This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse


22°40’55.9"S 14°31’38.4"E

Reviews of Cornerstone Guesthouse

Wildlife sightings and reviews

277 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Cornerstone Guesthouse and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 241-250 of 277
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs K
Nottingham

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2011
"Excellent accommodation and service. Beautiful comfortable rooms with chairs and table outside. Lovely garden areas.

Owners extremely pleasant and helpful.

Probably the best breakfast of our whole trip! (and there were plenty of other good ones too)" See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Middlesex

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Jul 2011
"Helpful staff, great breakfast, pristine room and dining room, very central.

Helpful advice, including booking restaurant and how to get to places." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr C B & family
UK

"Gorgeous Cornerstone Guesthouse"

2 nights Arrived 21 Jul 2011
"In middle of residential area in Swak, everywhere walkable. Stunningly converted house, beautiful room with high quality bed linen and towels. Very luxurious. We had family room, which was really a one bed apartment with kitchen which had 2 extra beds put in. This worked fine.

Really delicious breakfast in stylish dining room. Very friendly and helpful people, got lots of good useful info. We felt comfortable and at home. We had driven through Walvis Bay and were sorry that we hadnt booked one of the guesthouses on the Esplanade with great views across the bay, but Cornerstone was so special that we didnt regret our decision. Swak was great, nice beach walks, our boys loved the crystal museum and the snake museum." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
The E family
Bath

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

1 night Arrived 20 Jul 2011
"It is necessary to book for dinner if you wish to visit a restaurant in Swakopmund - even if you are out early.

We had some difficulty but then found an excellent restaurant slightly out of the way at the Boutique Hotel" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Dr K
Cheshire

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

1 night Arrived 18 Jul 2011
"Very nice place for a stopover in Swakopmund." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
T Family
Auckland

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

4 nights Arrived 30 Jun 2011
"The pictures of the Guesthouse do not do it justice !

Our room was set in a graden of lavender and was decorated in clean fresh colours. As we were here for 3 nights we were concerned about space - but the room offered it (as well as a TV where we could watch the Crusaders play rugby !!). The rooms are also well equipped with fridge, kettle, coffee grounds etc

The owners were wonderful - as my son put it - "Peter is such a nice man because not only is he the boss but he also gets in and does the work with all the staff as well". Peter was knowledgable in the activities available (we ended up doing everything he suggested), recommended some great restaurants and even booked them for us and generally made us feel so welcome.

Having a free internet service was also a major bonus ! A wonderful 3 days - thank you !" See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia; 5n in Mozambique; 4n in Zimbabwe; 2n in South Africa; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mrs & Prof R
UK

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

4 nights Arrived 19 Jun 2011
"An ideal place to stay in Swakopmund (we had 4 nights there).

Very quiet, pleasant room and gardens, lovely breakfasts and a proprietor - Peter - who could not have been more friendly and helpful. The wi-fi and TV were a bonus. Very convenient location to walk to shops, museums and restaurants.

Highly recommended.

Whilst staying here, Expert Africa organised a Pelican Point kayaking trip for these travellers, who commented:

"A magical, well- organised kayaking trip in amongst the seals and then beyond the point into the open sea to see dolphins. The excellent guide took photos which she gave us on a disc before we left Swakopmund. Highly recommended."

We also organised a day trip to Sandwich Harbour, about which they commented:

"Excellent very knowlegable and experienced guide - Axel. A lovely day, though it was a very expensive trip."" See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr G & Mrs S
Aberdeen

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Jun 2011
"This was the best B&B on our trip. Reception excellent and incredibly helpful - super room. Dinner bookings were made and we were given mobile phones in case we got lost around Swakopmund. Breakfast was excellent. We had dinner at the Hansa Hotel and the Tug restaurant - both were excellent.

We went on Tommy's Living Desert Tour which was very good - the desert environment was explained and we saw a good deal of the wildlife - we would recommend the tour.

We visited the Crystal Gallery - superb display of crystals and some interesting jewellery for sale." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs F
Brazil

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Jun 2011
"We were very happy at the Cornerstone Guesthouse. They have a really helpfull and friendly staff.

Like other places we stayed in, they have some problems with hot running water. It was not serious, but could be better. The room we had was a bit small, but they have bigger ones." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr&Mrs P,Mr M,Ms B
UK

"Good location to explore Swakopmund"

2 nights Arrived 6 Jun 2011
"Another long and dusty ride brought us to Cornerstone, the oasis we required.
Staff friendly and helpfull.

Peter, the owner, did not hesitate to fit a panel heater in our room on these surprisingly cold Swakopmund nights.
The town is small and easily walked and on a grid system.
Provision stock-up at Pick 'n' Pay supermarket. The museum is a must.
Plenty of places to eat." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 241-250 of 277
94%
277 reviews of Cornerstone Guesthouse by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
201
70
5
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Swakopmund & Walvis Bay

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

Welcoming, professionally run, and mildly eccentric, Sam’s Giardino lifts the level of hospitality in Swakopmund to unusual heights.


88% (173 reviews)
Strand Hotel

Strand Hotel

One of the larger hotels in Swakopmund, the Strand is well-placed on the seafront with good access to restaurants and the centre of town.


89% (68 reviews)
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

Not your typical guesthouse, The Stiltz occupies a glorious location over the Swakop River on the edge of Swakopmund.


88% (64 reviews)
Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita is a beautifully renovated B&B in the heart of Swakopmund, with comfortable, well-appointed rooms, and friendly and attentive staff.


88% (63 reviews)
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

Right on the sea front, Beach Lodge offers good standard accommodation and its own restaurant, 15 minutes’ drive from Swakopmund.


90% (55 reviews)
Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge is a quirky little guesthouse located right on the edge of Walvis Bay Lagoon, a good spot for watching the flamingoes that frequent the area.


90% (48 reviews)
The Delight

The Delight

Colourful and contemporary in style, The Delight is a relatively large hotel within a short walk of Swakopmund's waterfront, restaurants and main attractions.


93% (32 reviews)
Swakopmund Guesthouse

Swakopmund G'house

Swakopmund Guesthouse is a family-run B&B, boasting comfortable and high-quality rooms with a maritime touch.


80% (24 reviews)
Brigadoon

Brigadoon

In a quiet residential location, Brigadoon is conveniently located for the Swakopmund waterfront and amenities.


80% (21 reviews)
Sandfields Guesthouse

Sandfields Guesthouse

Friendly Sandfields guesthouse is a cosy and inviting place to stay just north of Swakopmund town centre, and is particularly suitable for families with children.


92% (20 reviews)
Hansa Hotel

Hansa Hotel

With a very central location in Swakopmund, the traditional Hansa Hotel is reliably good, though it is quite formal.


89% (18 reviews)
Secret Garden Guesthouse

Secret Garden

Secret Garden Guesthouse is well located in the centre of Swakopmund not far from the sea. With a seaside feel, it has its own small restaurant and bar.


86% (14 reviews)
Sea Breeze Guesthouse

Sea Breeze

Just north of Swakopmund, the delightful Sea Breeze Guesthouse is bright and well-looked after with welcoming and helpful owners.


83% (12 reviews)
Organic Square

Organic Square

Organic Square is a modern guesthouse across two properties in the centre of Swakopmund.


82% (11 reviews)
Desert Breeze Lodge

Desert Breeze

Not your typical Swakopmund guesthouse, Desert Breeze occupies a glorious location overlooking the Swakop River and the desert beyond.


91% (9 reviews)
Cornerstone Apartments

Cornerstone Apartments

Cornerstone Guesthouse’s three self-catering apartments, each in its own unique location, work well for families or groups of travellers seeking space & privacy within a comfortable, contemporary setting.


95% (8 reviews)
Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge sits on a remote peninsula offering panoramic views of the ocean and is only accessible by 4WD or boat.


94% (7 reviews)
Intermezzo Guesthouse

Intermezzo

In a quiet residential area just north of the town centre, Intermezzo Guesthouse is a comfortable and bright place to stay while in Swakopmund.


90% (4 reviews)
Hotel Zum Kaiser

Zum Kaiser Hotel

Hotel Zum Kaiser (formerly Swakopmund Boutique Hotel) is fairly large by Swakopmund standards, but has a good location in the centre of town, near to the beach.


80% (3 reviews)
Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse is a small, modern and comfortable B&B, overlooking Walvis Bay Lagoon.


73% (3 reviews)
Namib Guesthouse

Namib Guesthouse

The Namib Guesthouse is a small, modern B&B, set in Swakopmund's peaceful Kramersdorf area. It's just a short walk from the coast and many amenities.


70% (2 reviews)
Pearls Beach Pods

Pearls Beach Pods

With a beachfront location, superb sea views and easy access to the amenities of Swakopmund, The Pearls Beach Pods combine privacy with a high standard of luxury.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa