This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Ras Kutani
Ras Kutani
Ras Kutani
Ras Kutani
Ras Kutani
Ras Kutani

Reviews of Ras Kutani

Wildlife sightings and reviews

88 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ras Kutani and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 81-88 of 88
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs R
Wimbledon

"Ras Kutani review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Jan 2009
"A beautiful place but it was too hot for me in January. I am not a beach person but as beaches go, this was excellent.
The service was excellent and the place was managed well. Nothing was too much trouble.

I had a wonderful massage on my last day.

The flight from Dar only takes 10-15 minutes and we had the little plane to ourselves." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs W
Herts

"Good post-safari relaxation @ Ras Kutani!"

3 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2008
"This was really a lovely end to our holiday. The accommodation is beautiful. We had a bungalow overlooking the lagoon and this was certainly quieter at night as we were a bit sheltered from the noise of the waves (we love the sound of the waves but it can be very loud).

Waking up in the morning to tea/coffee on the verandha was a nice beginning to the day - and we felt that we were having great lie-ins by getting up at 7am after the safari early starts!

The lagoon walk is well worth doing - but early in the day as it is very hot and humid under the canopy. We saw many birds, butterflies and monkeys - including colobus monkeys. We were quite lazy - which is great after a busy safari - and spent much of the time either on the verandha of the bungalow, on the beach or playing scrabble in the very comfortable lounging area. We occasionally did stir ourselves to walk along the beach which you can easily do in both directions.

The staff were very friendly and ensured that there was nothing we could want for - everything was taken care of and the only decision to make was 'Shall I have tea or coffee, beer or wine?'!!!" See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs E
Letchworth

"Ras Kutani review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2008
"Enjoyed it much more than we had expected, and wish we had stayed longer. The food was excellent, the best of our trip, as was the service. A beautifully run place, relaxed but at the same time very well run.

Addition good service was their offer, accepted, to check us in on line for our return BA flight." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
E Sussex

"A beach to yourself at Ras Kutani"

3 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2008
"Good for relaxing after the excitement of the bush. Able to walk along the sandy shore and only see one ot two fishermen" See all these reviews: 20n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms J & Mr J
London

"Surprise Turtles"

3 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2008
"Thoroughly enjoyable stay: lovely rooms, friendly staff and good food. It would have been helpful to know in advance that they take credit cards and that some of the activities that appear to be on offer in the brochure (dinghy sailing and deep sea fishing are either not available or very expensive).

Road transfer was interesting and quite quick but if you are not arriving on Sunday morning early, the transfer time through the Dar traffic can be quite extended.

The release of baby turtles while we were there was a surprise bonus which gave us a bit of a beach safari too." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Lesser kudus
UK

"Perfect start to our honeymoon"

2 nights Arrived 12 Aug 2008
"We couldn't have asked for a better start to our honeymoon - we arrived after an exciting car transfer and ferry crossing from Dar, to an oasis of calm! Everything about this place was heavenly - the beach, rooms, dining area, food.... we couldn't have asked for a more fitting opportunity to unwind.

Despite being so chilled out there were things to do if you so wished - we had a mini kayak adventure on the lake and also visited the school in nearby Gomve village. Our guide, Baltizary, was excellent at pointing things out along the walk to get there, such as cashew nut trees, and gave us our first valuable introduction into speaking Swahili! Seeing the kids at school was a great experience and didn't feel at all touristy.

We particularly liked the way all the staff were treated as equals, the tipping method Ras use obviously works really well as we found everyone to be genuinely happy in going about their work, which was fantastic.

We loved Ras Kutani, and would definitely go back for longer!" See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs Dolphin
UK

"Ras Kutani"

3 nights Arrived 3 Aug 2008
"Ras Kutani was a perfect way to start our honeymoon. The accomodation was stunning with well positioned bungalows so they were really private and blended with the environment. The service was excellent and all staff were helpful and friendly. Attention to detail such as food allergies was very impressive. The food was very good and we had the most wonderful experience of dinner on the beach on our last night. The beach is beautiful though the sea is not as warm as we expected. There is not much to do but that was fine with us as we just wanted to relax. It was very interesting to visit to the village and see the school and I hope the money we gave in donation does go some way in making a positive difference though i hope it doesn't become a tourist attraction." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 1n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Red-eyed Dove
London

"Ras Kutani review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2007
"the massages here were fantastic. the food was good, nice romantic dinner was put on for us, we felt on honeymoon!

there was good service and the staff well trained

only drawbacks (perhaps out of their control) were that you had to request for the hot water to be turned on in the morning (and they forgot or the hot water was all used up by our neighbour on our first full day their) as well as lights going out after the last person had left the bar i.e. no electricity during the day." See all these reviews: 13n in Zanzibar; 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Showing 81-88 of 88
98%
88 reviews of Ras Kutani by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
78
9
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Tanzania Coast

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Amani Beach

Amani Beach

Amani Beach is a family-friendly beachfront hotel and the ideal place to relax for one or two days prior to or after a safari.


92% (5 reviews)
Kimbilio Lodge

Kimbilio Lodge

Kimbilio Lodge is a simple beachfront lodge outside the sleepy port town of Kilwa Masoko and an ideal base to visit Kilwa Kisiwani ruins.


100% (1 review)
The Tides Lodge

The Tides

The Tides Lodge is a pleasant, small barefoot beach lodge in a quiet location on the coast north of Dar es Salaam.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa