This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Halali Camp
Halali Camp
Halali Camp

Reviews of Halali Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

316 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Halali Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 24 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Halali Camp.
Lion

86% success

Leopard

42% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Giraffe

96% success

Oryx

95% success

Wildebeest

91% success

Black Rhino

76% success

Spotted Hyena

52% success

White Rhino

37% success

Eland

26% success

Brown Hyena

11% success

Sable antelope

7% success

Roan antelope

5% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 71-80 of 316
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs V
Boulder

"Ok experience at Halali Camp"

1 night Arrived 17 Jul 2016
"I think my expectations were set too high regarding Halali camp due to the article I had read in Wall Street Jounral. Compared to Okaukuejo camp, I thought the facilities and the food was worse here. I know everyone will have a different experience at each waterhole based on the specific day and time of day. We had much more luck at other waterholes along the way and at Okaukuejo camp than at Halali.

The dinner was dismal. There was supposed to be wait staff, but they were overloaded and could not get to all the tables. Dinner was below average; breakfast was better." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia; 3n in Zambia; 2n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs C
Droitwich

"Halali Camp review"

1 night Arrived 17 Jul 2016
"Comments pretty much as for Okaukuejo camp as regards the accommodation although the room was of better quality and size.

We were rather disappointed with the waterhole both as regards its location and the number of animals seen (only one small herd of Elephants)

A good central location with plenty of waterholes around the area and a good midway location within the park." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr B
Enniskillen

"Halali Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Jul 2016
"After the luxury of Namutoni Halali was a little more as we had expected with smaller, more basic rooms a little squashed with a matrass on the floor for the third person in our room but that was fine. It was clean, comfortable and fulfilled our needs.

The swimming pool was great, the warterhole absolutely superb, the restaurant very good and food very good and varied over our two nights. The staff seemed a little disorganised but all worked out fine. We had some laundry done, no problems and took part in an excellent night drive with a very knowledgeable guide with us staying out beyond the three hours expected and seeing amazing wildlife. It was very well organized and thought through with warm ponchos, refreshments etc which were perfect for my 80yr old mother and 11yr old daughter.

One thought for all of the camps was the lack of information available on wildlife, where to see what, a daily sightings list from the waterholes, we discovered African Scops Owl was sitting in the morning by reception by chance in talking with the night drive guide. Lots / most of visitors have come for the wildlife and perhaps mainly the big mammals but I sure many more people would have loved to see the beautiful owl sitting in full view as they walked past every day. Perhaps a sign about how to contact a guide to talk about what is around at the time etc would be helpful.

Nature Reserves worldwide are at pains to communicate with visitors to give them as much information as possible (I work on nature reserves in UK) I think a public noticeboard for staff and visitors to write their daily sightings would be a great source of information and give a live feel to what is going on during people's visits" See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Dale & Sue
Sleaford

"A secluded camp set in the Mopani"

2 nights Arrived 7 Jun 2016
"Set among some of the few hills in Etosha and in Mopane woodland this seems like the most secluded of the ENP camps. The chalets are more dispersed than Okakuejo and are spacious, well maintained and kept clean and tidy.

The waterhole is spectacular, set away from the camp so there's little noise to disturb the peace. An outcrop of rock has been cleverly used to create a natural amphitheatre with the waterhole just a few dozen metres distant. A herd of elephants visit in the early evening and surely there can't be too many better places in Africa to watch these animals at close range and not in a vehicle. Black rhino are also in regular attendance and the two species certainly don't appreciate each others company.

The nearby Goas waterhole must be one of the best in the park. An early morning visit revealed saw the place deserted but closer inspection revealed a small pride of lions on what little remained of a zebra, explaining the lack of the usual impala, kudu and zebra. The rest of the morning saw hyena, jackals and vultures awaiting their turn, warily keeping an eye out for returning lions.

The quizzine in the camp restaurant could do with improving but we've commented on this for Okaukaejo and Halali is identical. All in all though, a very pleasant stay. A smell in the chalet could be due to over zealous use of insecticide." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 8n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Good
Mrs & Mr F
BC

"Halali Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 30 May 2016
"We were pleasantly surprised with Halali, after our negative experience at Dolomite. The chalet was spacious, well maintained, and in a very quiet area. Food was good. It is served buffet style but meat is cooked to order at dinner and eggs are cooked to order at breakfast.

Most of the staff were very pleasant and efficient although there were a few in the dining room that wandered around without doing much. As wine drinkers we were disappointed that they did not have most of the wines on their wine list and we could only get wine by the bottle. The only wine available by the glass was a sweet white which seemed very strange. However our overall experience here was good.

The location is excellent as a base for game drives and the waterhole is good, especially for rhinos and elephants." See all these reviews: 27n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms HHL
Taiwan

"Nice waterhole!"

1 night Arrived 4 May 2016
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr K & Mrs N
UK

"Bush Chalet at Halali"

1 night Arrived 26 Mar 2016
"Again, standard rest camp. We stayed in a bush chalet which was in much better condition than the family room we previously stayed in at Halali. Very spacious and clean.

The food was again good (game meat for dinner was cooked perfectly). The staff were not as helpful as those at Okaukuejo but still everything was reasonable, particularly bearing in mind that this is government run and relatively low cost.

There were elephants at the waterhole and rhino as the sun went down. Waterhole seating area had trash cans overflowing but when we returned a few days later this had all been removed. We would stay here again as it's good value and better to be inside the park than taking the drive out and back in each day." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Mr T & Ms M
W Molesey

"Ok for short stay"

2 nights Arrived 19 Dec 2015
"Halali seems to be suffering from lack of maintenance these days and feels slightly more run down than our last visit.

Maybe more staff enthusiam might help.

Rooms are OK but the evening meal was not good value or appetising we didn't bother the second night." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Dr K & Mr M
Australia

"Underwhelming accomodation but great location"

1 night Arrived 5 Nov 2015
"Mainly a rest stop and fine for that purpose. The rooms were very odd - with space that could have been used as a kitchenette but lacking equipment, and the bathroom was quite impractical for the space available.

We were fortunate to see a rhino at the water hole, but in some ways it was nicer elsewhere in the park seeing the animals from ground level, rather than the elevated viewing platform at the camp." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 5n in Zimbabwe; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr B & Mrs E
Surrey

"Good central location for Etosha"

4 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2015
"Much better than we expected. The bush chalets are very spacious and conveniently located for the main facilities, which were very good. The food was fine and we didn't mind the buffet style because it allowed us free choice. The buffet was restocked continuously, so there were no shortages.

The waterhole is a little remote from the chalets (unlike Okaukuejo!) and we saw little wildlife. Others reported a small herd of black rhino one morning, but we saw only birds, a jackel and a hanging bat.

There are, though, some great waterholes to visit. Chodop (nearer Namutoni) was absolutely full - 20+ giraffe, 6 elephants, a hyena and loads of zebra when we went." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 71-80 of 316
79%
316 reviews of Halali Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
83
153
65
13
2
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Camp is a large, well-equipped restcamp, with a productive floodlit waterhole.


83% (639 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (237 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (144 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


93% (79 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (77 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (35 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (21 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lode. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Onderland Lodge promises a convenient base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa