's waterfront & amenities.


95% (222 reviews)
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

Welcoming, professionally run, and mildly eccentric, Sam’s Giardino lifts the level of hospitality in Swakopmund to unusual heights.


89% (174 reviews)
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

Not your typical guesthouse, The Stiltz occupies a glorious location over the Swakop River on the edge of Swakopmund.


87% (62 reviews)
Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita is a beautifully renovated B&B in the heart of Swakopmund, with comfortable, well-appointed rooms, and friendly and attentive staff.


88% (58 reviews)
Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge is a quirky little guesthouse located right on the edge of Walvis Bay Lagoon, a good spot for watching the flamingoes that frequent the area.


90% (47 reviews)
Strand Hotel

Strand Hotel

One of the larger hotels in Swakopmund, the Strand is well placed on the seafront with good access to restaurants and the centre of town.


90% (47 reviews)
Brigadoon

Brigadoon

In a quiet residential location, Brigadoon is conveniently located for the Swakopmund waterfront and amenities.


80% (21 reviews)
Swakopmund Guesthouse

Swakopmund G'house

Swakopmund Guesthouse is a family-run B&B, boasting comfortable and high-quality rooms with a maritime touch.


82% (20 reviews)
Sandfields Guesthouse

Sandfields Guesthouse

Friendly Sandfields guesthouse is a cosy and inviting place to stay just north of Swakopmund town centre, and is particularly suitable for families with children.


92% (20 reviews)
The Delight

The Delight

The Delight is a colourful modern hotel within a short walk of the Swakopmund waterfront and main attractions.


94% (17 reviews)
Hansa Hotel

Hansa Hotel

With a very central location in Swakopmund, the traditional Hansa Hotel is reliably good, though it is quite formal.


88% (16 reviews)
Secret Garden Guesthouse

Secret Garden

Secret Garden Guesthouse is well located in the centre of Swakopmund not far from the sea. With a seaside feel, it has its own small restaurant and bar.


86% (14 reviews)
Sea Breeze Guesthouse

Sea Breeze

Just north of Swakopmund, the delightful Sea Breeze Guesthouse is bright and well-looked after with welcoming and helpful owners.


83% (12 reviews)
Organic Square

Organic Square

Organic Square is a modern guesthouse across two properties in the centre of Swakopmund.


82% (11 reviews)
Desert Breeze Lodge

Desert Breeze

Not your typical Swakopmund guesthouse, Desert Breeze occupies a glorious location overlooking the Swakop River and the desert beyond.


90% (6 reviews)
Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge sits on a remote peninsula offering panoramic views of the ocean and is only accessible by 4WD or boat.


100% (4 reviews)
Intermezzo Guesthouse

Intermezzo

In a quiet residential area just north of the town centre, Intermezzo Guesthouse is a comfortable and bright place to stay while in Swakopmund.


90% (4 reviews)
Hotel Zum Kaiser

Zum Kaiser Hotel

Hotel Zum Kaiser (formerly Swakopmund Boutique Hotel) is fairly large by Swakopmund standards, but has a good location in the centre of town, near to the beach.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Guesthouse

Namib Guesthouse

The Namib Guesthouse is a small, modern B&B, set in Swakopmund's peaceful Kramersdorf area. It's just a short walk from the coast and many amenities.


70% (2 reviews)
Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse is a small, modern and comfortable B&B, overlooking Walvis Bay Lagoon.


80% (2 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa