This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp

Reviews of Sand Rivers Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

68 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Sand Rivers Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 10 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Sand Rivers Camp.
Lion

90% success

Leopard

11% success

Wild dog

50% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Eland

90% success

Spotted Hyena

90% success

Wildebeest

90% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 68
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs D
Winchester

"Tanzania in the ( very ) Wet Season"

5 nights Arrived 13 Feb 2016
"The camp has been built along the side of the Rufuji River and all the bandas as well as the central area with the dining room and swimming pool have a good view of the river. At the time of our visit the river was very full due to the exceptional rains that the area has had this season

The bandas are very private and well equipped with an enormous double bed with mosquito net and adequate storage for clothes. There is a comfortable sitting area looking out through some trees to the river and a good en suite bathroom with a 'water fall' shower. There was always plenty of hot water and the toiletries provide were lovely - made locally.

All the bandas are open to the surroundings and monkeys play in the trees around them - this was not a problem ( though could be if food is left out) and any adventurous monkey wishing to join us was easily deterred by a clap of the hands. It was great to sit and watch them leaping through the trees accompanied nay the sound of hippos in the background!!

The food was generally good though, occasionally, a little too spicy for our tastes. On a couple of occasions, when it was far too spicy for one member of our party, an omelette was provided without any problem.

Seating at meal times was in our travelling groups except on the evening of the barbecue where all guests sat at one table on the pool terrace. If we had a choice we would choose the larger group as it is good to chat with folk outside of our own party and to share experiences although there were other opportunities to talk before and after meals.

The game drives were interesting due to the unusual weather that had been experienced this season. Many of the tracks had been washed away or badly damaged but Ernest, our brilliant driver / guide , and the Land Rover coped well. Game spotting was particularly challenging as the grasses were high and the foliage thick but that made anything we saw even more rewarding..

We had visited this area before both in February and in September but this year it was like visiting a totally different place - it would probably have be a little disappointing for first timers.

The walk and the two river trips were good, interesting and added another dimension to our experiences.

The Selous is a game reserve and not a National Park which means that off roading is allowed and Ernest took advantage of that trying to find the elusive leopard. All his efforts were in vain but the experience was fantastic.

All the staff at Sands River were helpful and charming and could not be faulted. It was especially nice to meet up with some old friends whom we had met at other Nomad camps on earlier visits to Tanzania.

We would definitely return to Sand Rivers Camp" See all these reviews: 15n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs B
London

"g Sand Rivers stay"

4 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2015
"Fabulous place. Attention to detail on every level - our suite was wonderful, the food great and the location stunning. The staff were friendly and helpful and had a huge knowledge of the wildlife. We packed a lot into our three days there.

We saw lots of animals at close quarters. We had an elephant visit our terrace at 1am on our final night. A little scary but he meant no harm and only damaged a couple of boulders!" See all these reviews: 5n in Zanzibar; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Ms W
Geneva

"Luxurious safari at Sand Rivers"

4 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2015
"We stayed 4 nights at Sand Rivers for our last lodge in Tanzania.

We had very good gamedrives even if we saw less animals than in Katavi. We saw lions, leopard, buffalos, giraffes, zebras, waterbucks, kudus, wildebeests.

The setting is great with a splendid view on the river. It was very good to be able to do boating trip as well as walking safari or a trip to the hotsprings.

We stayed in one of the hillside suites (no 1) which was very spacious and comfortable and had a great view down the river. We had a private pool which was really convenient for the hot hours of the day. The service and the food were very good. The main communal areas are lovely and comfortable." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Newark

"A safari experience with 5 star accommodation"

4 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2015
"Accommodation is stunning. Food is excellent and worthy of some of the best restaurants we have visited throughout the world.

Location is spectacular and the option of the river trips gives the variety of experiences that some camps lack.

Fly camping is a must do experience - particularly on your wedding anniversary.

The only disappointment is the dearth of elephant in Selous - poaching has decimated the population and left those elephants that remain scared of human contact - such a shame for these noble beasts." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The Y family
Vermont

"the grand finale"

4 nights Arrived 26 Jan 2015
"Sand Rivers had the least game and I would have been disappointed had that been our only camp. But we had seen so much in Ruaha and in the Crater that it was fine to focus on other things like the walking safaris, boat rides ( altho we could only go upriver, not down to Lake Manza) or relaxing at camp.

The pool was an important feature for the midday heat and there were fans in the common areas and above our beds.

It was a beautiful camp with impeccable service." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Chipstead

"Sand Rivers Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2014
"An interesting contrast with Lake Manze. The cost of staying at Sands River means that one is looking for very high standards throughout, so here gradings of Excellent might be expected.

Bearing this in mind, the food, we thought was far from exciting. Main courses were basically stews of fish or meat, the desserts often microscopic portions of, eg, flan. Moreover, for the main course, everything was dumped on the plate, where, at Lake Manze, at least the vegetables were served separately.

Again, excursions (although excellent in themselves) did not in one respect compare well with the much cheaper Lake Manze (see above). Here the guide was also the driver and we had to share the 4WD/boat with another couple, which reduces flexibility." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Atherstone

"Sand Rivers Camp - great boat safaris"

4 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2014
"Another very comfortable and luxurious camp - we'd certainly go there again if we were ever in the Selous again.

Particularly enjoyed the boat safaris when we saw a lot of bird life.

We had a great drive with Geoff (the manager) one morning - he was very good on birds and we were lucky enough to get a very good sighting of a rather rare bird." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs F
Devon

"Sand Rivers Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2014
"A fabulous wilderness location set on a beautiful river. The banda had a great view and a plunge pool, most welcome! The game drives were somewhat limited especially with a driver/guide.

I have every confidence that the new management will make Sand Rivers Camp an absolute must in the future." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Finsbury

"Out of this world lodge in stunning setting"

3 nights Arrived 27 Jun 2014
"What can we say about Sands Rivers, other than that it was perfect in every way! A breathtaking location overlooking the river, with hippos and crocs in the waters below. A beautiful lodge, tastefully decorated, with individual, luxurious open fronted safari cabins all with stunning river views. It was a joy waking up to that view every morning!

We also thoroughly enjoyed the range of activities available at Sand Rivers, with walking safaris, river safaris, fishing trips and more available alongside the classic game drive. There was less game here in comparison to the other camp we stayed in (Mdonya in Ruaha), but that didn't matter to us at all, and we still saw lots of animals and birdlife. Our guide here was excellent - his eagle-eyes and knowledge of the birdlife in the area was astonishing. Because of the lower levels of game though, we think our itinerary of staying in another, game heavy park first, followed by Sands River was a great combination.

The food and service at Sands River was excellent - first class every step of the way. The managers, Kate and Cameron, were also incredibly welcoming, professional and friendly, going out of their way to ensure guests enjoyed their stay.

We cant recommend this place highly enough - stay here and you won't be disappointed." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs AR
UK

"Excellent Sand Rivers Safari"

4 nights Arrived 9 Nov 2013
"Sand Rivers Camp is perfect. Decor, hosting, guides, food, trips and facilities all excellent. Kate and Cameron have a great set up there and Laz is a brilliant guide with an exceptional ability to spot animals.

We had a David Attenborough moment where we watched a python swallow an impala whole!" See all these reviews: 4n in Tanzania; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 68
96%
68 reviews of Sand Rivers Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
56
11
0
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Selous Game Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Selous Impala Camp

Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp is a comfortable, excellent-value camp with colourful tented rooms raised on platforms, good guiding and tasty food.


96% (279 reviews)
Lake Manze Adventure Camp

Lake Manze Camp

Lake Manze Camp is a rustic, lakeside bushcamp in the Selous Game Reserve that offers a great experience and doesn’t cost the earth.


93% (212 reviews)
Beho Beho

Beho Beho

Beho Beho is one of the best camps we work with in Africa, with gracious hosts, fantastic food and most importantly, excellent guiding.


100% (165 reviews)
Siwandu

Siwandu

Siwandu is a luxurious and smoothly run camp with beautiful rooms offering great views over Lake Nzerakera.


97% (79 reviews)
Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Treehouse is a satellite tree platform for just one couple, managed by Beho Beho and ideal as a one-night honeymoon retreat


97% (34 reviews)
Selous Impala fly-camp

Impala fly-camping

While you're staying at Impala Camp in the Selous Game Reserve, you can enjoy a few nights' fly-camping in the heart of the bush.


92% (32 reviews)
Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp has a lovely location right on the edge of the Rufiji River and while not luxurious, it is one of the lowest-cost camps in the park.


87% (14 reviews)
Sand Rivers fly-camping

Sand Rivers fly-camp

Sand Rivers fly-camping safaris in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


99% (14 reviews)
Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous is a smart tented camp on the west side of lake Nzerakera, close to the park’s best wildlife-viewing areas.


100% (5 reviews)
Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Bailey's Banda at Beho Beho is a luxurious safari lodge in the Selous which can be booked exclusively for you and your party.


100% (4 reviews)
Sand Rivers walking mobile

Sand Rivers walking

Sand Rivers walking mobile safaris in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


100% (3 reviews)
Kiba Point

Kiba Point

Kiba Point is the private sister camp of Sand Rivers, available on an exclusive basis, with its own private drivers and staff.


100% (2 reviews)
Rufiji River fly-camping

Rufiji River fly-camp

Fly-camping trips can be organised from Rufiji River Camp in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve


90% (2 reviews)
Sable Mountain Lodge

Sable Mountain Lodge

Sable Mountain is a simple safari lodge just outside Selous's northern boundary, and perfect if you're travelling on a tighter budget.


No reviews yet
The Retreat

The Retreat

The Retreat offers a holistic approach to a safari, combining wildlife and nature with spiritual health, healing and spa treatments.


No reviews yet
Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge is Serena's main lodge in the Selous. Although comfortable, the windows and air-conditioning dispel any wilderness feel.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa