This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse


22°40’55.9"S 14°31’38.4"E

Reviews of Cornerstone Guesthouse

Wildlife sightings and reviews

251 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Cornerstone Guesthouse and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 241-250 of 251
Duration
Arrival date
Mr S & Ms M
USA

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

1 night Arrived 2 Oct 2009
"Very good. Welcoming and friendly hosts. Marked difference from Zebra River Lodge." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
W Sussex

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2009
"After the heat of the desert, arriving at Swakopmund with 15 degC was a shock but this cannot be changed unfortunately.
Cornerstone's is very conveniently located and provides good quality accomodation with a short walk into town.
The owners , Peter & Margo, were very friendly... look out for Margo's paintings they are very good indeed and should be on sale.
The rooms were very clean with a hair drier a great advantage for Particia.
Breakfast was excellent as was the packed lunches provided.
For the 1st evening meal, booked ahead by email by our hosts, we ate at " The Tug"... some of the best fish ever and with a table directly overlooking the ocean.
On the 2nd evening wanting something lighter we visited " Nonna's" and had their special meatballs.. delicious." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Ms R & Mr G
Hants

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

3 nights Arrived 20 Aug 2009
"Charming room, lovely breakfast room - everything tastefully decorated and furnished - very hospitable people who waited on us at breakfast, offered to arrange any trips we might want and to book restaurants.

Ideally placed for a stay in Swakopmund." See all these reviews: 24n in Namibia; 11n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Ms W & Ms B
Alaska

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Jul 2009
"The Cornerstone Guesthouse provides everything one would want in a bed and breakfast. The facilities were new, clean, nice, secure, all rooms have a private entrance, there was access to local tour information, a wonderful breakfast, and a host that was familiar with the area and willing to assist us with our activities. The breakfast truly offered something for just about everyone! We also enjoyed the well cared for courtyard and grounds as a place to sit and relax.

The Cornerstone is well within walking distance of downtown Swakopmund making things readily accessible. Margo was helpful in making phone calls to one of our tour providers, making recommendations for dining, and potential attractions to see. We very much enjoyed our stay there.

Expert Africa also organised a day trip to Sandwich Harbour for these travellers. They commented:

"Our guide for this trip was Ernest and he was GREAT! He was very familiar with the birds of the area and was quick to point them out. He proofed to be a very skilled driver as he navigated the dunes, etc....We enjoyed a nice amount of time in the Sandwich Harbour area. This tour was a wonderful way to get out and experience the dunes and birds of the area during our short stay. Ernest was also very good about providing history on the local area and information about the ecology of the area."" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr W & Ms G
Glamorgan

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 20 May 2009
"Very personal service.

Very happy to help with restaurant bookings and gave us a free bottle of wine when the solar power stopped working one day!" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Mr M,P&Mrs L&H
UK

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 15 May 2009
"We were really surpised out how lovely and quaint this was, we had lovely rooms and the luxury of a hair dryer. The location is excellent for the short walk to town, however if you arrive on a Saturday be aware that it is half day closing and everything closes.

The lady who was not the owner, (her name was Ellena), did everything to make our visit special, she even booked us our restaurants for our evening meal and a great trip on a catamaran to see the seals and dolpins at Walvis bay and at a special price. She even informed the Skipper that one of our party was a vegetarian and he had put on a lovely spead for all of us.

On the morning of oor trip the cook even came in early to get us an early breakfast before we went, we were really impressed." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms J x 2
Birmingham

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 10 May 2009
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Honeymooners
Surrey

"Freindly, clean, central and secure..."

3 nights Arrived 9 May 2009
"...Everything we needed. Peter was v.helpful in booking restaurants and excursions for us and Margot's paintings and lavendar biscuits in our room were nice personal touches.

We did two excursions in Swakupmund: Hot air ballooning near the moon landscape; and kayaking with seals at Walvis Bay - we'd highly recommend both." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W-J
UK

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Jan 2009
"Margo and Peter made us very welcome, being particularly concerned about my food allergy. Rooms are bright and fresh with plenty of storage space, fridge and even TV. Our bathroom, however, (room 2), whilst adequate did feel cramped.

Secure parking was excellent.

The location is good, within easy walking distance of the town centre, and felt very safe.

We'd definitely stay here again - we'd originally planned to stay at The Stiltz but are now glad we ended up at Cornerstone.

Desert & coast guided day trip - A wonderful day with the aging hippy Wayne. He was superb company, very informative and entertaining. The tides allowed us to get to Sandwich Harbour this time - an exhilarating drive with a beautiful destination. We'd recommend this trip to anyone- that's why we've been twice!

Harbour cruise - A thoroughly enjoyable morning. Seals on the boat were great fun - especially when one decided to sit on Martin's lap! The highlights for us however were the pelicans flying alongside the boat and Fritz the cormorant perching on the rail, allowing us to see just how beautiful he was.

An entire separate platter of food had been prepared for me to take my cheese allergy into account - many thanks to Mola Mola for their thoughtfulness. Throughout the trip the quality of food and drink available was excellent." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs R
Lincs

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Oct 2008
"Accommodation was first class, and within easy walking distance of the town. Peter and Margo were excellent hosts and deserve to make a success of their new venture. Highly recommended." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 241-250 of 251
94%
251 reviews of Cornerstone Guesthouse by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
184
61
6
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Swakopmund & Walvis Bay

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

Welcoming, professionally run, and mildly eccentric, Sam’s Giardino lifts the level of hospitality in Swakopmund to unusual heights.


88% (173 reviews)
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

Not your typical guesthouse, The Stiltz occupies a glorious location over the Swakop River on the edge of Swakopmund.


88% (64 reviews)
Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita is a beautifully renovated B&B in the heart of Swakopmund, with comfortable, well-appointed rooms, and friendly and attentive staff.


87% (60 reviews)
Strand Hotel

Strand Hotel

One of the larger hotels in Swakopmund, the Strand is well-placed on the seafront with good access to restaurants and the centre of town.


90% (56 reviews)
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

Right on the sea front, Beach Lodge offers good standard accommodation and its own restaurant, 15 minutes’ drive from Swakopmund.


90% (54 reviews)
Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge is a quirky little guesthouse located right on the edge of Walvis Bay Lagoon, a good spot for watching the flamingoes that frequent the area.


90% (48 reviews)
The Delight

The Delight

Colourful and contemporary in style, The Delight is a relatively large hotel within a short walk of Swakopmund's waterfront, restaurants and main attractions.


93% (24 reviews)
Brigadoon

Brigadoon

In a quiet residential location, Brigadoon is conveniently located for the Swakopmund waterfront and amenities.


80% (21 reviews)
Swakopmund Guesthouse

Swakopmund G'house

Swakopmund Guesthouse is a family-run B&B, boasting comfortable and high-quality rooms with a maritime touch.


82% (21 reviews)
Sandfields Guesthouse

Sandfields Guesthouse

Friendly Sandfields guesthouse is a cosy and inviting place to stay just north of Swakopmund town centre, and is particularly suitable for families with children.


92% (20 reviews)
Hansa Hotel

Hansa Hotel

With a very central location in Swakopmund, the traditional Hansa Hotel is reliably good, though it is quite formal.


88% (17 reviews)
Secret Garden Guesthouse

Secret Garden

Secret Garden Guesthouse is well located in the centre of Swakopmund not far from the sea. With a seaside feel, it has its own small restaurant and bar.


86% (14 reviews)
Sea Breeze Guesthouse

Sea Breeze

Just north of Swakopmund, the delightful Sea Breeze Guesthouse is bright and well-looked after with welcoming and helpful owners.


83% (12 reviews)
Organic Square

Organic Square

Organic Square is a modern guesthouse across two properties in the centre of Swakopmund.


82% (11 reviews)
Desert Breeze Lodge

Desert Breeze

Not your typical Swakopmund guesthouse, Desert Breeze occupies a glorious location overlooking the Swakop River and the desert beyond.


91% (7 reviews)
Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge sits on a remote peninsula offering panoramic views of the ocean and is only accessible by 4WD or boat.


100% (4 reviews)
Intermezzo Guesthouse

Intermezzo

In a quiet residential area just north of the town centre, Intermezzo Guesthouse is a comfortable and bright place to stay while in Swakopmund.


90% (4 reviews)
Hotel Zum Kaiser

Zum Kaiser Hotel

Hotel Zum Kaiser (formerly Swakopmund Boutique Hotel) is fairly large by Swakopmund standards, but has a good location in the centre of town, near to the beach.


80% (3 reviews)
Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse is a small, modern and comfortable B&B, overlooking Walvis Bay Lagoon.


73% (3 reviews)
Namib Guesthouse

Namib Guesthouse

The Namib Guesthouse is a small, modern B&B, set in Swakopmund's peaceful Kramersdorf area. It's just a short walk from the coast and many amenities.


70% (2 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa