This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp

Reviews of Okaukuejo Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

635 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okaukuejo Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 45 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okaukuejo Camp.
Lion

79% success

Leopard

3% success

Cheetah

12% success

Giraffe

98% success

Oryx

98% success

Elephant

98% success

Zebra

95% success

Wildebeest

91% success

Black Rhino

90% success

Spotted Hyena

50% success

Eland

40% success

White Rhino

27% success

Roan antelope

19% success

Brown Hyena

16% success

Sable antelope

15% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 421-430 of 635
Duration
Arrival date
Drs
Brisbane

"Pleasantly surprised by Okaukuejo!"

2 nights Arrived 9 Jul 2011
"We spent two nights at Okaukuejo as we wanted to stay in Etosha, and also wanted to be able to view the Okaukuejo waterhole at night. We last stayed there in 2005 when we found the rooms to be perfectly adequate, but a little basic and tired. We were very pleasantly surprised and impressed by the refurbishments. Our room (a bush chalet) was great.

The renovation and upgrading has turned the camp into a very pleasant and enjoyable place to stay. Okaukuejo is a fairly busy camp, but it has a "buzz" and good atmosphere. The waterhole is recommended, particularly at sundown.

We found the camp to be well run. The staff were pleasant and efficient, and the check in and check out were both quick and painless.

In particular we would recommend the restaurant. We found it to be much better than Halali and Namutoni. The Okaukuejo Restuarant was a pleasure to eat in. It was busy, but the atmosphere was good and the staff were polite and efficient. It is very well run and serves a variety of well prepared and appetising food in a well organised buffet style. The executive chef was a very pleasant gentleman who was always on hand welcoming guests and asking for feedback on the food." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Notts

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Jul 2011
"See comments for Halali

Expert Africa had told us that self catering was not an option now the camps had been upgraded. There may have been a misunderstanding but it is still possible. There were braai at both camps. nb Okaukuejo - there are no braais now at the lodges around the watehole only at the ones further back. Admittedly the only facility is the braai but we stoked up with plastic crockery/cutlery bery cheaply outside the park and managed easily. The evening meals were £17 a head which was very expensive for the quality of hte food and it didn't help when there were mice running around the restaurant!

Okaukuejo scores better than Halali in location manily due to the large waterhole with excellent game viewing" See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
T Family
Auckland

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Jun 2011
"Located just inside the park this camp is an ideal springboard for the daily trips into Etosha National Park.

We had a cabin which was simple but clean and well laid out (the 'lounge' is a seperate room to the bedroom so allows for some space when you have an early riser). There is some confusion when checking in as there is reference to a 'inventory' list and warnings that when we check out al mus match up. There is no list but the total inventory includes 2 mugs and 2 glasses and 2 teaspoons !!! Each unit is set up with a 'brai' but unless you are fully equipped for camping they do not offer any utensils (ie no plates, cutlery or cooking utensils).

The restaurant offers a buffet dinner with children between 6-12years old at half price (adults are N$170pp). The chef came around all the tables and said hello and invited us up to the buffet table. A lovely touch considering how full the restaurant was.

The camp also has an amazing waterhole which offers viewings of amazing number of animals. We happened to be at the water hole at lunch time and witnessed hundreds (literally) of Zebra's , followed by Gemsbok; Wildebeest etc. It was an amazing sight and also sounds. At night we saw Rhino's and elephants ... and all only 2 minutes walk from our room (we are also sure we heard a Lion).

The morning we were leaving we checked out and then had breakfast. The receptionist then came and told me I had left my mobile phone in the unti ... THANK YOU for your honesty !" See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia; 5n in Mozambique; 4n in Zimbabwe; 2n in South Africa; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr G & Mrs S
Aberdeen

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Jun 2011
"Between Camp Kipwe and Okaukuejo we visited the petrified forest - worthwhile and the tour only took 25 minutes. We also drove to Vingerclip - an interesting photo.

Okaukuejo camp was large and a little bureaucratic on check in. Our room was close to the waterhole and we saw rhino and elephant there.

On arrival we bought a map of Etosha with illustrated animal and bird identification plus a Guidebook to the Waterholes and Animals- these were excellent publications and enabled us to conduct our own tour round the park rather than taking the organised ones - we think that was a good way to do it. We saw lots of wildlife in the park." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs V
Coulsdon

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

1 night Arrived 15 Jun 2011
"We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the accommodation. A Bush Chalet is a lovely big room with kitchenette, just yards from the waterhole, but away from the crowds that the waterhole attracts - the game attracted to the waterhole at night was stunning. 5 rhinos at one point, so crowded that a lioness took her cubs away. There was even a total lunar eclipse that night! We didn't eat supper here as we had had lunch at Ongava, but did have a lovely breakfast here." See all these reviews: 25n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Mrs & Prof R
UK

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Jun 2011
"We used the braai twice but our 1 bedroom chalet did not have cutlery or crockery for the braai, only for making tea - luckily we had brought picnic plates etc with us. Basic equipment would be useful. The shop is fairly well stocked. Nice rooms, but rubbish not emptied from previous occupants though this was dealt with promptly when we complained.

Floodlit waterhole has comfortable seats and excellent views - we saw lions with cubs, black rhinos, jackels, giraffes, elephants etc and large flocks of roosting sand grouse." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs F
Brazil

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Jun 2011
"Very nice rooms, much better than we could expect. The premium chalet stands just in front of the waterhole and from its second floor varanda you have the best views possible. Food was very good.

Perfect location." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr&Mrs P,Mr M,Ms B
UK

"Waterhole accommodation a must"

2 nights Arrived 11 Jun 2011
"Very much bigger facility than previous stop-overs thus lacked the personal service but still a good location and the accommodation by the waterhole was ideal.

The chef was possibly the jolliest member of staff we ever encountered, a Lenny Henry style greeting afforded to everyone as they entered the dinning area. This was in direct contrast to the reception staff at arrival.

The chalets were in adjoining pairs. It would have made sense to put us as a party in one pair. However we were split even though we booked as a party of four under one name. We could have been a family. We could not understand this. In all honesty it was not a big problem but they did very little comply to our request to be together in the same chalet pair.

However, more seriously, we were given wrong information at reception about Park entry and leaving times. When we came to exit the gate we were asked to pay for another day (330 N$.) We were one hour over due! Diplomacy mixed with a sprinkling of English charm together with a promise to visit the Park the next morning our fine was waved. It is worth checking with the gate on arrival and treat with some caution infomation from reception staff members at Okaukuejo. This is a little moan and totally overshadowed by the wildlife visits at the waterhole. Zebra, Elephant, Rhino and baby. Excellent place to stop." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Belgium

"Okaukuejo- good waterhole"

2 nights Arrived 2 Jun 2011
"We were pleasantly surprised with Okaukeujo. We had a waterhole villa that was just steps away from the waterhole and the room was clean and well appointed. The waterhole itself was superb- much larger than Halali's and very well populated with game. Hundreds of zebras formed an orderly queue in the evening to drink, followed by elephant, and after sunset, a few rhino as well. We got into a bit of a routine of driving ourselves around during the day, coming back for dinner (buffet style) and then settling ourselves on one of the benches facing the waterhole until late in the evening. We'd happily go back." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
The Ramblers
UK

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 25 May 2011
"Although much larger than the other places we stayed in, this was an enjoyable stay. The restaurant is busy and large but the self service buffet is of a fairly good standard. The location within the park boundaries is excellent, as is the waterhole on site, at which we saw large herds of zebra and an elephant at sunset." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Showing 421-430 of 635
83%
635 reviews of Okaukuejo Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
235
280
99
19
2
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Halali Camp

Halali Camp

Halali is a large, government-run restcamp in a convenient central location inside Etosha National Park.


79% (319 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (237 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (144 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


93% (79 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (77 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (35 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (21 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lode. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Onderland Lodge promises a convenient base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa