This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Ras Kutani
Ras Kutani
Ras Kutani
Ras Kutani
Ras Kutani
Ras Kutani

Reviews of Ras Kutani

Wildlife sightings and reviews

88 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ras Kutani and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 71-80 of 88
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs E
Woodcote

"Ras Kutani review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jul 2010
"We were driven from Dar Es Salam to Ras and it took a lot longer then we hoped, we had to wait a long time for a ferry in a very hot car. However when we arrived we were greeted with cold drinks and towels, from then on the stay was perfect.

The beach is amazing, very private big and sandy with reasonable size waves and nice sea protected by the reef to swim in.

The food was fantastic, buffet lunch with lovely salads and meets then a desert, and a full three course meal in the evening.

The service was great throughout our stay.

The monkeys were a problem when we had to leave in the morning as they tried to eat our breakfast as we were packing.

The plane back to Dar was fantastic and a much quicker and nicer option then driving." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr F & Ms L
London

"Ras Kutani review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Jun 2010
"The road across to Ras Kutani is NOT for the faint hearted! Would have been fine in a 4x4 but in the mini bus they picked us up in it was a rather unpleasant two hour plus ride (apparently the pot holes have worsened of late). So advise a 4x4 is booked for guests

The place itself was beautifully done and the suite was well worth it - incredible views - totally chic. Could have done with a mini bar/stock of drinks as was a shame to be on the terrace so far from the restaurant etc without being able to enjoy a cool drink.

Manager was slightly "in your face" - considering it is a small place a chat once a day is quite enough but he was new and seemed to want to have a quick chat any time we passed by - felt rather suffocating. Staff were fine - nowhere near & bEYOND standard but that is to be expected - very sweet and eager to please. Excellent cocktails

Loved the boat ride to the airstrip" See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania; 1n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
A&M
London

"peaceful and relaxing"

2 nights Arrived 11 Jun 2010
"We spent the last 2 nights here and it was simply fantastic! Beautiful location, great rooms, excellent food and very nice and friendly staff.

Imal was up at 6.30 on a Sunday to take us to the airstrip and we were lucky to have him there as the booked flight did not arive at the scheduled time. He was great and he made several calls until he managed to get an aircraft to us. We made it in time to board the BA flight in Dar and we would have missed it without his help!! Great job! He was also very chatty and reassuring." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Manchester

"Whistle stop luxury"

1 night Arrived 29 Nov 2009
"We were lucky to make our flight here before the sunset but it meant we had the most spectacular arrival. And we truly felt that this was a luxury resort. Being rowed across the lagoon on our arrival set the stall for our all too brief sojourn. Our hosts made us most welcome as we familiarised ourselves with our luxury banda.

The food was tasty and towards fine dining with the chef enquiring as to our enjoyment. The staff had been highly trained and this showed with quite exceptional service. Perhaps a some of the Tanzanian charm was a little too hidden with a very westernised set-up but for a luxury evening and day relaxing on the beach to end our holiday it was a great experience
" See all these reviews: 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Chippenham

"Great venue to relax after a safari"

3 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2009
"Very relaxing. Adapted to our food requirements.

Brilliant rooms, beach and staff." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Devon

"Honeymoon at Ras Kutani"

3 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2009
"What a way to relax after a weeks safari!

If you fancy a bit of adventure the mini bus trip down from Dar is worth trying! It gives you a high speed close up view of life in Dar and an amazing spectacle on how many people and cars can fit on a ferry!!

Upendo gave us a very warm welcome on arrival, we couldn't believe how posh it all was!! For a few moments we thought we were out of our depth but we very soon settled in to doing nothing but eating and sleeping quite well! In between bouts of lazing in a hammock and lounging on the beach we did manage a lovely walk along the beach and around the lagoon plus a bit of kayaking thrown in.

The food here is of the highest quality and the kitchen team were all great. The menu of the finest local produce with plenty of seafood was perfect.

The manager Greg was very friendly and helpfull to the extent of arranging a very early morning breakfast of bacon butties and fruit on our last morning before we left plus driving us personally to the airstrip from the boat jetty!" See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs A
Oxon

"Ras Kutani Review"

3 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2009
"Ras Kutani is in a simply stunning location and from the moment we arrived everything seemed to be geared to making sure that we had a relaxing and as enjoyable a time as possible. Nothing was too much trouble for anyone.

Everything about Ras Kutani is stylish and yet completely unpretentious. Everywhere you went you had stunning ocean views and the quality of the accommodation and shared areas is absolutley superb.

The food and service is exceptional. The beach is postcard perfect and almost empty. Ras Kutani is as near to a beach paradise as you can imagine and worthy of a holiday in its own right (we would certainly go back) rather than a safari add on which seemd to be the norm." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr H & Mrs H
London

"Great spot to start (or end) a Tanzania trip"

2 nights Arrived 9 Aug 2009
"Ras Kutani's beautiful location between a lagoon and the ocean the perfect place to relax before starting on safari. Nothing like walking down the beach for hours without seeing another soul and a nap in the hammock to unwind.

Very friendly and attentive staff, excellent food and vervet monkeys on the roof only made the experience better." See all these reviews: 15n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mopane squirrels
UK

"Ras Kutani review"

4 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2009
"Real barefoot luxury. Having been before we were a little apprehensive that it would be so good but it was actually better. This may have been due in part to the weather,which was hot and sunny,but the lodge seemed fresher.

The service was really excellent and everything came with a smile. Nothing was too much trouble. We were so lucky to see turtles hatch on the beach and head for the sea." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The K family
Berks

"Friendly gem of a beach hideaway"

3 nights Arrived 13 Feb 2009
"A very special place, remote location but wonderfully friendly. Jules and Emil were a fantastic combination and made every effort to make you feel at home.

The lagoon and spa ensured that there was a wider range of things to do than the ususal beach hotel. I could not recommend Ras Katani more highly" See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 71-80 of 88
98%
88 reviews of Ras Kutani by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
78
9
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Tanzania Coast

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Amani Beach

Amani Beach

Amani Beach is a family-friendly beachfront hotel and the ideal place to relax for one or two days prior to or after a safari.


92% (5 reviews)
Kimbilio Lodge

Kimbilio Lodge

Kimbilio Lodge is a simple beachfront lodge outside the sleepy port town of Kilwa Masoko and an ideal base to visit Kilwa Kisiwani ruins.


100% (1 review)
The Tides Lodge

The Tides

The Tides Lodge is a pleasant, small barefoot beach lodge in a quiet location on the coast north of Dar es Salaam.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa