This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Ras Kutani
Ras Kutani
Ras Kutani
Ras Kutani
Ras Kutani
Ras Kutani

Reviews of Ras Kutani

Wildlife sightings and reviews

88 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ras Kutani and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 21-30 of 88
Duration
Arrival date
Mr &Mrs M
Ballymena

"Ras Kutani review"

4 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2015
"Beautiful lagoon cottage with an amazing 8ft wide bed and a wonderful bathroom.

Stunning long beach, could walk for miles and largely deserted.lovely sea but a bit rough especially at high tide. Food was great especially lunches, healthy, largely vegetarian. Frankie and Leo were very supportive when my husband was sick and provided medication and cooked him plain alternative food.

I burnt my feet and when they saw how miserable I was on the last day they organised a sundowner cruse on the lagoon to cheer me up. In general it lived up to our expectation and we would recommend it and would return again." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Hampstead

"Laid back, informal,wonderful beach"

3 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2015
"After 10 days of bumping along on dirt tracks, it was a joy to reach the Indian Ocean and get up when we wanted to!

The Management team were very helpful and discreet. Breakfasts and lunch were excellent, but dinner tended o be a bit of a hit and miss affair - on two occasions the meat was tough. The bandas were comfortable, especially the low-slung hammocks on the verandas.

The three mile white sand beach was a joy and gave us a much-need opportunity to walk - we hadn't quite appreciated how restrictive Safari life has to be in that regard. Staff very friendly and helpful." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Dr & Mrs S
Northants

"Restful Ras Kutani"

4 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2015
"A lovely ending to our holiday. Peace and quiet by the ocean. Nothing to do but read eat and sleep. Marvellous.

The rooms were spacious and well designed cooled by the sea breeze. Food and service were first class. Leo and Frankie have created a very relaxing laid back environment which was perfect after a more hectic safari life.

The road transfer from Dar to Ras Kutani was slow and bumpy and we were delayed by an accident. Not really to be reccommended" See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Chobham

"Ras Kutani review"

3 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2015
"What a wonderful location on the Indian Ocean & what a surprise to arrive by boat!

Their chef was very special & created the most memorable dishes. We understand he was trained in the Camp - all credit to the manager & team.

Our experience visiting the local village & school will be long remembered." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs JA
New York

"Ras Kutani review"

3 nights Arrived 20 Jul 2015
"Loved the trip to town, staff was great" See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The W family
Surrey

"Beautiful, relaxing place"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jul 2015
"Ras Kutani is a great place to stay after a long plane flight, its only a short flight away from Dar es Salam.

The cottages were lovely with fantastic views overlooking the lake and sea. We loved relaxing in the hammocks on the veranda, surrounded by our neighbours, the mischievous Vervet Monkeys.

At night you could see all the stars whilst outside dining. The food was of a very high standard with great flavours, and the buffet lunch is a great idea. My daughter has a peanut allergy which was catered for. In the morning we had a refreshing cup of tea with cookies which was brought to our cottage.

The attention to detail is fantastic with very high standard of service from all the staff.

We would definitely return" See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Nottingham

"A Perfect End to Our Honeymoon"

4 nights Arrived 12 Jul 2015
"Wonderful relaxing stay at Ras Kutani, the highlights of which were watching the green turtles hatching on the beach and being taught to play the game of Bao by Leo, Frankie and John P.

We stayed in a hillside suite which was wonderfully secluded, very spacious and nicely detailed. The food was lovely with a diverse cocktail menu for the evenings.

We do not normally enjoy 'beach holidays' however 4 nights here at the end of a 12 day safari was just what we needed to recoup before coming home." See all these reviews: 15n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Wandsworth

"Ideal location to start our honeymoon!"

2 nights Arrived 2 Dec 2014
"We had a wonderful stay at Ras Kutani right at the beginning of our honeymoon.

We stayed for two nights which was an ideal amount of time - the resort was clean, welcoming and had fantastic views of the ocean. We were welcomed with a fresh lime drink and showed to our lovely accommodation and spent our time, reading, sleeping and relaxing. The staff were welcoming, friendly and attentive without being intrusive. As we went at a quiet time, they worked hard to arrange a mix of social and private dining experiences including a candle-lit meal on the beach on our last evening there.

I would definitely recommend Ras Kutani as the ideal place to spend a couple of nights in order to get over the travelling and wind down into a holiday.

" See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs H
Wales

"Ras Kutani review"

4 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2014
"What an amazing place. I hadn't really done much thinking about this section of the holiday, but in many ways it put the seal on an amazing holiday. Beautiful beach immediately there. Fabulous food, with always a choice. Very friendly helpful staff and managers. Felt thoroughly pampered." See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
Newcastle

"Do go to Ras Kutani"

4 nights Arrived 29 Oct 2014
"A superb experience. The manager and staff were friendly and we loved the relaxed atmosphere. Everything was great inc the weather.

PERHAPS BEST OF ALL - we were invited to watch the Newcastle United v Liverpool match with the staff in the staff canteen (they were all supporting the wrong side in the beginning!). Newcastle won and we had a great afternoon with lovely people." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 21-30 of 88
98%
88 reviews of Ras Kutani by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
78
9
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Tanzania Coast

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Amani Beach

Amani Beach

Amani Beach is a family-friendly beachfront hotel and the ideal place to relax for one or two days prior to or after a safari.


92% (5 reviews)
Kimbilio Lodge

Kimbilio Lodge

Kimbilio Lodge is a simple beachfront lodge outside the sleepy port town of Kilwa Masoko and an ideal base to visit Kilwa Kisiwani ruins.


100% (1 review)
The Tides Lodge

The Tides

The Tides Lodge is a pleasant, small barefoot beach lodge in a quiet location on the coast north of Dar es Salaam.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa