This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Ras Kutani
Ras Kutani
Ras Kutani
Ras Kutani
Ras Kutani
Ras Kutani

Reviews of Ras Kutani

Wildlife sightings and reviews

88 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ras Kutani and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 11-20 of 88
Duration
Arrival date
Dr & Mrs S
Northants

"Restful Ras Kutani"

4 nights Arrived 1 Jul 2017
"After ten days of early morning starts on safari Ras Kutani is the perfect place to relax. Ideally situated overlooking a lagoon and the beach, one is lulled to sleep by the waves of the Indian Ocean. Nothing much to do but read eat and sleep.

As part of the same group as Jongomero, they have the same policy of separate dining. However the managers hold twice weekly cocktail parties and introduce all the guests to each other which keeps the atmosphere much more relaxed and friendly.

A highlight was a hatching of turtles from a nest down the beach. About 120 baby turtles bubbled up out of the sand and scuttled down to the sea.

The chef was celebrating 25 years at Ras Kutani and we have to say his food was probably the best of the whole holiday.

Transfer by air is well worth the extra cost." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Drs
New Jersey

"Nice restbit from 39 hours of travel"

3 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2016
"Stayed At Ras Kutani to recoup from 39 hours of travel from North America. It fit the bill and more.

Staff and management were friendly and professional. Food was excellent. Shoreline was beautiful and the night sky was the best in all of Tanzania. Ocean was a little rough for snorkeling but great for just a dip.

Geography around the beach was interesting at low tide. Wished I had visited the nearby village and taken the guidebook with me on the nature trail." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr S & Mrs S
UK

"Ras Kutani review"

4 nights Arrived 3 Jul 2016
"Beautiful resort with helpful and very friendly staff.

Magical. Great rooms and tranquility.

I didnt expect to see so much wildlife here (huge monitor lizards, monkeys, up to 20 mongooses in a pack, bush babies, hilarious ghost crabs etc) so this was a real bonus.

The lagoon is excellent for a kayak trip or two.

Wonderful beach walks at low tide.

The 10 min trip flight to Ras is worth it. It is all part of the great experience.

" See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs E
Huntingdon

"Ras Kutani"

3 nights Arrived 25 Feb 2016
"Delightful location, just right for R & R after very busy two weeks." See all these reviews: 15n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Winchester

"Tanzanian the (very) Wet Season"

3 nights Arrived 24 Feb 2016
"We chose to be driven from the airport rather than fly - glad we do but it is quite a long journey on rough roads in a 2 wheel,drive vehicle - would not bother to repeat the exercise!

The journey was worth it Ras Kutani a delightful setting beside the sea and a fresh water lagoon with very nice well appointed bandas .

Our Banda looked out over the beach to the sea - it was very comfortable with a huge bed with mosquito net, a good dressing area with hanging and shelving for clothes etc. Twin hand basins andd separate shower and flush toilet. Always plenty of hot water and very nice toiletries .. Good big fluffy towels but ( just for information) did not supply face cloths which other lodges did.

The bandas were not very private and the very nice verandah are with comfy chairs and hammocks was open to view from the adjacent bandas as well as from the folk who were constantly at work in the gardens.

The food was very good and plentiful and the staff very pleasant - drinks are not included and are quite expensive. We sat in our travelling groups but there wasn't problem when we asked in another couple could sit with us.

I had an excellent massage.

we would return to Ras Kutani and would want a sea side Banda rather than one on the lagoon. We had the opportunity to visit a suite and question the value particularly as there is a long climb up the hill to reach them . The main advantage is the view and the price does include a stocked cool,box!

" See all these reviews: 15n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
Somerset

"Ras Kutani review"

5 nights Arrived 11 Jan 2016
"Great end to a safari experience" See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
E Sussex

"Idyllic place to wind down after our safari."

4 nights Arrived 19 Nov 2015
"We had hot and dry weather throughout the four days we spent at Ras Kutani. It is a beautiful place which feels very remote from the world, with a small freshwater lagoon and (in effect) a private and very large white sand beach overlooking the Indian Ocean. The sea water was remarkably warm, while the pool water was even warmer!

The lodge is very well managed by Leo and Frankie, who were very friendly and welcoming hosts. All the staff were also extremely friendly and helpful.

The food was excellent, particularly the buffet lunches.

Of the activities available, kayaking on the lagoon was fairly limited as was the snorkelling, but the swimming in the sea was very pleasurable, as was the pool. A visit to the local village was a particularly interesting experience, and the walk round the lagoon was informative and helped to work off a few calories!

" See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs S
Bristol

"Ras Kutani review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2015
"After eight days on safari we just wanted some rest and recuperation and this was the ideal place for it. Frankie and Leo are warm hosts who are very helpful. The huts are very well appointed with enormous beds and excellent showers. There are sand paths which do get very warm, but the lush growth between the spacious huts means that each has its own sense of privacy. There are beautiful view across the lagoon to the beach and the ocean and a pool which is great to lounge around.

The food is very good with a wide range of cocktails and a very attractive eating area which looks out over the ocean.

Massage is highly recommended." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr F & family
Belgium

"Ras Kutani review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2015
"Great place to relax after a safari. Lovely and spacious lagoon cottage, with very wide beds. Excellent food, especially the breakfasts and lunches.

There are not that much activities going on at Ras Kutani, great for long and deserted beach walks and taking pictures of the monkeys. Learn to play the bao game as soon you get there (the staff is very willing to teach you), it is fun and adds to the laid-back atmosphere.

It was a good advice of EA to drive to Ras, it gives you a glimpse of the daily struggle that life is for most of the Tanzanians. Ok, it's a bit bumpy and there are some traffic jams, but you are heading for the beach and a cocktail, most of the people you'll see aren't...

" See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Maidenhead

"A relaxing end to a great trip"

3 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2015
"A lovely way to wind down after a week of hectic safaris - the weather was hot, the cottages were spacious and comfortable with a great view of the lagoon and ocean, the beach was beautiful, the staff were friendly and the food was somewhere between good and excellent - what's not to like!

Well actually only the immense crashing waves that (due to the full moon) were so loud for an hour or two around high tide that it kept me awake! But seriously, it's a lovely little hideaway - we were shown to a different dining location under the stars every night, e.g. by the pool, on the jetty by the lagoon, on the beach (we declined this one as it was blowing a gale!) and on our last full day we were surprised with a romantic boat ride on the lagoon with a glass of wine thrown in, a complimentary pre-dinner cocktail on the beach, and a liqueur night-cap. Then they gave us the questionnaire!

If they were hoping to bribe us into a good review it didn't work - we were going to say it was great anyway!!" See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 11-20 of 88
98%
88 reviews of Ras Kutani by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
78
9
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Tanzania Coast

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Amani Beach

Amani Beach

Amani Beach is a family-friendly beachfront hotel and the ideal place to relax for one or two days prior to or after a safari.


92% (5 reviews)
Kimbilio Lodge

Kimbilio Lodge

Kimbilio Lodge is a simple beachfront lodge outside the sleepy port town of Kilwa Masoko and an ideal base to visit Kilwa Kisiwani ruins.


100% (1 review)
The Tides Lodge

The Tides

The Tides Lodge is a pleasant, small barefoot beach lodge in a quiet location on the coast north of Dar es Salaam.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa