This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Halali Camp
Halali Camp
Halali Camp

Reviews of Halali Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

316 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Halali Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 24 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Halali Camp.
Lion

86% success

Leopard

42% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Giraffe

96% success

Oryx

95% success

Wildebeest

91% success

Black Rhino

76% success

Spotted Hyena

52% success

White Rhino

37% success

Eland

26% success

Brown Hyena

11% success

Sable antelope

7% success

Roan antelope

5% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 231-240 of 316
Duration
Arrival date
Mr C & Ms S
Colorado

"Halali Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Jul 2009
"Spent one whole day watching a lion family by a waterhole. Saw rhino and elephant vying for space at the waterhole at night, leopard come to drink, and hoards of sandgrouse at the waterholes at dusk.

Quieter than the bigger camp, lovely room, good food. Really liked the notion that we could just sit and watch the animals come to the waterholes. I would suggest Etosha after people have been other places with guides so they know what they are seeing and are better at spotting critters, because otherwise it would be easy not to see as many animals as we did." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Professor & Mrs M
UK

"Halali Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2009
"Rom OK, but camp as a whole lacked character. We were supposed to be in 'the honeymoon lodge' but were placed in a 'superior bush lodge' - Elephant I think - is this the same thing? Room was fine, but for 'honeymoon lodge' were expecting something special.

Dodn't take part in any activities" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Miss F & Mr E
NL

"Halali Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Jul 2009
"A much better experience despite also being Government run.

The room was better but still had no extra blankets, but there were less children and less pushy people which made for a more enjoyable experience. Even at the waterhole the people were quieter...., although this must be one of the quietest waterholes for wildlife on the whole trip..!!

The food was much better and the overall experience was much more relaxed." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr A & Ms B
UK

"Halali Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Jun 2009
"Halali Rest Camp was a generally disappointing experience. The staff were rude and made us feel very unwelcome.... every time we asked for anything (i.e. a drink in the bar) it was as if we were putting them out..

The evening menu remained the same both nights, and was an excessive amount of meat (Game or Pork) served in a griddle such that all of the accompanying vegetables with bathed in fat...

We paid to do the night drive, and our guide seemed to lose interest within 10 minutes of leaving the lodge, providing little enthusiasm or explanation." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Terrible
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs C
Lancashire

"Halali Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 11 Jun 2009
"Excellent camp, good food and friendly staff. Perfection would be achieved if the waterhole could be exchanged with Okaukuejo's." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr Z & Mrs O
NL

"Halali Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Jun 2009
"Our stay in the Etosha National Park (for us the main attraction of Namibia) was unforgettable. The first night we sat at the Moringa waterhole (Halali's own floodlit waterhole) we encountered five rhinos (including two youngsters). Two of them were argueing with two bull elephants. Breathtaking!

The great possibilities to watch game alone is a reason to stay a couple of nights inside the park in one of the three camps. We only stayed at Halali, but I think if you come back we will probably spend some days in the others camps as well. About Halali: the rooms were good, the food was reasonable and the overall atmosphere was okay too. The camp does not have the class and tastefulness of the lodges we stayed in outside Etosha, but everything is just fine and staying in the middle of the park compensates a lot!

We made one guided morning drive, which was mainly very cold. Our guide was a very nice guy, but we did not saw a lot, so we have the feeling that you simply need a lot a luck to see the more special animals. On our own drives through the park we have seen, besides the widespread game species, a leopard, lions, a lonesome rhino, hyenas, many giraffes, and massive herds of elephants." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Leicester

"Halali Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Jun 2009
"We much preferred Halali to Okaukejo overall. It's setting had a much more intimate feel to it and the natural setting of the bush-chalets in scrub and grass was much nicer and had the added benefit that there was a considerable amount of bird activity including a variety of hornbills which we were able to watch as we barbequed our oryx steaks (highly recommended). As at Okaukejo food supplies at the shop were very limited as was the choice of wine. The rooms were lovely and the kitchen and bathroom more than adequate. The floodlit water hole is about a 10 minute stroll away and, whilst not attracting the volume of game we saw at Okaukejo for us had a more natural feel to it and we were lucky enough to see 4 black rhino on our second/final evening.." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr A & Ms G
Ireland

"Halali Camp review"

1 night Arrived 17 May 2009
"We were pleasantly surprised with the facilities at Halali Camp. We had booked this place as it was a pit stop half way through the park. we had had a very eventful day seeing lots of lions and elephants and many other animals and were just expecting a basic room at Halali. we had a nice room and we were pleasantly suprised with the buffet dinner that was offered to us.

the water hole is a great locaion to sit and see many animals.

Halali is a great pit stop for all types of traveller." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Miss M & Mr M
Ireland

"Halali Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 17 May 2009
"The chalet we stayed in was very spacious and it was great to have a seperate kitchen/living area.

The flood lit water hole was great and the camp was more peaceful and less crowded that Okaukuejo!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs J
Epsom

"Halali, base for central Etosha"

2 nights Arrived 10 May 2009
"Our grading for this site is influenced by the Premier Bush Chalets we were allocated. Well equipped, conveniently located and the jacuzzi in the private garden was a welcome bonus afer a long day on the gravel roads in the park. It seemed to us that there was more game to be seen in the Eastern half ot the Pan area of the park, we were very satisfied with the number of lions seen, and with the rhino & elephant activity at the Halali waterhole. Your website description is again very accurate, I would recommend this restcamp." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Showing 231-240 of 316
79%
316 reviews of Halali Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
83
153
65
13
2
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Camp is a large, well-equipped restcamp, with a productive floodlit waterhole.


83% (641 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (237 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (144 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


92% (80 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (77 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (36 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (22 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lode. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Oberland Lodge promises a convenient base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet
Etosha King Nehale

Etosha King Nehale

A short drive from the national park’s northern entrance, Etosha King Nehale Lodge is an interesting and comfortable base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa