This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Ras Kutani
Ras Kutani
Ras Kutani
Ras Kutani
Ras Kutani
Ras Kutani

Reviews of Ras Kutani

Wildlife sightings and reviews

88 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ras Kutani and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 51-60 of 88
Duration
Arrival date
Miss S & Mr C
UK

"Ras Kutani review"

3 nights Arrived 22 Aug 2012
"Is even better than the photos! We choose this resort hotel to rest after our safari as it is small, not touristy and 'African.'

The chalets were lovely and ours had an amazing view of the ocean and the lagoon. The food was excellent and, as it was our birthdays, we had a private dinner on the boat landing jetty and a birthday cake. The staff were very friendly and attentive, referring to us by name. There were few activities but as we were resting after our safari this is one of the reasons we choose to come here.

Most people on safari were going to Zanzibar but as we wanted minimal travel this was the perfect beach break to end our holiday. We flew from Selous Game Reserve direct to Ras Kutani with Coastal Aviation." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Mr R & Ms J
N London

"Ras Kutani review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Jul 2012
"Rad Kutani was our first stop on the honeymoon and was a perfect place to unwind after the wedding. It wasn't too far from the airport and had great places to relax - a great beach, nice pool and great sun terrace veranda. The food was exceptional - particularly the bbq.

Not the best place we went for snorkelling as when we were there (July) the sea was quite rough and made visibility poor, however the body boarding was great and the sun beds were very comfortable. Beach was also very quiet and there was no hassle from local traders which made it really peaceful.

It only took 2 nights there for us to feel properly away from everything and very relaxed." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The W family
Thatcham

"The Way to Relax!"

3 nights Arrived 13 Jul 2012
"I arrived a day earlier than rest of my family and was made most welcome by Lana. She arranged for Nassoom to have dinner with me so I didn't feel awkward dining alone, which was very thoughtful. He was delightful company and it was very interesting to learn something of Tanzania from him. I felt relaxed and 'at home' the moment I arrived - sandals kicked off, walking along the sand pathways (impeccably kept) to the relaxing bar area... With the most refreshing lime drink! The lodges are set well apart and offer lovely hammocks to laze in whilst watching the fascinating monkeys running around.

Lovely long beach and managed to catch two turtle hatchings by the conservation group whilst there - marvellous! Did the forest walk, which was pleasant and my daughters had lovely pedicures when they arrived. All in all a very pleasant stay with delightful staff and surroundings!" See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs N
Cambridge

"Ras Kutani review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Jan 2012
"Wonderful place to relax after a superb safari. Fantastic location & perfect weather." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs F
Cumbria

"What luxury, absolutely lovely"

3 nights Arrived 14 Jan 2012
"Gorgeous from beginning to end, ... such a relaxing place, lovely beach, no hassle whatsoever, everyone really friendly. Food superb, service wonderful, would definetely return here after a safari.......... perfect. The entrance to Ras Kutani was extra special too !

The lady manager was really helpful and friendly too.

Id go back tomorrow." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Cumbria

"Ras Kutani review"

3 nights Arrived 14 Jan 2012
"Excellent way to round off a safari holiday with an idyllic location on the edge of an unspoilt stretch of Indian Ocean.

Robinson Crusoe would have loved the spot but clearly would not have recognised the unadulterated luxury! The ultimate chill-out spot for those who are happy to do little but lounge, swim and eat. The isolated location and arrival by boat add to the feeling.

We thought the couple of days was adequate to round off the overall trip." See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Worcs

"Ras Kutani review"

5 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2011
"A piece of paradise on earth.
Everything from accomodation to attention of staff was impeccable

Lovely pool beach and lagoon.

Departing by boat across the lagoon and then small plane was an amazing experience." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Norfolk

"The best place in the world to chill out"

5 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2011
"Possibly the loveliest hotel we have ever stayed in. Utterly charming in its rustic simplicity without compromising exceptional comfort. Decor most beautifully thought out, down to the last detail. We hugely appreciated that.

The food was excellent: beautifully presented, innovative and irresistible every time.

There are no locks on the doors, and therefore no keys. It felt very liberating, and entirely safe, and thus it proved to be.

Most outstanding for us, however, were the staff. Friendly and efficient managers head up a team that impressed us enormously. Waiters, bar staff, housekeeping, gardeners - all were smiling and cheerful, efficient, unobtrusive, thoughtful, but above all, genuinely friendly without being over-familiar. They introduced themselves by name, whereupon we did likewise, and they never again had to ask us who we were but greeted us by name every time they saw us.

John impressed us particularly. (There are two Johns, but this one has risen through the ranks from gardener to housekeeping and is now a waiter. He also taught us to play Bao, which we are utterly hooked on!)

The staff in general behave as though they have a personal investment in the hotel and I think we have never met this feeling at any hotel we have stayed at before. It is the crowning glory of a beautiful place and we were really sad to leave." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr T & Mrs M
Co Dur.

"Ras Kutani "

2 nights Arrived 19 Aug 2011
"Ras Kutani did not come up to expectations given the reviews we had read and its overall cost.

The location was good but the accommodation was shabby and the quality of bedding and towels was poor. Talking to others who were staying there we agreed that it requires a complete makeover or facelift. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left service was average and in general the management and staff did not seem to be customer focussed.

The actual food was excellent but the service and atmosphere was only average. We would advise any visitor to avoid filtered water given our experience.

There was little friendliness during our stay and we would not return or recommend this hotel to anyone else." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
The D family
Devon

"Ras Kutani review"

4 nights Arrived 20 Jul 2011
"Great place to relax after a safari and very convenient for catching the early morning flight back to UK.

Kayaks on the lagoon are a bit of a non-event and very unstable." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 51-60 of 88
98%
88 reviews of Ras Kutani by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
78
9
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Tanzania Coast

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Amani Beach

Amani Beach

Amani Beach is a family-friendly beachfront hotel and the ideal place to relax for one or two days prior to or after a safari.


92% (5 reviews)
Kimbilio Lodge

Kimbilio Lodge

Kimbilio Lodge is a simple beachfront lodge outside the sleepy port town of Kilwa Masoko and an ideal base to visit Kilwa Kisiwani ruins.


100% (1 review)
The Tides Lodge

The Tides

The Tides Lodge is a pleasant, small barefoot beach lodge in a quiet location on the coast north of Dar es Salaam.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa