This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Ras Kutani
Ras Kutani
Ras Kutani
Ras Kutani
Ras Kutani
Ras Kutani

Reviews of Ras Kutani

Wildlife sightings and reviews

88 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ras Kutani and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 41-50 of 88
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs W
Redhill

"Ras Kutani review"

3 nights Arrived 18 Aug 2013
"Wow, what a place to wind down and reflect on a wonderful holiday!!" See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs W & P family
UK

"Ras Kutani review"

3 nights Arrived 14 Jul 2013
"We went to Ras Kutani to chill out after wonderful but tiring game viewing. It does exactly what it promises - a luxurious, pampering quiet, beautiful place where there is swimming, beachcombing and the soothing sounds of the ocean. No discos, floorshows or piped music. Just monkeys chattering in the palm trees and the gentle sound of ice tinkling in the cocktail glasses." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Dr R
London

"Ras Kutani review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Jul 2013
"Relaxing and beautiful spot and near to Dar Es Salaam. When we were there few guest and often had beach to ourself.

Food was excellent and again staff were very friendly, helpful and accommodating to every need.

Compared to Zanzibar less activities to do but great place to just relax and recharge after safari. Less people than zanzibar so much more peaceful . Definitely visit again." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr G & Mrs C
London

"Ras Kutani Review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Jun 2013
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr M & Ms T
DC

"Ras Kutani review"

3 nights Arrived 11 Nov 2012
"Beautiful hotel, fantastic service, great meals. We had a wonderful time." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Warminster

"Ras Kutani review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2012
"We were only at Ras Kutani for two nights arriving at 18.00 one evening and leaving at 0600 a day later and therefore there were many aspects of the property that I am sure we did not experience. Ellie recommended Ras Kutani as an alternative to driving into Dar for the night before our morning flight left back to the UK. Instead of battling the Dar traffic you take a 10 minute flight out to Ras Kutani, where you are able to relax, sort yourselves out and prepare your flight home.

The staff did everything they possible could to make our short stay enjoyable. Mark, the manager, introduced himself to us on the evening of our arrival, and made sure that we had everything we needed for our stay. They are very used to people doing as we did, and using the property as a stop over prior to flying home and had the departure routine down to a fine art. Even though we had to leave at 0615 a full cooked breakfast was waiting for us at 0600, setting us up well for our long trip home. The food, staff and location were great.

Ellie's recommendation was perfect and suited us very well indeed." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Richmond

"Ras Kutani"

3 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2012
"Very good place to start or end safari. Lovely location with nice beach walks. A place to chill out rathe rthan be active.

Better than staying in Dar as the conection to International is down to a fine art and faster than being in town." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs R
W Yorks

"Great place to relax & unwind"

3 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2012
"You can choose to be as private as you wish with a great place to relax after an exhausting Safari.

The team looked after us really well, whilst allowing us the space to simply chill out." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs R
Hants

"Ras Kutani - very relaxing"

3 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2012
"We had 3 nights at Ras Kutani for relaxation following a safari in Ruaha and Selous.

Ras Kutani certainly lives up to its reputation as a great place to unwind and was a very welcome couple of days to recover from being bounced around in safari vehicles for upwards of 8 hours a day. The laid-back atmosphere was helped by the lodge being no more than half full while we were there - the staff seemed to try to place tables at dinner as far away from each other as possible, including "hiding" some by the swimming pool. Rooms are comfortable, food is excellent (especially the fish) and staff are friendly and efficient. The fastest anybody moved was when we reported a problem with our hot water which was repaired almost instantly.

The beach was very peaceful, although the sea in front of the lodge was quite rough even at low tide and rocky underfoot - however the pool had some good shaded areas and was usually deserted." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Oxon

"Ras Kutani review"

8 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2012
"Brlliant management - looked after my dietary requirements very well." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 41-50 of 88
98%
88 reviews of Ras Kutani by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
78
9
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Tanzania Coast

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Amani Beach

Amani Beach

Amani Beach is a family-friendly beachfront hotel and the ideal place to relax for one or two days prior to or after a safari.


92% (5 reviews)
Kimbilio Lodge

Kimbilio Lodge

Kimbilio Lodge is a simple beachfront lodge outside the sleepy port town of Kilwa Masoko and an ideal base to visit Kilwa Kisiwani ruins.


100% (1 review)
The Tides Lodge

The Tides

The Tides Lodge is a pleasant, small barefoot beach lodge in a quiet location on the coast north of Dar es Salaam.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa