This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp

Reviews of Okaukuejo Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

636 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okaukuejo Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 46 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okaukuejo Camp.
Lion

79% success

Leopard

6% success

Cheetah

11% success

Giraffe

98% success

Oryx

98% success

Elephant

98% success

Zebra

96% success

Wildebeest

91% success

Black Rhino

90% success

Spotted Hyena

51% success

Eland

42% success

White Rhino

26% success

Roan antelope

19% success

Brown Hyena

16% success

Sable antelope

15% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 431-440 of 636
Duration
Arrival date
The Ramblers
UK

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 25 May 2011
"Although much larger than the other places we stayed in, this was an enjoyable stay. The restaurant is busy and large but the self service buffet is of a fairly good standard. The location within the park boundaries is excellent, as is the waterhole on site, at which we saw large herds of zebra and an elephant at sunset." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mrs T Mrs N
UK

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 7 May 2011
"We appreciate that this camp is a very different venue to our other lodges, vaguely reminscent of a 1950's Butlins Holiday Camp, however it doesn't excuse the very rude and disinterested welcome we received on arrival. Although the rooms were quite well appointed and very clean they were rather claustrophobic.

The food left a lot to be desired (but perhaps we had been spoilt) and again the service was generally unfriendly.

We enjoyed the Etosha reserve and wouldn't have missed the experience. The food. rooms etc didn't matter that much is was just we were made to feel as though we were a bit of nuisance!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Terrible
Facilities:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Nick & Bev
UK

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 6 May 2011
"This lodge doesn't really measure up to the high standard of the others we stayed at, but there is nothing specifically wrong with it. The waterhole chalet was fine and everything looked clean and tidy.

It has more of a "Butlins holiday camp" atmosphere - mainly due to its size, the buffet style restaurant and noisy swimming pool area.
The food was decent enough but the restaurant needs to invest in some mosquito coils and "zappers", this was the only place we were bothered by insects.

Around the camp many of the side roads were closed so access to waterholes was restricted. There was also far less wildlife around at this end of the park compared to the eastern end around Namutoni.

With hindsight one night here would have been enough, gving more time in Damaraland." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs K
USA

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 1 May 2011
"Waterhole chalet not worth premium price since no view from room." See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Mr & Mrs C
Co Durham

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Apr 2011
"After reading other comments on Okaukuejo we thought this place was going to be dissapointing, how wrong we where, reception and restaurant staff where very efficient and friendly. The food was as good as anywhere else we stayed.

Our only reservation was with the Kiosk, one hard pressed lady doing her best to satisfy a constant demand, she could do with some assistance." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Earlsfield

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Apr 2011
"Adequate for what it is as a large, high turnover camp with a monopoly in the area. Worth it for the location inside the park." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
6
Whangarei

"Good location inside Etosha NP"

2 nights Arrived 16 Apr 2011
"Okaukuejo exceeded our expectations - the 'restcamp' was more like a 'resort'. Large complex, great pool area, pools were large and clean. We stayed in beautiful chalets near the waterhole. The rooms were very comfortable, good mosquito nets, clean bathrooms. The evening buffet was VG. We were surprised to find a black-backed jackal wandering around inside the camp, but later realised he was probably a 'resident' as the staff didn't appear too concerned.

Great location for self-drive game viewing inside Etosha NP. Good idea to view the log book and see where the latest sightings have been.
Because of the recent plentiful rains, the wildlife were scattered far and wide and there was no need for them to visit the waterhole at night, so it was deserted. Some of the roads within the park area were also closed due to flooding.

We went on an organised game drive at night, but this was disappointing more because of a sub-standard, disinterested driver, rather than the scarcity of wildlife. We came across plenty of wildlife on our own drives during the day. Recommend staying 2 nights here, and 2 nights Namutoni at the other end of Etosha NP." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Hereford

"The wet season is a different experience."

2 nights Arrived 15 Apr 2011
"Accommodation was more than adequate, the food as before was good for breakfast but the evening meal was poor value for money.

As expected the water holes were empty of game but large collections of springbok and zebra were spread out over the planes to the west as advised by the staff in reception." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr W & Miss H
London

"Amazing location but busy"

2 nights Arrived 14 Apr 2011
"The camp itself was good - if a little dated/tired - but the reason everyone comes is the wildlife rather than the accomodation. We were a little unlucky with the late rainy meaning no animals came to the camp waterhole the entire time of our stay (3 nights) - this meant we did a fair bit of driving around the park - which was just as much fun and we still saw pretty much everything we wanted - Lions, Leopards, etc.

We definitely recommend doing the camp's night drive (about £30pp), the guide was a great driver, very knowledgeable, had some good chat, and had phenomenal eyesight.

The food at the camp restaurant was standard buffet fare - early arrival recommended for frozen ice cream - but on Tues and Thurs a local school choir performs and they are brilliant!" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Activities:
Good
Mr S & Ms M
Dorking

"Good base for Western Etosha."

2 nights Arrived 27 Mar 2011
"Although we had come across some expressed concerns about the standard of Govt. run facilities we were very pleasantly surprised at the overall high quality we encountered at Okaukuejo Camp. We would have no hesitation in making a repeat visit! The staff proved friendly & helpful.

We saw no particular advantage at embarking on any organised safari & were able instead to drive ourselves around Etosha with ease." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Showing 431-440 of 636
83%
636 reviews of Okaukuejo Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
235
281
99
19
2
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Halali Camp

Halali Camp

Halali is a large, government-run restcamp in a convenient central location inside Etosha National Park.


79% (319 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (237 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (144 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


93% (79 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (77 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (36 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (22 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lode. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Onderland Lodge promises a convenient base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa