This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Villa Margherita
Villa Margherita
Villa Margherita
Villa Margherita

Reviews of Villa Margherita

Wildlife sightings and reviews

58 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Villa Margherita and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 51-58 of 58
Duration
Arrival date
Ms L & Mr H
USA

"Villa Margherita was lovely"

2 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2009
"Beautiful small hotel, with elegantly decorated rooms (each one of which is different).

I wish we had realized that we needed to book several days ahead if we wanted to eat dinner at the hotel. We did try 24 hours in advance, but that was not long enough, as the chef needed longer notice in order to be available that night. ( And the restaurant looked lovely.) Since it was a Sunday, our dining options were limited, but we had a perfectly fine dinner at a pub-style place in town.

We stayed two nights in Swakop; I think one would have sufficed." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Miss TT
London

"Villa Margherita review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2009
"A fantastic and very stylish B&B. We had an enormous and beautiful room.

The owners and staff were wonderful." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Miss G
Hertfordshire

"Villa Margherita review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2009
"An excellent location as just a couple of min walk to everything. The house has been decorated very stylishly and to the highest quality and so if you like a colonial house but with everything modern then this fits the bill.

We had the Queen room which is upstairs and it was really spacious, we thought the accomodation could not be faulted. Breakfasts were really good and large, garden was a little sun trap when we were there.

Parking is on a driveway to the side but is not actually secure." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs AS
York

"Villa Margherita review"

3 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2009
"Comment on Swapokmund - we had problems getting into the restaurants we wanted to try.

It might be worth advising people to ring ahead to avoid disappointment. It's common sense I guess but I didn't think about it.

Pelican Point kayaking excursion
Excellent view, well organised, the guys put on a real show for us." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs N
Hexham

"B and B in Colonial House in Swakopmund"

1 night Arrived 29 Aug 2009
"Very good large comfortable room in older Colonial house made our stay more interesting.

Receptionist very helpful and rang Dunlop Tyres Out of Hours service so we could buy 2 new tyres, Also advised on restaurants. Liked the decor." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Belgium

"space and comfort"

2 nights Arrived 25 Aug 2009
"very well renovate. Reception personal efficient but a bit distant." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Norwich

"Villa Margherita review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2009
"We had the honeymoon suite equipped with laptop!

As we were tired Saturday evening we decided to eat in. Limited choice of food (note we were told [Ed: by other travellers] this was a recommended Italian restaurant), steak only on offer and in comparison was expensive.

The restaurant is closed on Sunday evenings." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Miss F & Mr E
NL

"Villa Margherita review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Jul 2009
"We were given the 'Adam and Eve' room which was more like an apartment, a bit impersonal compared to the previous lodges but it didn't matter too much.

We ate in on the second day and we had the whole place to ourselves, which was quite strange, but we had a very nice italian meal with real italian ingredients.

The trip to sandwich harbour with our guide Ernest was really informative and fun, especially the dune driving!! This was one of the tours on the trip we shall not forget!!

Ernest our guide was a little like Crocodile Dundee, a wonderful man with a great personality and hugely knowledgeable and you were left feeling that you had experienced something unique to your own holiday... A lovely trip out to Sandwich Harbour was complimented by interesting local knowledge, a strong sense of humour and wonderful rapport with our fellow travellers. A real joy!!

" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 51-58 of 58
88%
58 reviews of Villa Margherita by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
33
18
5
1
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Swakopmund & Walvis Bay

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse is a small friendly B&B in a peaceful residential area. It's just a short walk from Swkopmund's waterfront & amenities.


95% (222 reviews)
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

Welcoming, professionally run, and mildly eccentric, Sam’s Giardino lifts the level of hospitality in Swakopmund to unusual heights.


89% (174 reviews)
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

Not your typical guesthouse, The Stiltz occupies a glorious location over the Swakop River on the edge of Swakopmund.


87% (62 reviews)
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

Right on the sea front, Beach Lodge offers good standard accommodation and its own restaurant, 15 minutes’ drive from Swakopmund.


90% (54 reviews)
Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge is a quirky little guesthouse located right on the edge of Walvis Bay Lagoon, a good spot for watching the flamingoes that frequent the area.


90% (47 reviews)
Strand Hotel

Strand Hotel

One of the larger hotels in Swakopmund, the Strand is well placed on the seafront with good access to restaurants and the centre of town.


90% (47 reviews)
Brigadoon

Brigadoon

In a quiet residential location, Brigadoon is conveniently located for the Swakopmund waterfront and amenities.


80% (21 reviews)
Swakopmund Guesthouse

Swakopmund G'house

Swakopmund Guesthouse is a family-run B&B, boasting comfortable and high-quality rooms with a maritime touch.


82% (20 reviews)
Sandfields Guesthouse

Sandfields Guesthouse

Friendly Sandfields guesthouse is a cosy and inviting place to stay just north of Swakopmund town centre, and is particularly suitable for families with children.


92% (20 reviews)
The Delight

The Delight

The Delight is a colourful modern hotel within a short walk of the Swakopmund waterfront and main attractions.


94% (17 reviews)
Hansa Hotel

Hansa Hotel

With a very central location in Swakopmund, the traditional Hansa Hotel is reliably good, though it is quite formal.


88% (16 reviews)
Secret Garden Guesthouse

Secret Garden

Secret Garden Guesthouse is well located in the centre of Swakopmund not far from the sea. With a seaside feel, it has its own small restaurant and bar.


86% (14 reviews)
Sea Breeze Guesthouse

Sea Breeze

Just north of Swakopmund, the delightful Sea Breeze Guesthouse is bright and well-looked after with welcoming and helpful owners.


83% (12 reviews)
Organic Square

Organic Square

Organic Square is a modern guesthouse across two properties in the centre of Swakopmund.


82% (11 reviews)
Desert Breeze Lodge

Desert Breeze

Not your typical Swakopmund guesthouse, Desert Breeze occupies a glorious location overlooking the Swakop River and the desert beyond.


90% (6 reviews)
Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge

Pelican Point Lodge sits on a remote peninsula offering panoramic views of the ocean and is only accessible by 4WD or boat.


100% (4 reviews)
Intermezzo Guesthouse

Intermezzo

In a quiet residential area just north of the town centre, Intermezzo Guesthouse is a comfortable and bright place to stay while in Swakopmund.


90% (4 reviews)
Hotel Zum Kaiser

Zum Kaiser Hotel

Hotel Zum Kaiser (formerly Swakopmund Boutique Hotel) is fairly large by Swakopmund standards, but has a good location in the centre of town, near to the beach.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Guesthouse

Namib Guesthouse

The Namib Guesthouse is a small, modern B&B, set in Swakopmund's peaceful Kramersdorf area. It's just a short walk from the coast and many amenities.


70% (2 reviews)
Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse

Oyster Box Guesthouse is a small, modern and comfortable B&B, overlooking Walvis Bay Lagoon.


80% (2 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa