This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Ras Kutani
Ras Kutani
Ras Kutani
Ras Kutani
Ras Kutani
Ras Kutani

Reviews of Ras Kutani

Wildlife sightings and reviews

88 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ras Kutani and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 61-70 of 88
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs L
Kent

"Ras Kutani review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Jul 2011
"A fabulous place to rest and relax after a safari.

The managers are wonderful hosts and the place is stunning. Accomodation was excellent and the chefs were top quality. The resident massage therapist Alice was the icing on the cake.

Truly paradise!" See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Cambs.

"Ras Kutani review"

5 nights Arrived 17 Feb 2011
"Loved the laid-back atmosphere here - no shoes required - truly a place where you can relax after a hectic safari. The "open" style rooms were huge & extremely comfortable & loved the verandah & hammocks. Although the style of the rooms are "rustic" & open they are spotlessly clean & allowed the breezes to keep the rooms cool. The bathroom area was very well equipped & hot water continuously available.

I have given the rooms a "good" rating rather than excellent only because they need to provide a power socket near a mirror - the bathroom had 3 huge mirrors - 2 over the basins & 1 between the storage shelves - but the only power points were in the bedroom area. The mirror area between the storage shelves could easily be changed to a dressing table with power socket. Power was provided to the sockets between 10.0 & 12.0 & 5.0-10pm only - this was not really a problem but felt that the morning power time would have been more useful earlier when we were in the room - as it was not safe to leave cameras & phones on charge when we were not in the room.

Apart from this we loved the style of the room & enjoyed the breezes & sound of the sea. The vegetation between the rooms & the beach was quite high which blocked the view - this may have been for security reasons though. The rustic beach beds are much more comfortable than they look.

The food was very good & a reasonable choice provided & liked the way they moved the tables to different places on the verandah each night. Manager Mark was extremely friendly & helpful & he & his staff created a nice relaxing atmosphere.

Enjoyed the walk to the local village & school - to see the "real" Africa & we were lucky to see a turtle release whilst we were there.
Ras K is a great place to relax & enjoy a laid-back casual beach break.
" See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr&Mrs I
Suffolk

"Ras Kutani review"

5 nights Arrived 17 Feb 2011
"A wonderful chill out following safari, this offered the complete contrast, from early morning calls and long safaris days. we were made to feel so welcome the manager Mark is a great ambassador for his company, he ensured our stay was exactly as we wanted. We were impressed to find out that Beho beho and Ras Kutani were in communication during what could have beeng difficult travelling times when the explosion at a military base near to Dar Es Salam airport occured, on the day of our transfer to ensure we arrived on time and without any difficulties.
Ras Kutani is beautifully situated on an idilic coastline, beautiful sandy beach stretching for miles no sign of any other holiday makers except those at the resort.(and they were not many)! Despite the isolation and relative peacefulness, there is plenty to do, snorkelling and surf boarding,walking and visits to the local village all ensure time never lingers. The staff are very polite and offer a quiet presence ensuring comfort and relaxation at all times. the accommodation was superb, clean, quiet and completely private." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr D & Mrs B
UK

"Great starting point"

3 nights Arrived 9 Feb 2011
"Warm and efficient greeting from Mark. Great service throughout. Staff very pleasant. Accommodation very comfortable. Food well above average for Tanzania.

The sand paths to our suite provided good excercise. Only disappointment was the lagoon walk." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs C
Amberley

"Rus Kutani. A resort and beaches to die for!"

3 nights Arrived 8 Feb 2011
"As a final destination after 7 days of game drives, Rus Kutani really was faultless. The management. led by Mark, was of the highest order, nothing was too much trouble and service was always with a very considerable smile upon every face. Attention to detail was of the highest standard. There was always a smile of welcome wherever we went.

We arrived by what might have seemed a very hard and unnecessary two and a half hour drive from Dar es Salaam including a ferry crossing with a seemingly endless throng of locals, bikes laden with coconuts, bananas and mango,produce of every sort, chicken.....and colour everywhere. We returned to the airport by plane in 20 minutes. In no way would we have missed that drive and the ferry,

Rus Kutani was hot yes, but softened by a steady cooling breeze off the sea and fans in the bedroom. at night. We walked the beach and watched local canoes and tiny dhows launch into the waves and disappear beyond the far reef to rerurn many hours later with scarce enough to feed the family.

One of the waiters, lovely John, was our companion and excellent guide to his former village 40 mins walk away, through forest and plantations. The school there is deperately underfunded by the Government with 524 pupils up to the age of eleven and only nine teachers! We were collected at the end by a land rover sent for us. We started at 7.00 and by nine the walk would really have been hot! A very nice and thoughtful touch. This visit and walk should almost be obligatory for guests and I know Mark, the manager, encourages it. The Resort has a policy of direct investement/support into the village on specific organised projects , be it a roof, a repair, things for the school. Money does not disappear into bureaucracy. Guest are asked to contribute if they wish with envelopes in the room. This all says much for the management of the resort.

Food was simply top drawer, the chef having been here all his working life. We mentioned at the start that we loved local mango. These were then especially available morning, noon and night! I stupidly am not a great fish eater which is the staple but beautifully prepared varied diet in the evenings. The result I mwas treated like royalty with a variety of very tasty meet dishes. Excellent!

All in all a perfect way to end our ten day trip. I simply can not understand why Zanzibar should attract beach lovers when Rus Kutani is availabl!

Again our thanks to Ellie at Expert Africa for judging our needs so perfectly and tacking Rus Kutani on to the end of our game drives in Ruaha and Selous." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr E & Ms W
Uk

"Ras Kutani review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Jan 2011
"An absolutely stunning beach resort and totally luxurious. Our suite was huge and beautiful and we especially enjoyed use of our own subathing area and plunge pool.

The beach was also gorgeous (almost as nice as Pongwe). The food was the most impressive we tasted in Tanzania and the service was impeccable (led by Mark, the very helpful manager).

The beauty treatments were a very nice bonus and (unlike many other places) reasonably priced." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr L & Ms H
Surrey

"Relaxing days at Ras Kutani"

4 nights Arrived 9 Nov 2010
"Mark and his team made us very welcome and looked after us very well - private dining on the pontoon on our first night, then on the beach the second added a real element of romance for the first two nights of our honeymoon. The lobster was a definite stand out amongst some excellent meals.

The light rains, really were light with only a couple of 5 minute showers while we were there. And we had the added bonus of being there while the turtles hatched and made their first journey down to the sea!" See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs L
Henhem

"Relaxing time at Ras Kutani"

3 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2010
"Ras Kutani is located right on the beach and is a wonderful place to relax after a hectic safari. The staff are attentive and friendly. Although the food was plentiful, not everything was to my taste but then I'm a fussy eater.

We enjoyed walking along the deserted beach and reading around the pool. One of the highlights for us was going to sleep each night with the sound of the ocean in your ears and watching the cheeky monkeys jump from tree to tree. Great place to chill out.

We also enjoyed the experience of travelling to Ras Kutani by car on arrival from Dar es Salaam. It was wonderful crossing on board the ferry to the mainland and then passing some of the little villages before arriving at Ras Kutani.

We returned to Dar es Saleem for our BA flight home using Coastal Aviation flights, but the beauty of this is the journey by rowing boat and jeep to pick up the light aircraft some 15 mins from Ras Kutani." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Ms L
London

"Ras Kutani review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Aug 2010
"very friendly and helpful staff" See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
The B family
Wimbledo

"bare feet luxury - very stylish"

3 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2010
"A fantastic place to relax - not a lot to do but that's the whole point!

The food is first class and the service very professional - Mark the manager is very committed and the hotel runs efficiently in a friendly way. We enjoyed the forest walk and our bandas were lovley - the beds are enormous!

Unfortunatly while we were there the sea was a bit rough for snorkelling but that just gave us a better excuse to do nothing - it's perfect for couples and honeymooners." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 61-70 of 88
98%
88 reviews of Ras Kutani by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
78
9
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Tanzania Coast

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Amani Beach

Amani Beach

Amani Beach is a family-friendly beachfront hotel and the ideal place to relax for one or two days prior to or after a safari.


92% (5 reviews)
Kimbilio Lodge

Kimbilio Lodge

Kimbilio Lodge is a simple beachfront lodge outside the sleepy port town of Kilwa Masoko and an ideal base to visit Kilwa Kisiwani ruins.


100% (1 review)
The Tides Lodge

The Tides

The Tides Lodge is a pleasant, small barefoot beach lodge in a quiet location on the coast north of Dar es Salaam.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa