This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho

Reviews of Beho Beho

Wildlife sightings and reviews

160 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Beho Beho and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 14 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Beho Beho.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

31% success

Wild dog

71% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Spotted Hyena

92% success

Eland

62% success

Striped Hyena

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 31-40 of 160
Duration
Arrival date
Ms M
Canada

"You don't get better than the Beho Beho"

5 nights Arrived 12 Jun 2016
"The Beho Beho is amazing in every way.

The guiding is top notch. The camp and the staff are top notch. The bandas are incredible and the view spectacular. Phil and Trish are the most gracious hosts and incredibly nice people who go out of their way to make sure their guests are happy. The food could not be better (I am still trying to lose the weight from all those amazing desserts).

The Selous is breathtaking with so much changing scenery within the park and lots of beautiful animals to photograph. During my five day stay, I had the opportunity to participate in all the activities offered including game drives (some with interesting history lessons), the walking safaris and the lake safari. The combination of activities is fantastic as you get to have very different experiences on all three.

As I mentioned above, the guiding is top notch and there is nothing on this planet that compares to the sensation you get from a walking safari - all your senses jump into overdrive. Knowing that you are in extremely capable hands makes it something really worth experiencing." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Grantham

"Fabulous camp; fabulous people"

7 nights Arrived 29 Oct 2015
"Beho Beho is a beautiful Lodge and, more importantly,it is currently managed by a great team in Phil and Trisha. We really did feel like we were part of a happy, settled, well run home and family and there was a real sense that everyone was a valued member of the team.

The Lodge itself is elevated giving spectacular views over the bush. The bandas are enormous, comfortable and very well appointed and good to chill out in during the hot part of the afternoon if you don't fancy a dip in the pool.

The food was excellent and my vegetarian option was always scrumptious and imaginative.

The standard of guiding was exceptional. We would not hesitate to go back here.

One of our bags was left in Nairobi and Trisha kept on the case and then arranged for one of the guides to drive 2 hours (4 hour round trip) to collect the bag from another airstrip in Selous; otherwise we would have waited 5 days, not 2 for the bag to catch up with us. So full marks." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr F & family
Belgium

"Beho Beho review"

5 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2015
"There has already been written in a lot of superlatives about Beho Beho. We can only agree on that, our stay even exceeded our expectations. Very high quality banda's, excellent food, stunning location.

Excellent guiding, not only very informative and attentive, but also great and amusing company!

There is a lot of wildlife around the camp, keep an eye on the drinking pool. Don't hesitate to go on the walking safari, it's a whole different and exciting approach of the bush. Beho Beho is perfectly managed by Phil and Trisha, very professional and friendly.

It is the merit of the management and the staff that this luxurious camp never becomes pretentious. We felt part of the Beho Beho family for those days.

As soon as you leave Beho beho you start thinking of going back!" See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Nomad Aristocrat
NL

"Luxury without pretense"

5 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2015
"Beautiful place and extremely well run. The manager couple Phil and Trish do an admirable job being open and friendly while maintaining the professionalism and diplomacy required in a place commanding this price. The attention to detail and their aim to deliver a highly consistent high level experience is bordering on obsessive.

The food is great, on par with some of the better restaurants in any city and certainly served in quantities which at least we found impossible to completely consume.

Wildlife sightings in and around the camp are great and the hippo pool is not to be missed!

Guiding is at levels meeting expectations for a place of this caliber, but the highlights for us were the walks. I was initially concerned about the level of luxury taking away from the overall experience, but this turned out to be an unfounded worry and we enjoyed our 5 days there very much!" See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr & Mrs S
Northants

"Return to Beho Beho"

5 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2015
"After 10 years this superlative camp has got even better...if that is possible. There were new faces but still the same high standards. The swimming pool area has been upgraded. There is WiFi in every banda and solar power has been installed.

Phil and Tricia were attentive hosts and good company. Under their leadership the lodge ran like clockwork with very attentive staff.

The guiding at Beho Beho is second to none. The three Tanzanian guides were not only well educated in all aspects of the flora and fauna of the Selous but were delightful and amusing company too.

We love the family atmosphere that has been created at Beho Beho. It was a shame that for most of our stay we were the only true guests.

The food was wonderfully varied but on occasions a little too much for our elderly digestive systems!!" See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Hampstead

"Remote luxury, faultless organisation, great"

5 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2015
"No effort was spared to make our first Safari adventure memorable. The organisation was spot on without being intrusive. The guides were exemplary - generous with their knowledge and infinitely patient. Phil & Patricia were a very good management team. The Safari trips (drives) were, again, well organised, giving us a different aspect every day. It's true that in this part of the Selous, there is not as much game life to see as in other reserves, but that deficiency was amply rectified by the beautiful scenery (late into the dry season, for us, was an ideal time to visit) and lack of the crowds.

Although we knew before we booked that Beho Beho were committed to communal dining, we would have appreciated the opportunity to eat alone on at least one of the days. The Safari breakfasts and lunches were excellent, but we both found the dinner menus too rich and lacking in flavour. Too much pastry and not enough delicate flavours.

I'm not sure if we were warned about the 6.30 morning starts! Of course, once we were there, we understood why we needed to set off early every morning - but we were fairly tired by lunch-time and, because there was a pool and lots to see from our Banda, we opted out of the late afternoon drive a couple of times.

Would certainly recommend the camp." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms M
Bahrain

"A slice of heaven in the African wilderness!"

5 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2015
"It was our first time doing safari and I cannot think of a better place than Beho Beho to become complete safari converts.

The camp is absolutely stunning but what made this trip so memorable for us was the family feel and the staff who were so kind and generous with us. We were pampered and really taken care of and there were tons of thoughtful surprises waiting for us as it was our honeymoon and I simply cannot imagine having picked a better way to spend it. Thank you so so much to the Beho Beho family and of course the team at Expert Africa for sending us to this little slice of heaven.

P.S. As a vegetarian, the kitchen team went above and beyond to meet every single one of my needs and put together some absolutely delicious veggie dishes for me! Yum yum!" See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Chobham

"Beho Beho review"

6 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2015
"Wonderful location - real sense of being in the "open" with all the noises of Africa constantly in the background.

Great team - rangers + support team - couldn't have been more friendly & attentive. Every drive - both in jeep & on foot - was a different experience. Phil is clearly a great manager & envoy for Beho Beho.

Attention to detail excellent + responsive to guest needs. All dinner experiences were different & memorable." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr t
Monmouth

"Incredible place and great hosting"

4 nights Arrived 13 Jul 2015
"The team at Beho Beho are incredible.

We felt totally relaxed and well looked after throughout our stay. Everyone at Beho Beho was friendly and helpful. We were spoilt with fantastic game viewing, drives and walks.

The food was top notch and we were truly well fed and watered. The tree house is well worth staying in as it for those wanting to do something different.

We couldn't fault the trip. We have been on other safaris, but this one was easily the best by a long way" See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms S
Canada

"Perfect Honeymoon!"

5 nights Arrived 24 Feb 2015
"Beautiful rooms and an amazing place to visit.

Friendly staff and the guides were all very knowledgeable. Food is delicious. The tree house is definitely worth a visit. Walking safaris were fun and plenty of animals around.

Something new and exciting every day!" See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 1n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 31-40 of 160
100%
160 reviews of Beho Beho by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
158
2
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Selous Game Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Selous Impala Camp

Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp is a comfortable, excellent-value camp with colourful tented rooms raised on platforms, good guiding and tasty food.


96% (279 reviews)
Lake Manze Adventure Camp

Lake Manze Camp

Lake Manze Camp is a rustic, lakeside bushcamp in the Selous Game Reserve that offers a great experience and doesn’t cost the earth.


93% (212 reviews)
Siwandu

Siwandu

Siwandu is a luxurious and smoothly run camp with beautiful rooms offering great views over Lake Nzerakera.


97% (79 reviews)
Sand Rivers Camp

Sand Rivers Camp

The stylishly put together Sand Rivers has an outstanding reputation, with a wonderful location on the Rufiji River and great guides.


96% (68 reviews)
Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Treehouse is a satellite tree platform for just one couple, managed by Beho Beho and ideal as a one-night honeymoon retreat


97% (34 reviews)
Selous Impala fly-camp

Impala fly-camping

While you're staying at Impala Camp in the Selous Game Reserve, you can enjoy a few nights' fly-camping in the heart of the bush.


92% (32 reviews)
Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp has a lovely location right on the edge of the Rufiji River and while not luxurious, it is one of the lowest-cost camps in the park.


87% (14 reviews)
Sand Rivers fly-camping

Sand Rivers fly-camp

Sand Rivers fly-camping safaris in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


98% (13 reviews)
Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous is a smart tented camp on the west side of lake Nzerakera, close to the park’s best wildlife-viewing areas.


100% (5 reviews)
Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Bailey's Banda at Beho Beho is a luxurious safari lodge in the Selous which can be booked exclusively for you and your party.


100% (4 reviews)
Sand Rivers walking mobile

Sand Rivers walking

Sand Rivers walking mobile safaris in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


100% (3 reviews)
Kiba Point

Kiba Point

Kiba Point is the private sister camp of Sand Rivers, available on an exclusive basis, with its own private drivers and staff.


100% (2 reviews)
Rufiji River fly-camping

Rufiji River fly-camp

Fly-camping trips can be organised from Rufiji River Camp in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve


90% (2 reviews)
Sable Mountain Lodge

Sable Mountain Lodge

Sable Mountain is a simple safari lodge just outside Selous's northern boundary, and perfect if you're travelling on a tighter budget.


No reviews yet
The Retreat

The Retreat

The Retreat offers a holistic approach to a safari, combining wildlife and nature with spiritual health, healing and spa treatments.


No reviews yet
Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge is Serena's main lodge in the Selous. Although comfortable, the windows and air-conditioning dispel any wilderness feel.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa