This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp
Okaukuejo Camp

Reviews of Okaukuejo Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

637 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okaukuejo Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 46 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okaukuejo Camp.
Lion

79% success

Leopard

6% success

Cheetah

11% success

Giraffe

98% success

Oryx

98% success

Elephant

98% success

Zebra

96% success

Wildebeest

91% success

Black Rhino

90% success

Spotted Hyena

51% success

Eland

42% success

White Rhino

26% success

Roan antelope

19% success

Brown Hyena

16% success

Sable antelope

15% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 441-450 of 637
Duration
Arrival date
Mr S & Ms M
Dorking

"Good base for Western Etosha."

2 nights Arrived 27 Mar 2011
"Although we had come across some expressed concerns about the standard of Govt. run facilities we were very pleasantly surprised at the overall high quality we encountered at Okaukuejo Camp. We would have no hesitation in making a repeat visit! The staff proved friendly & helpful.

We saw no particular advantage at embarking on any organised safari & were able instead to drive ourselves around Etosha with ease." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mrs P, Miss H & P
UK

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Feb 2011
"We checked out of this place as soon as we could. The room was hardly large enough for one with luggage, let alone 2. There were ants in the room. The room was very basic. We went to the waterhole that night and people were noisy. You could here others camping in the car park and cars arriving and leaving - not conducive to seeing wildlife at a waterhole. The benches around the waterhole made it all feel rather zoo like.

One poor white rhino turned up for a drink and was frightened away by noise from tourists. No guard in site to keep control. Then dinner - it was appalling. The salad bowl nearly empty when we arrived, the fish was so overcooked (frozen) and tasteless - inedible. I resorted to fruit salad thinking they couldn't get that wrong - they did it was under-ripe melon. We checked out early the next morning instead of staying another night. It was definitely the worst place we stayed.

Given it was the rainy season and therefore quiet for tourists, it should have been better. Also not much happening at the waterhole because of the rains - we expected this but all we saw was a rhino - anything else could find water elsewhere and probably where it was more peaceful." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Poor
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Poor
Mr C & Mrs K
UK

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Jan 2011
"Despite warnings to the contrary, there were plenty of animals in the western Etosha area. Birds were excellent. The lodge was very good.

An important point is that they provided universal electrical outlets so that 'phones and camera's could be charged. Converters to the old British 10amp three (round) pin sockets in normal use in Namibia & Botswana (and other parts of southern Africa?) are impossible to obtain and the standard 'universal' adapters we can get cannot be made to fit.

They also provided a fridge. We had good sightings of antelope, zebra, giraffe, ostrich and other birds. The calcrete roads were mostly quite easily passable in our front wheel drive saloon (Nissan Tiida)." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr M & Mrs J
UK

"Christmas in Etosha"

2 nights Arrived 24 Dec 2010
"The camp is quite large and luckily we had stopped outside the park for supplies and charcoal as the shop on site was very poorly stocked. It would have been useful to have been advised that the chalet had no amenities at all - not a cup, or plate or knife in sight - we could easily have carried these with us but hadn't.

Game driving was very good, all sorts of animals found and viewed and easy to get away from the crowd. What more can an africa addict want than to spend christmas eve with a glass of wine and 10 - yes 10 - black rhinos at a floodlit waterhole ( and I do mean black rhino not white)." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Mr & Mrs N
Chester

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Dec 2010
"Great location next to waterhole - excellent for wildlife viewing although being the start of the rainy season less animals came after the heavy rain one night.

We didn't have high hopes for the food after hearing the reviews but we actually thought it was very good. Some of the steaks we had there were excellent." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs R
Yeovil

"better than expected"

3 nights Arrived 22 Nov 2010
"This is a government owned and run safari lodge and as such does not compare to the other wonderful places we stayed. Having said that the accomodation was actually better than expected and we found the camp quite attractive.

We had already decided to cook our own food there as we try and avoid mass buffets whenever possible. However, the shop rather let us down with very little stock, but nevertheless we managed but had to cajole 2 plates and cutlery out of the managemnt. Why are these not provided? With only a little more effort this place could become very good.

Certainly we considered that it was preferable to stay within Etosha rather than a superior but more remote lodge. The pool was most welcome and the waterhole provided several sitings of white and black rhino which delighted us both." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Mr & Mrs W
Nottingham

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2010
"Had been described as 'functional' - so was a nice surprise in that it was very pleasant and it was wonderful to be right next to the waterhole." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs AS
Colorado

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Nov 2010
"The accommodations were fine. There was a small kitchen area (sink and frig), and a braai is available just outside the door. Food enough including meat is available in the camp shop.

We, unfortunately, chose to eat in the restaurant. The food is good, with a choice of game or pork/chicken, etc. However, without a reservation, you must sit inside. The first night we had a reservation. The second night, noting that there were plenty of empty tables, we did not make a reservation. Hence, we were seated inside (on a very warm evening). One of the other inside patrons voiced a complaint to the manager and the several other couples without reservations were allowed to move outside. As long as we were there that evening, many "RESERVED" tables remained unoccupied.

The folks at reception and the stores are not the friendliest, but they are having to deal with many more people than a regular lodge, so perhaps that is understandable." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mrs & Dr B
Richmond

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Nov 2010
"Wonderful location for viewing amazing variety of wildlife at all times of day and evening - it was a real privilege to stay in a room so close to the waterhole. Our drives into the park to stop at other waterholes were also very rewarding.

Organization of the bar was friendly but completely chaotic and this hindered the general proceedings at the restaurant." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs B
Winchester

"Take your tea or coffee down to the waterhole"

2 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2010
"As this was a government run place we did not have particularly high expections but were pleasantly surprised although the check in at 2pm (when it opens) was slow and laborious.

The staff in the restaurant although appeasred a bit chaotic but seemed to want to do their best. We discovered that sandwiches and snacks were avaliable before 12.00 and after 2pm so if that is all you want it is worth getting there early or a bit later.

The shop was very badly equipped with nothing to make a picnic lunch with - no bread, ham, cheese, yogurts, tomatoes or fruit. Very disappointing,

We thought the water hole was fantastic and had some great viewing both daytime and evening.

It would be worth advising people to check Ombika hole just after the entrance as there were some good sightings of lions. We did not feel inclined to go all the way back having reached the village as there were so many other holes to visit." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Showing 441-450 of 637
83%
637 reviews of Okaukuejo Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
236
281
99
19
2
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Halali Camp

Halali Camp

Halali is a large, government-run restcamp in a convenient central location inside Etosha National Park.


79% (319 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (237 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (144 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


92% (80 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (77 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (36 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (22 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lode. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Oberland Lodge promises a convenient base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet
Etosha King Nehale

Etosha King Nehale

A short drive from the national park’s northern entrance, Etosha King Nehale Lodge is an interesting and comfortable base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa