This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
BullsPort Lodge & Farm
BullsPort Lodge & Farm
BullsPort Lodge & Farm
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm


24°8’56.3"S 16°21’48.3"E

Reviews of BullsPort Lodge & Farm

Wildlife sightings and reviews

175 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited BullsPort Lodge & Farm and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 15 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at BullsPort Lodge & Farm.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Zebra

67% success

Oryx

15% success

Meerkat

8% success

Brown Hyena

7% success

Aardvark

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 81-90 of 175
Duration
Arrival date
Ms R & Ms M
New York

"Friendly & comfortable - a pleasant surprise!"

2 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2014
"We stayed at Bullsport Guest Farm for the first two nights after leaving Windhoek. It was a very easy drive from Windhoek to the Farm where we were greeted and promptly checked in by Johanna, one of the owners.

When we checked into our room we were very pleasantly surprised by its spaciousness and airiness and the casual but very attractive decor. We'd read reviews that described it is a "stopover" or in other ways implied it was not that attractive but we found it very warm and welcoming. The room, bathroom and patio were very clean and well-maintained.

Meals were overall very good. Breakfast and afternoon tea were available between certain hours and dinner was at a specific time with all the other guests and owners. There was a fairly large number of German guests on our first night there and as we'd expected based on other traveler's reviews, they sat at the large table with the owners and we were seated at a second table with another pair of American travelers as well as a young German intern and someone else from the farm, both of whom spoke excellent English. It was a wonderful and interesting dinner although some travelers have indicated they felt left out being seated at the second, smaller table. We had no problems with it at all and really enjoyed getting to know our fellow diners. On the second night the German group had left so all guests sat at the large table together with the owners and intern. The food on the second night was especially delicious. In both cases the main course was a locally (licensed) hunted meat: zebra and then springbok.

Our first morning after breakfast we set off with a guide to Quiver Tree Gorge where we went on a 3+ hour hike. On the drive to the gorge we got very close to a group of mountain (Hartmann) zebras and then continued up to a beautiful vantage point with stunning views of the surroundings. Once we started the hike, we descended into the gorge where we saw dozens of quiver trees, as well as leopard prints (and some carcass remains), and other plants and birds. We stopped for lunch, a healthy and filling meal provided by Bullsport for an additional fee. Around the mid-point area of the hike there was the choice of continuing on the "easy" route or the "difficult" one. Based on what we'd heard from our dinner guests the previous evening about the difficult one, we opted for the easy one and were glad we did as it was challenging enough and in the heat gave us a good workout. We were met at the end of the walk by the guide who had juices and other beverages.

Bullsport is a working farm that breeds dressage horses. We enjoyed seeing the horses and colts but unfortunately as the little ones had not yet been inoculated, the majority of the horses that would have been available for riding were being kept elsewhere so a ride was not an option. This was probably the only disappointment of our stay as it was something we'd hoped to do.

Otherwise, our time at Bullsport was a very memorable one and we would have liked to stay one more day to explore the area a little more. The friendliness of the owners and staff and the sense that you are staying in a real, working farm is a unique experience that we really appreciated and that was unlike any of the other places we stayed on our trip." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms J & Ms C
UK

"Bullsport Guest Farm review"

3 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2014
"this was well worth the visit. we learned about the farm, did a beautiful gorge walk, and also got an insight what education is like in Namibia.

the farm also had a good swimming pool. very friendly hosts" See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs M
Midlothian

"Great Scenery & Hiking"

2 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2014
"Our standard room was huge, great shower, spotless and with quality linen, pillows & duvet. Tea and cake available 3-4pm, nice reasonably priced wine and good homestyle cooking (having said that I don't cook Oryx mince bobotie or zebra goulash at home - both were very tasty!). Vegetarian husband was offered a cheese omelette each night. Johanna very welcoming.

We did the Archaelogical Trail walk - took about 4.5 hours, fabulous scenery, encountered baboons & warthogs. We also did the scenic farm drive - lots of springboks, kudu, oryx & birds as well as the farm's own cows and horses. Sunset but no sundowners offered.

A good place to break the journey south." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr M
W Lothian

"Bullsport Guest Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2014
"Run by Ernst Sauber. Not sure that he is enamoured of the Brits, but he was very pleasant and talked knowledgeably about the trials of farming.

His staff, particularly the equine support staff, were pretty hopeless, and too young to handle what was being asked of them. Not sure I liked the communal dining. Lots of German speakers who preferred not to speak English, however I speak German , but my wife does not.

Great trip through the Gorge." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr G B & Ms F S
UK

"Bullsport Guest Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Aug 2014
"A beautiful a place to stay. We particularly enjoyed the walks from the farm and socialising with the other guests at dinner.

A good distance from Windhoek for the first day travelling, far enough to feel we were on the way but not too much of a rush to get there.

We did not go one their morning trip as it was early and we were preferred a gentle start after a long journey from UK, but other guests enjoyed trip to walk the gorge. We enjoyed following some of their many suggested local walks." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr M & Ms B
Brussels

"Bullsport Guest Farm - a curiosity"

2 nights Arrived 14 Aug 2014
"Bullsport Farm is worth a short visit and served us well as a pit-stop on the way to Sossusvlei. The proprietor is a Namibian farmer of German descent.

Dinners at Bullsport are communal affairs, where guests sit down to dine with the proprietors each night. The food is simple and homely. The rooms are clean and sufficiently well-furnished for a short stay. A number of well-orgnised activities are offered during the day.

The facilities could have been better: no safe in the room, no Wi-Fi in the room.











" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs H
W. Sussex

"Quiver Tree Gorge Hike is a must"

2 nights Arrived 2 Aug 2014
"We thought Bullsport might be disappointing. Far from it, we really enjoyed our stay there.

Our room was excellent, food good and the hosts very pleasant. Quiver Tree Gorge hike was really enjoyable seeing Mountain Zebra, Kudu, Dassies, Klipspringers, Dijk-Dijk and Baboons. Fortunately no sign of Amanda the Spitting Cobra!" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
The B family
Glasgow

"Bullsport Guest Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Jul 2014
"Slightly difficult to summarise experience. Owners and staff were very friendly and the walking, trail running and horse riding were excellent but our room (room 14) although large was down at heel and reminiscent of a 1980s youth hostel.

In comparison to all our other accommodation in Namibia it fell below the standard. Some travellers may also be put off by the fact that according to our guides in the Namib the farm was the only one that declined to sell its land to allow development of the national park and staff at the farm informed us that they have shot predators (including leopard) that have attacked cattle.

Whilst appreciating that BullsPort is working farm if we had known more about the background we would have chosen to stay elsewhere" See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs C
E Sussex

"Bullsport Guest Farm is very enjoyable"

2 nights Arrived 9 Jul 2014
"We had a very pleasant stay at Bullsport and were warmly received by Ernst and Johanna. The food is good and plentiful at all meals.

The morning activity was to be driven to the top of the gorge and then to walk down. The whole experience was excellent - great views and scenery, some splendid wildlife which we had not seen on other safari type holidays - and a very good walk to increase the appetite!

The afternoon "game drive" was a disappointment, we did see a couple of Secretary Birds and a couple of Oryx but, otherwise, nothing other than some farm stock and pregnant mares,

For those interested in riding, I imagine that this could be an amazing place for a longer stay." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr R & Mrs E
Bucks

"Nice hill and canyon walk at Bullsport"

2 nights Arrived 7 Jun 2014
"We spent two nights here, primarily to walk in the Naukluft mountains.

We were made very welcome, and the rooms were excellent. Meals were served at one large table where family, staff and guest all ate together. That worked very well once the introductions had been made and conversations initiated!

We did a short walk along the foot of the mountains on the first evening, which was pleasant - Kudu, mountain zebra.

The next day we did the bullsport's 17km walk up into the mountains and down a canyon with springs and pools. This was a very nice walk, although we did not see many animals, there was a great range of scenery and plant-life.

" See all these reviews: 26n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 81-90 of 175
89%
175 reviews of BullsPort Lodge & Farm by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
97
67
9
0
2
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge offers comfortable rooms with fantastic views of the Namib and a private gate to the Namib-Naukluft Park - a bonus on guided excursions.


92% (328 reviews)
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge offers a high standard of accommodation, delicious food and excellent service in a stunning, peaceful setting just 22km from Sesriem.


97% (153 reviews)
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

One of only two properties inside the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossus Dune Lodge has a superb location, for visiting the dunes.


89% (138 reviews)
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

With great-value accommodation in a lovely setting, Desert Homestead is a great base for exploring Sossusvlei.


91% (98 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

A high-end lodge with spectacular views, Little Kulala, makes a great base for visits to Sossusvlei or a balloon ride over the Desert.


98% (62 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (41 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


93% (37 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a very convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Desert Homestead Outpost

Desert H-stead Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Desert Homestead Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (19 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (14 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


100% (5 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


100% (1 review)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


No reviews yet
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa