This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Ras Kutani
Ras Kutani
Ras Kutani
Ras Kutani
Ras Kutani
Ras Kutani

Reviews of Ras Kutani

Wildlife sightings and reviews

88 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ras Kutani and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 31-40 of 88
Duration
Arrival date
Mr D
Witney

"Ras Kutani review"

3 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2014
"Very good; just what was needed after the hassle of getting there (more later). The rooms were very comfortable and the eight foot wide bed was unbelievable.

Alice in the Spa was a real joy - wonderful aromatherapy massage for us both and a scrub for Jude.
The food was very tasty but, as usual in Africa, there was too much! Good efforts were made to accommodate Jude's "dairy free" requirements.

The one frustration was the performance of the wifi - it didn't! Don't get me wrong - I didn't need wifi although others appeared to be glued to their phones etc, but when it is available but doesn't work, there's an element of frustration - but it was miniscule." See all these reviews: 18n in Tanzania; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs H,
London

"Secluded African beach lodge"

6 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2014
"The setting was excellent. It was so pleasing to have an East African beach where you could still swim at low tide on a wonderfully long, clean beach with nobody to hazzle you.

The staff/service was excellent and the food was of a consistently high standard. We made three recommendations while we were there and every one was fulfilled within hours! As you will see from our Tripadvisor report (nandph) we felt that our room number nine on the lagoon was the best except for new/full moons when it was impossible to sleep because of the frogs.

The only personal complaint we had was that the loungers around the pool were not conducive to relaxing/reading in the afternoon as you could only lie on them and not raise them so we had to retire to our room." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 3n in Zanzibar; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs CD
London

"Great place to start your honeymoon"

2 nights Arrived 15 Jul 2014
"We had a brilliant stay at Ras Kutani - it was the perfect place to relax after the long flight. We had a great welcome and attention during the stay. Perfect balance of your own space and being looked after.

Not too many guests when we visited so it was very peaceful and the stretch of beach was quiet. Food was excellent and we had a nice range of meals - including dinner on the beach which was such a nice honeymoon experience." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The B & M party
Kent

"Great for short break"

3 nights Arrived 1 Jul 2014
"Once again dieterary needs accommodated with all members of staff including the chef quickly recognising the two people who went vegetarian.

A very quiet time of the year to visit which suited our group perfectly." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs V
Coulsdon

"Great place to relax before or after safari."

3 nights Arrived 3 Nov 2013
"Ras Kutani is a fantastic place especially after a long flight with no sleep. David the manager was very welcoming as were all the staff. The food was lovely, especially Sundays curry! The best breakfasts we had with an amazing view.

The rooms were very comfortable and clean and we thoroughly enjoyed our 3 nights here. We were sad to leave even though we were off on safari. We would recommend Ras Kutani unreservedly and it made a lovely alternative to staying overnight in Dar." See all these reviews: 17n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Devon

"Ras Kutani beach"

2 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2013
"Unfortunately our visit did not get of to the best of starts, when I put my hand in my rucksack to get my bins out, as we were being rowed across the lagoon, I was horrified to find that the bins in my hand were not mine, and my expensive bins and telescope, plus field guide and medicines was missing. It turned out that the pilot who brought us into Dar had taken my rucksack, and I had the rucksack of a birder who had gone to Zanzibar. All was sorted out twenty-four hours later, but I missed a days birding.

However our main gripe was that having arrived at the camp at around 16.00 hours we read that we had to vacate our rooms by 10.00 on the second day, although we had paid for two nights full board, we did not consider that 36 hours equated to two days and I made my point quite forcibly to Dave the manager, who said we should have paid extra if we wanted to keep our room until 17.30 when were due to leave. Eventually we were allowed to have another tent for the day, but I think this is something that Expert Africa needs to address, either by ensuring that your clients have a secure tent where their luggage can be kept, and where they can shower and change before departing, or offering this as an extra." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr & Mrs E
Dorset

"A great start"

3 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2013
"Transfer and arrival after 3 flights from London extremely efficient made very welcome

Waited rather too long (1.5 hours) for suite to be ready, guests arriving after us went directly to their accommodation, no information in the interim.

Other than above we were looked after very well in terms of suite, restaurant and beach facilities.

Very pleased we began the trip with this 3 night introduction we don't think RK suitable for more than a 3 night stay due to its relative isolation.

We particularly liked the self service meals." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sir & Lady B
UK

"Ras Kutani: perfect paradise"

2 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2013
"This gorgeous place situated along the beach front, next to a fresh water lagoon separated from the ocean by a sand bar, is just the place to relax and refresh after days in the bush.

The decor is most attractive, the food and facilities excellent, and we found it the perfect paradise. The service is friendly and first class, and the manager and assistants delightful." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Faversham

"A Relaxing Finale!"

2 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2013
"Ras Kutani was an excellent way of calming down from the adrenalin filled activities of being on safari. We had thought about returning home directly after our safari adventure but pleased we chose to unwind in the friendly and relaxing atmosphere of Ras Kutani. Thank you Liz for suggesting this, otherwise we would have had to spend many hours hanging around in Nairobi Airport, as well as spend more on the airfare home!

We emerged from the plane to a smiley man called Swedy who drove us a short distance to a small boat on the lagoon. We were then rowed across to where David and his staff were ready to welcome us onto the beach - a great introduction to this mainland retreat.

During our stay David and his staff were on hand to cater for all our needs in a professional but relaxed manner. The food was excellent and one evening we enjoyed a Swahili style BBQ! Our accommodation was spacious and amazing and overlooked the ocean. We also had inquisitive monkeys in the grounds who seemed to keep a close eye on us whenever tea and biscuits were around. However, a clap of the hands kept them at bay, although they did make great photographic models! All in all the perfect place to stay if you just want to put your feet up." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr T & Ms C
London

"An oasis of calm at Ras Kutani"

3 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2013
"If we had the opportunity to re-plan our trip we would do 2x3 night safaris and perhaps 2 nights at Ras Kutani. After all the action at Impala camp it seemed almost too quiet at the beach!

However a very relaxing stay, excellent food and service was great." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 31-40 of 88
98%
88 reviews of Ras Kutani by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
78
9
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Tanzania Coast

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Amani Beach

Amani Beach

Amani Beach is a family-friendly beachfront hotel and the ideal place to relax for one or two days prior to or after a safari.


92% (5 reviews)
Kimbilio Lodge

Kimbilio Lodge

Kimbilio Lodge is a simple beachfront lodge outside the sleepy port town of Kilwa Masoko and an ideal base to visit Kilwa Kisiwani ruins.


100% (1 review)
The Tides Lodge

The Tides

The Tides Lodge is a pleasant, small barefoot beach lodge in a quiet location on the coast north of Dar es Salaam.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa