This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Halali Camp
Halali Camp
Halali Camp

Reviews of Halali Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

316 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Halali Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 24 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Halali Camp.
Lion

86% success

Leopard

42% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Giraffe

96% success

Oryx

95% success

Wildebeest

91% success

Black Rhino

76% success

Spotted Hyena

52% success

White Rhino

37% success

Eland

26% success

Brown Hyena

11% success

Sable antelope

7% success

Roan antelope

5% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 91-100 of 316
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs & Mr W
Dorset

"Wish we had stayed longer!"

1 night Arrived 14 Nov 2014
"Our room had recently been refurbished so was more up to date and fresher than Okakuejo. Food was a bit more interesting and because there were fewer guests, it was a bit more personal.

Because we were only there one night, we did not make a lot of use of the waterhole, but it was a lovely setting." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs W
Lanarkshir

"Halali Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2014
"A good base water hole not so well used as Okaukuejo but rhinos came at night, Spectacular setting when we had a lightening storm over the pan when the sun was setting" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs T
Hampshire

"Halali ok"

1 night Arrived 23 Oct 2014
"The problem is that it gets compared to Okonjima and Okakueju and it is not in the same league" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr M & Ms H
UK

"Halali Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Oct 2014
"We were in a Bush chalet, which was comfortable and clean, if in bit of a need of some maintenance, we did report the worst items. We found we needed to keep the air conditioning on to keep a reasonable temperature - there was not much shade around the chalets. There were braii facilities and a small kitchen area with sink, fridge and kettle and tea and coffee, but nothing supplied to cook with - just 2 plates and 2 knives, 2 forks, and 2 spoons. We did manage to cook an improvised basic meal. It was a disappointment as part of our request was the ability to do some self catering as we had at Eagles Nest the previous year.

The camp was busy but the staff were helpful, and we saw several Rhinos at the waterhole in the evening.

The main road to Okaukujeo was in good condition, but side roads were full of potholes and were very slow going. However, it was worth venturing off the main road, as we had excellent game sightings at some of the more out of the way waterholes.

We tried to book onto a NWR morning game drive here but it was very disorganised and were told to keep going back to reception through the evening to see if one was running the next morning, so we were unable to get to the waterhole to watch the animals come in at dusk. In the end the reception staff said there would be no morning game drive as they were still unable to contact the guides and had no idea where they were, or what they were doing! The morning after that there was a game drive, however, of all the game drives we have been on over the years, it seemed half hearted and not very well organised and water was not provided for everyone. This was a shame, but we did however enjoy our stay and the breakfast in the restaurant was very good.
" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Ms J & Ms C
UK

"Halali Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2014
"halali was like a butlins holiday camp and would not recommend this at all. Swimming pool good" See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Average
Mrs B
Hampshire

"Halali Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2014
"Had the same chalet as last visit a good position under a Mopane tree The room was large and comfortable, with better supplied catering materials than the previous stop. The food was good, nicely served outside with self service and excellent Kudu steak.

We did a morning game drive which was good value and we saw small animals eg bat eared fox and wild cat which we would not have seen without the guide to point them out.

The shop is good, with A/C and well stocked, better than Okaukuejo" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs M
Midlothian

"Pros & Cons"

1 night Arrived 4 Oct 2014
"By far the biggest, most unattractive and charmless of places we stayed on the trip, no smiles at reception on check in. Our room was a 'bush cabin' set away from the main area and it was spacious and clean, if a bit basic.

The food was hit & miss - buffet starter (chicken nuggets & lettuce!), had to ask for bread twice, both times the request met by a huge sigh and stomping off), huge queues for main courses, it was bit like school dinners. However, the steak was really good, and after being told that there was nothing special for vegetarian, they did offer to make an omelette but not for 20 minutes. 30 mins passed, G enquired about the omelette only to be asked if wouldn't prefer the vegetarian special instead! Which he said was really nice - roasted veg & mushrooms in a creamy sauce with rice.

Another positive was the waterhole - terraced seating, watched rhino's charging each other and scaring off hyenas. Kudu, springbok, impala etc. A nice quiet place any time of the day.

And, despite everything else, we had a great sleep - very quiet, very comfortable bed and pillows. And the breakfast was surprisingly good - again a massive queue for a made-to-order omelette but it was very nice, as was the coffee.

Positives and negatives, least favourite accommodation of the trip, but it is right in the middle of the park and was fine for one night." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr L
Bristol

"Halali Camp review"

1 night Arrived 3 Oct 2014
"Accommodation clean and comfortable in separate chalets. Restaurant OK but no separate bar area. Food served buffet style.

But as at Okaukuejo, the reason for staying here is ease of access to the game-park. We were up at the crack of dawn to continue our animal experiences." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs P
Surrey

"Halali Camp review"

1 night Arrived 11 Sep 2014
"The bush chalet was basic but clean and comfortable. Food was basic but ok.

Waterhole viewing was not as good as Okaukeujo, but we may have just been unlucky.

The standard of the camp was what what we expected so no complaints," See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 6n in Mozambique; 3n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr J & Ms J
Devon

"Halali OK"

2 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2014
"Halali is in a good position for a trip through Etosha, but as we had a bad experience at Okaukeujo, we opted for meals from the Kiosk, which we were told were available until 6pm each night.

However on the 2 occasions we tried to get food, we were told that they finished at 5pm and it was only after insisting, that we actually got anything. A mis-communication between reception and the kitchen.

Our Bush suite was very nice." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Showing 91-100 of 316
79%
316 reviews of Halali Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
83
153
65
13
2
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Camp is a large, well-equipped restcamp, with a productive floodlit waterhole.


83% (639 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (237 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (144 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


93% (79 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (77 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (35 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (21 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lode. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa