This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Haus Sonneneck

Reviews of Haus Sonneneck

Wildlife sightings and reviews

102 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Haus Sonneneck and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 71-80 of 102
Duration
Arrival date
Mr C & Mrs C
UK

"Haus Sonneneck review"

1 night Arrived 24 Jul 2011
"Great welcome, rooms beautiful and clean. Owner very helpful with local info eg where to find an ATM etc.

Breakfast lovely. Location very handy for Joe's Beerhouse!" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs K
Nottingham

"Haus Sonneneck review"

1 night Arrived 24 Jul 2011
"Ideal for us as stopover for first and last nights of trip.

Owner friendly, lovely garden, room comfortable (welcome blankets available for the bed) and breakfast good.

Not too far from centre of Windhoek, great having Pick n' Pay supermarket and petrol station (open every day) just down the road and best of all only a few minutes away from Joe's Beerhouse for amazing food" See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr C B & family
UK

"comfortable guesthouse Haus Sonnerneck"

1 night Arrived 13 Jul 2011
"Friendly greeting,attractive house in pretty gardens.
Room large and fine, though somewhat soul-less. Quite functional.
Breakfast fine.
A good brief stopover place, but nothing special." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Ms S & family
Stroud

"Haus Sonneneck review"

1 night Arrived 11 Jul 2011
"Warm and welcoming after long trip. Had a great meal at La Marmite." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
T Family
Auckland

"Haus Sonneneck review"

1 night Arrived 9 Jul 2011
"Due to our early departure from Sossusvlei we rang and booked an extra night in Windhoek. We were N$1320 for a bedroom for 3 plus breakfast. As we did not know the area we agreed to this but was bitterly dissappointed. (We compared the price with the new Hilton Hotel that had opened and they were offering a room with 3 beds and breakfast for N$1000 - unfortunately we were already committed !)

The room was clean - albeit sterile - and even though we had booked - they had not bothered to turn on the hot water cylinder so we were without hot water for at least 4-5 hours. The rooms had a TV and offered coffee / tea sachets - but no kettle. There was however a coffee perculator - but no coffee grounds - so we had to heat the water through the perculator and then make instant coffee.

As we were the only people there we were also asked to have breakfast at a time that suited them - not us. We were happy to oblige on the first morning but then the next morning we had an early flight and asked for a 6.30am breakfast. Our request was not met with a smile and we were told we could have breakfast but it would be a cold one (albeit we had paid for a full breakfast)." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia; 5n in Mozambique; 4n in Zimbabwe; 2n in South Africa; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mrs T Mrs N
UK

"Haus Sonneneck review"

1 night Arrived 30 Apr 2011
"The only problem is the location. It is a little way from anywhere to eat and due to a late take off from London causing us to miss our connecting flight to Windhoek, it was 7:30pm in the evening by the time we found Hus Sonnneneck. We had been up for 30 hours, had difficulty finding it and really only wanted to collapse in a heap not go out to find a restaurant.

However we were made very welcome and provided with a very large plate of cheese sandwiches, accompanied by a glass of wine so we survived!! I can see that the close proximity of Haus Sonneneck to the B1 and start of our journey the following day was probably the reason it was chosen." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Poor
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr S & Ms M
Dorking

"A great starter!"

1 night Arrived 17 Mar 2011
"A delightful place from which to start our travels. The garden was like was like a peaceful oasis." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs G
Salop

"Already completed"

1 night Arrived 19 Feb 2011
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
Salop

"easy to find from airport,very comfortable"

1 night Arrived 6 Feb 2011
"Very welcoming,beds good ,coffeeand tea in the room,spaciousroom, need for oppressive security rather a shock, good breakfast, swimming pool" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
R Family
Alaska

"Haus Sonneneck review"

1 night Arrived 24 Oct 2010
"This is an easy comfortable guest home. Clean, great landscaping, good food and friendly people." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Showing 71-80 of 102
86%
102 reviews of Haus Sonneneck by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
41
52
6
3
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Windhoek

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

In a quiet Windhoek suburb, Olive Grove is one of our favourite guesthouses: stylish, with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and excellent food.


88% (339 reviews)
Galton House

Galton House

Galton House is a cool stylish sanctuary in a quiet suburb of Windhoek with a pool and restaurant.


90% (147 reviews)
Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

The Elegant Guesthouse is a friendly, comfortable establishment with a lovely, tranquil garden, and is a good choice for an overnight stay in Windhoek.


86% (124 reviews)
River Crossing

River Crossing

On a game reserve between Windhoek and the airport, River Crossing is a convenient yet relaxing place to start or end a trip.


82% (115 reviews)
Villa Violet

Villa Violet

Villa Violet is a friendly, owner-run guesthouse in a residential area of Windhoek, just a few minutes' drive from the city centre and numerous restaurants.


90% (99 reviews)
Hilltop Guesthouse

Hilltop Guesthouse

A long-standing favourite, the small, owner-run Hilltop Guesthouse is comfortable, smart and good value.


91% (55 reviews)
Heinitzburg Hotel

Heinitzburg Hotel

One of the oldest hotels in Windhoek, the Heinitzberg occupies a great hill-top location but can feel like a relic of a bygone era.


85% (40 reviews)
GocheGanas

GocheGanas

For somewhere to really pamper yourself, Gocheganas Lodge & Spa offers wildlife combined with extensive wellness treatments.


95% (37 reviews)
Olive Exclusive

Olive Exclusive

The Olive Exclusive is perhaps Windhoek's most luxurious boutique hotel but remains a friendly and unpretentious place to stay.


95% (33 reviews)
Etango Ranch Guest Farm

Etango Ranch G. Farm

Etango offers simple, clean, comfortable accommodation and it’s the closest accommodation to Windhoek International Airport.


88% (21 reviews)
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge

Immanuel Wild'ss Lodge

Within easy reach of Windhoek, Immanuel Wilderness Lodge is a good overnight option for those who don't wish to stay in the city.


81% (17 reviews)
Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse offers great value, relaxed accommodation in a homely atmosphere with helpful and extremely friendly staff.


89% (17 reviews)
Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Situated within the Daan Viljoen Nature reserve Sun Karros is a simple lodge with gentle game viewing and bird watching opportunities.


77% (15 reviews)
Avani Windhoek Hotel

Avani Windhoek Hotel

The Avani Windhoek Hotel and Casino lack the personal touch of Windhoeks smaller guesthouses but is well located in the heart of the city.


80% (11 reviews)
Hotel Thule

Hotel Thule

Windhoek’s Hotel Pension Thule offers stunning views across the city and a reputable in-house restaurant, within easy reach of the international airport.


91% (9 reviews)
Pension Palmquell

Pension Palmquell

Stay at the Pension Palmquell in Windhoek, whilst on holiday in Namibia.


89% (9 reviews)
Am Weinberg Boutique Hotel

Am Weinberg

In a quiet upmarket suburb of Klein Windhoek, the stylish Am Weinberg has a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and luxury facilities.


93% (3 reviews)
Omaanda

Omaanda

Omaanda offers luxury accommodation and wildlife viewing within easy reach of the international airport and Windhoek City.


100% (2 reviews)
Desert Express

Desert Express

The Desert Express runs from Windhoek to Swakopmund on set departures. Recently this schedule has been somewhat erratic.


80% (1 review)
Ti Melen Guest House

Ti Melen

Overlooking Avis Dam, Ti Melen is on the outskirts of Windhoek, yet only 10-minutes from the city's amenities.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa