This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Onguma Bush Camp
Onguma Bush Camp
Onguma Bush Camp
Onguma Bush Camp
Onguma Bush Camp

Reviews of Onguma Bush Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

74 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Onguma Bush Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 9 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Onguma Bush Camp.
Lion

56% success

Leopard

13% success

Cheetah

14% success

Oryx

88% success

Sable antelope

75% success

Zebra

75% success

Giraffe

63% success

Wildebeest

63% success

Eland

50% success

Elephant

50% success

Black Rhino

29% success

Brown Hyena

17% success

Roan antelope

14% success

White Rhino

14% success

Spotted Hyena

13% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 41-50 of 74
Duration
Arrival date
Ms B & Mr L
Australia

"Onguma bush camp"

2 nights Arrived 23 May 2014
"This is a really lovely place to stay. We were a bit anxious having read some reviews in travel books, but the cabin we had was lovely. Think there are 2 styles of accommodation and we stayed in a cabin on the outskirts of camp on river. Spacious and comfortable accommodation, good shower, comfortable bed.

The main communal area was probably the nicest of the whole trip. Lovely spaces to relax and watch the water hole. The night we arrived there were 3 giraffes drinking. Food and wine very good and staff friendly and helpful, especially Sandra on reception. although we did the night drive, as usual we did not see much - but that was our experience everywhere on the trip.

I had my birthday there and the staff made a special desert for our table and sung happy birthday to me. Highly recommend for visiting the eastern side of the park." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
N London

"Great overnight stop at Onguma"

1 night Arrived 23 May 2014
"If you don't stay inside the park at Namutoni, this is the place to stay to explore the eastern side of Etosha. Onguma's Bush Camp is much improved - last time we stayed here it seemed to have pretensions that it couldn't live up to, but on this visit we found the rooms, food and service all very good. We recommend the waterhole / pool view rooms.

If you're driving to Onguma from Etosha close to sunset, watch out for the speed camera on the road that leads to the gate." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
Haslemere

"Relaxing 2 days at Onguma"

2 nights Arrived 25 Oct 2013
"Beautifully located just outside Etosha's Eastern Gate. It had its own waterhole, swimming pool and viewing platform, and a nice garden. An excellent lodge to relax at after Southern Namibia and Etosha. Food was a bit below par, though the service was excellent, but the same bottle of wine that we had had at Okaukeujo was double the price - N$140!

The evening trail drive is to be recommended as we saw a number of species of nocturnal game that we wouldn't otherwise have seen.

However in trying to reconfirm our flights from Windhoek, the manager didn't know how our laptop could link up with his own group network. Not very helpful!!" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 6n in Mozambique; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Herts

"Onguma Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2013
"The rooms were very comfortable, and the central area really well thought out overlooking a lovely waterhole.

We took the night drive and the guides worked hard to make sure we saw plenty of game, including two Cheetahs , two lionesses and two cubs. Well placed for driving into Etosha as the main gate is very close but very luxurious to come back to in the evening." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Prof K
South Africa

"Excellent overnight stay at Onguma Bush Camp"

1 night Arrived 24 Sep 2013
"A beautiful, scenic, and well-run camp. Well-trained, efficient and attentive staff.

A sumptuous dinner!" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr J x 8
Gauteng

"Onguma is a classy guest camp"

1 night Arrived 24 Sep 2013
"The lounge and viewing decks are beautiful although there was not much game to view.

The dinner and breakfast were very good - beautifully presented.

The accommodation was very comfortable and the staff were both friendly and helpful." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S x 8
SA

"Tranquillity in the bush"

1 night Arrived 24 Sep 2013
"A great bush setting with a tranquil feel.

Lovely decks to view waterhole, animals in the veld and birds.

Friendly and helpful staff.

Excellent food and dining and lounge area.

Would have loved to spend a further day there!" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Suffolk

"Great night drive at Onguma"

2 nights Arrived 21 Oct 2012
"The Bradt guide says that Onguma is somewhat utilitarian and the budget option. It may not have the luxury of the tented camp but utilitarian it is not! The central dining and sitting area could not be more comfortable with wonderful views over the new water hole and the bush. The staff are excellent and sitting out on the wooden terrace as darkness drew in, eating top quality food was another experience not to be missed.

You never know what you may find on a night drive and although fairly quiet we had our first sight of a bush baby and a close up of two lions who did not want to get out of the way of the jeep and when they did just lay sleepily at the side of the road. Magical.

The water hole is new so we were warned that or did not attract much game. True but some interesting birds, dik dik, impala and giraffe came and on our last morning an elephant came crashing through the fence from Etosha and much to the surprise of he staff, who all got their cameras out, stopped for a drink!

However if the public areas were so good the same cannot be said of the sleeping quarters. There was a group there when we arrived so we may have been given the one of the last rooms available but my feeling was that like some hotels they give out the worst rooms first and if the guest doesn't complain at least they have got rid of them. There are four roundels close to the police areas that have really seen better days. They are dingy and not very clean and if there had been more people staying may have been a bit noisy. Perhaps we should have complained but by the time I realised that there was better and newer accommodation available we had unpacked and it was too late. We were not there to spend time in our room so made the best of it. I hope though that the management of Onguma do soon close these rooms as they do not do their reputation any good.

Having said that it is a place we can highly recommend and would gladly return some day." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr D
Suffolk

"A very attractive camp in a private reserve"

3 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2012
"Another small, very friendly, very efficient camp. We had the usual Namibian warm welcome. Our room was very comfortable, the food was excellent and the location of the dining area overlooking the water-hole was very attractive. The lounge was quite luxurious.

This camp is convenient for making trips into Etosha but one does lose about 45 minutes of game viewing at the beginning and end of each day due to the time it takes to drive from Onguma and Etosha and back. However we did find this camp to be a haven of peace and tranquility after the relatively busy Namutoni Area.

This was a good camp for us to stay at for our last two Etosha days as we had seen a great number of animals in the previous nine days and were getting more specific in looking for cheetahs and leopards but if it had been our only stay in Etosha we would have been disappointedas the number of animals in this part of Eastern Etosha was lower than we had seen from our previous camps further west. But we did see a leopard in a tree eating what appeared to be an impala- this was in the last hour of our last day in Etosha; so we had a good finale.

We can recommend this camp but bear in mind the location outside the main park." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Ms F & Mr A
London

"Loved the peacefulness of Onguma"

1 night Arrived 6 Oct 2012
"We arrived at Onguma hot and dusty after a fantastic day driving around eastern Etosha. We found the staff welcoming, and thoroughly appreciated the cool, minimalist interior of our room. I know that polished concrete floors are not to everyone's taste - but the decor suited us very well.

Also the communal rooms were lovely - simply decorated but with soft cushions and views over water which appeared to attract a good variety of birds.

We got close sightings of various antelope and birds from our room and found the whole experience of our one night at Onguma very restful.

The food and wine was some of the best we had on our trip." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 41-50 of 74
93%
74 reviews of Onguma Bush Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
52
18
4
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Camp is a large, well-equipped restcamp, with a productive floodlit waterhole.


83% (642 reviews)
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

Halali is a large, government-run restcamp in a convenient central location inside Etosha National Park.


79% (321 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (238 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (144 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


92% (80 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (36 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


96% (23 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lodge. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Oberland Lodge promises a convenient base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet
Etosha King Nehale

Etosha King Nehale

A short drive from the national park’s northern entrance, Etosha King Nehale Lodge is an interesting and comfortable base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa